Elizabeth Gill - Snow Angels - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786482204
    • Publication date:16 Nov 2017

Snow Angels

A Christmas saga, perfect for fireside reading

By Elizabeth Gill

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A moving saga about love and forgiveness from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin.

From the homelands of Durham to the streets of London, can she go from rags to riches?

Grieving after the loss of her mother, Abby Reed, finds an unexpected source of comfort exploring the rugged, snowy countryside, where she meets the brooding Gillan Collingwood. But then Abby learns that Gill is already interested in another woman. Heartbroken, she impulsively flees frosty wilds of her homeland to London's glittering social scene . . . but can she ever forget the boy she left behind?

Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin. A sparkling winter wonderland of a novel - the perfect fireside read!

Also by Elizabeth Gill:

The Guardian Angel

Nobody's Child

Miss Appleby's Academy

The Singing Winds

Far From My Father's House

AND COMING SOON, now available to pre-order: THE QUARRYMAN'S WIFE

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Gill was born in Newcastle upon Tyne and as a child lived in Tow Law, a small mining town on the Durham fells. She has been a published author for more than thirty years and has written more than forty books. She lives in Durham City, likes the awful weather in the north east and writes best when rain is lashing the windows.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782061779
  • Publication date: 14 Mar 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Elizabeth Gill writes with a masterful grasp of conflicts and passions hidden among men and women of the wild North Country — Leah Fleming
A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns. I couldn't put it down — Sheila Newberry on Nobody's Child
a beautiful, moving tale of love and forgiveness ... [an] enchanting, escapist tale — Lancashire Evening Post
Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Black Family Series

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Nobody's Child

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Homecoming

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Far From My Father's House and Miss Appleby's Academy comes a rags-to-riches tale of one man's determination to succeed. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.Born to a mother who died in childbirth, and to a father who could never truly love him, Niall McAndrew grows up a solitary child, without a home to call his own. His only friend is Bridget, a young girl forced prematurely into womanhood. Niall has brains, spirit and ambition, as well as devastating good looks. He soon begins to make his own way in business, and becomes famous throughout the Newcastle area by befriending the wealthy and powerful mine-owner Aulay Redpath and his beautiful daughter Caitlin. But Niall's loveless childhood has left its mark, can he ever find the personal happiness he yearns for?

Quercus

Where Curlews Cry

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty story of tragedy and overcoming hardship, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Milly Adams.As a solicitor in the small northern mining town of Hexham, Sam Browne knows more than most about the affairs of the town's inhabitants. He has known several of his clients since his schooldays, and has become a fast friend to their growing families. But when tragedy strikes, affecting the town in many terrible ways, Sam finds himself unwillingly drawn into the complicated emotional entanglements that arise. Are Sam and his friends' lives to be forever changed by what has happened?

Quercus

The Preacher's Son

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

His duty was to God, but his heart was with her. A tale of love and sacrifice from the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.Born into a family of Methodist preachers in County Durham, Joshua Castle knows that he too will become a minister. Though his faith is strong, his young heart is broken when he goes to Bristol to learn his trade, leaving behind Emma Meikle, the beautiful daughter of the pub landlord. In Bristol, Joshua meets the wealthy Matthews family, and though his upbringing is at odds with their lavish lifestyle, he is attracted to their daughter Patience. But can Joshua ever forget the girl he left at home?

Quercus

Home to the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a family saga perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Dilly Court.When Rosalind West leaves her native Durham for a job in London with the Doxbridge Motor Company she is determined to escape her background and build a new life. London is excitingly different and tantalisingly glamorous - especially when she meets the handsome and aristocratic Freddie Harrington, a rally driver, and the son of a once-wealthy Northumberland landowner. Against her friends' better judgement Freddie and Rosalind begin a relationship. But Freddie's family have plans for him which do not include marrying a Durham miner's daughter. Turning to a close companion for consolation, Rosalind suddenly finds herself torn between two men, both of strong passions, and fierce ambition.

Quercus

When Day Is Done

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Secret

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

An unbreakable bond. A devastating discovery. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty and emotional family saga.London, 1944. A young man is killed in an air-raid, leaving a wife and two children - and a secret. After the tragedy, Ailsa, Margaret and Luke are persuaded by to return to the north east. Despite their grief and bitterness, they find a new life there. But it isn't long before the past catches up with them, and they must confront the secret the family left behind.

Quercus

Sweet Wells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the third book in the popular Black Family trilogy. Perfect for fans of Catherine King, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Maddy Grant is a country girl, living high up on the fells above the small town of Sweet Wells, where her family has lived for hundreds of years. But when her father dies, Maddy learns the land has been sold to businessman Jonas Ward, who evicts Maddy and her mother from the house. As they scrape to make ends meet, Maddy finds herself slowly falling in love with Jonas' handsome nephew, who is also the local solicitor's son. But can she ever truly be with him, knowing how his uncle has treated Maddy's family?

Quercus

Snow Hall

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Doctor of the High Fells comes a gritty novel of one woman's determination, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.Lorna Robson works long and tiring hours in her aunt's hat shop in County Durham. Although she tries not to complain, the genteel poverty her family live in depresses her. But when she discovers that a relation has left her a large but dilapidated property, her aunt is strangely furious, and they part on bad terms. Lorna knows she can never return to the life she has made herself. And it is only when she sees Snow Hall that her situation truly dawns on her: selling the house is unthinkable, but how can she survive without money or help?

Quercus

The Foxglove Tree

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

As war fades, they must rebuild their lives. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty family saga, perfect for fans of Catherine King and Nadine Dorries. Returning to his home town from the Great War, Allan Jamieson is hailed as a hero. But inside he is a changed man, so affected by his experiences at the Front that he withdraws from his wife Kaye and their young son. Allan soon resumes his civilian career as a respected barrister, and takes on the defence of a beautiful young woman accused of killing her war-wounded husband. Alienated from his wife, it is not long before Allan and the woman have become recklessly involved. As war casts its long shadow over everyone's lives, the townspeople must learn to start again.

Quercus

Swan Island

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Silver Street

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Dreambreakers

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a tale of love and sacrifice perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Dilly Court.Jenna Duncan's only ambition is to marry the boy she loves and have a little terraced house away from her parents and her dull job. Ruari Gallacher has other ideas. Ruari is determined to break away from the little seaside town where his father died down the pit and make all his dreams come true as a professional footballer.But when Rauri lets Jenna down one too many times she becomes involved with another man, and by the time Ruari asks her to escape with him, it's far too late. Will Rauri succeed in capturing his dream, and has he scarified the love of the one person who can ever make him truly happy?

Quercus

Paradise Lane

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Doctor of the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty, emotional saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Nadine Dorries and Maggie Hope.1920, Durham. Since she was a child, Lucy Charlton has dreamed of working with her father in the family solicitor's firm. But a scandal shatters her dreams and, when her father disowns her, she finds herself on the streets, fighting for survival. Joe Hardy has returned to London after the Great War to find his life in tatters - his father is dead and his pregnant fiancée has disappeared. Then Joe learns he's unexpectedly inherited an old river house in Durham from a stranger called Margaret Lee. With nothing left for him in London, he makes arrangements to travel north and claim it. Lucy's determination has finally secured her a job as a legal secretary, campaigning for the rights of the poorest in society. As Joe arrives in her office to collect the keys to his new home, she promises to help him uncover information about his mystery benefactor. But before long, the past comes back to haunt them both, with shocking consequences...

Quercus

Lucy Charlton's Christmas

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill