Peter May - The Critic - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782068860
    • Publication date:30 May 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787471283
    • Publication date:22 Feb 2018
Books in this series

The Critic

Enzo Macleod 2

By Peter May

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

In the second of the cold-case series, a murder mystery in a vineyard serves Enzo Macleod a perfectly chilled conundrum.

THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF THE BLACKHOUSE AND COFFIN ROAD HANDS FORENSIC SLEUTH ENZO MACLEOD A NEW COLD CASE.


GAILLAC, SOUTH-WEST FRANCE.

An unsolved case.

Gil Petty, America's most celebrated wine critic, is found strung up in a vineyard, dressed in the ceremonial robes of the Order of the Divine Bottle and pickled in wine.

An un-cracked code.

For forensic expert Enzo Macleod, the key to this unsolved murder lies in decoding Petty's mysterious reviews - which could make or break a vineyard's reputation.

An uncorked criminal.

Enzo finds that beneath the tranquil façade of French viticulture lurks a back-stabbing community riddled with rivalry - and someone who is ready to stop him even if they have to kill again.

Biographical Notes

Peter May was born and raised in Scotland. He was an award-winning journalist at the age of twenty-one and a published novelist at twenty-six. He is the million-selling author of the Lewis trilogy and the China thrillers; standalone novels including Entry Island, Runaway and Coffin Road; and the Enzo Files - which were first published in the UK by Quercus across 2014 and 2015.

The sixth and final instalment in the Enzo series, Cast Iron, will be published in hardcover by riverrun in January 2017.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782062097
  • Publication date: 03 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: riverrun
He is a terrific writer doing something different. — Mark Billingham
From the first page I knew I was in safe hands. I knew I could trust this writer. — Sophie Hannah
Wonderfully compelling. — Kate Mosse
Peter May is an author I'd follow to the ends of the earth. — New York Times
Dark, exciting and atmospheric. — Scotland on Sunday
Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Quercus

The Stone Circle

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Bloodline

Nigel McCrery
Authors:
Nigel McCrery
Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

A dark story has been brought to terrifying life. Can the ending be rewritten in time?A gripping contemporary Gothic thriller from the bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway mysteries: Susan Hill meets Gone Girl and Disclaimer.Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. As a literature teacher specialising in the Gothic writer RM Holland, she teaches a short course on it every year. Then Clare's life and work collide tragically when one of her colleagues is found dead, a line from an RM Holland story by her body. The investigating police detective is convinced the writer's works somehow hold the key to the case.Not knowing who to trust, and afraid that the killer is someone she knows, Clare confides her darkest suspicions and fears about the case to her journal. Then one day she notices some other writing in the diary. Writing that isn't hers...

Quercus

Stratton's War

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

Quercus

An Empty Death

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
MacLehose Press

A Summer of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann CleevesWhen the fire brigade is called to a burning shed in the Black Forest idyll of Kirchzarten, a volunteer is killed as a weapons cache beneath it explodes. Louise Bonì, back with Freiburg Kripo after treatment and recuperation for her alcoholism, is assigned to the task force dealing with this case. The meagre evidence they have points to a possible connection with German neo-Nazis or illegal arms dealers from the former Yugoslavia, while the arrival of secret service agents suggests more is at stake. For Louise to solve the riddle she needs to overcome the ghosts of her past that continue to haunt her.Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Jo Fletcher Books

Restoration

Angela Slatter
Authors:
Angela Slatter

Walking between the worlds has always been dangerous - but this time V's facing the loss of all she holds dear.Verity Fassbinder thought no boss could be worse than her perfectionist ex-boyfriend - until she grudgingly agreed to work for a psychotic fallen angel. And dealing with a career change not entirely of her own choosing is doing nothing to improve V's already fractious temper. The angel is a jealous - and violent - employer, so she's quit working for the Weyrd Council and sent her family away, for their own safety. Instead of indulging in domestic bliss, she's got to play BFFs with the angel's little spy, Joyce the kitsune assassin . . . and Joyce comes with her own murderous problems. The angel has tasked V with finding two lost treasures, which would be hard enough even without a vengeful Dusana Nadasy on her heels. And Inspector McIntyre won't stop calling: the bodies of Normal women who disappeared decades before are turning up, apparently subjected to Weyrd magics. Angelic demands or not, this isn't something she can walk away from. And the angel is getting impatient for results . . .'Slatter [has] gone from strength to strength, armed with first-class imagination and first-class storytelling skills' Jeff Vandermeer, bestselling author of the Southern Reach trilogy

Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
MacLehose Press

The Lizard Strategy

Valerio Varesi
Authors:
Valerio Varesi
Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
riverrun

Salt Lane

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave
Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'My favourite current crime series' Val McDermidDr Ruth Galloway is flattered when she receives a letter from Italian archaeologist Dr Angelo Morelli, asking for her help. He's discovered a group of bones in a tiny hilltop village near Rome but doesn't know what to make of them. It's years since Ruth has had a holiday, and even a working holiday to Italy is very welcome!So Ruth travels to Castello degli Angeli, accompanied by her daughter Kate and friend Shona. In the town she finds a baffling Roman mystery and a dark secret involving the war years and the Resistance. To her amazement she also soon finds Harry Nelson, with Cathbad in tow. But there is no time to overcome their mutual shock - the ancient bones spark a modern murder, and Ruth must discover what secrets there are in Castello degli Angeli that someone would kill to protect

riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

** AUTHOR OF CAST IRON, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE **** OVER 4 MILLION COPIES SOLD **** AN EXPLOSIVE NEW THRILLER SET IN THE OUTER HEBRIDES **WHATEVER HAPPENSNiamh and Ruairidh Macfarlane co-own the Hebridean company Ranish Tweed. On a business trip to Paris to promote their luxury brand, Niamh learns of Ruairidh's affair, and then looks on as he and his lover are killed by a car bomb. She returns home to Lewis, bereft.I'LL ALWAYS BE THERE FOR YOUNiamh begins to look back on her life with Ruairidh, desperate to identify anyone who may have held a grudge against him. The French police, meanwhile, have ruled out terrorism, and ruled in murder - and sent Detective Sylvie Braque to shadow their prime suspect: Niamh.I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE, NO MATTER WHATAs one woman works back through her memories, and the other moves forward with her investigation, the two draw ever closer to a deadly enemy with their own, murderous, designs.'Peter May is a writer I would follow to the ends of the earth' New York Times

Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
riverrun

Blowback

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May