Jean-Paul Kauffmann - A Journey to Nowhere - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857050366
    • Publication date:26 Apr 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857380425
    • Publication date:26 Apr 2012

A Journey to Nowhere

Among the Lands and History of Courland

By Jean-Paul Kauffmann

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Biographical Notes

Jean-Paul Kauffmann is the author of The Dark Room at Longwood (1999), an exploration of Napoleon's exile on St Helena, Desolation Island (2001) and Wrestling with the Angel (2003). He was a journalist until 1985, when he was kidnapped in Beirut and only released three years later.

Euan Cameron's translations include works by Julien Green, Simone de Beauvoir and Paul Morand, biographies of Marcel Proust and Irène Némirovsky.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782062424
  • Publication date: 06 Jun 2013
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
'A seductively exciting historical exploration of a country that no longer exists ... Kauffmann is the ideal literary detective' Irish Times. — Irish Times
'A triumph ... superbly translated by Euan Cameron, provides a vivid amalgam of opinion, history and travelogue; I was absorbed from start to finish' Financial Times. — Financial Times
'Curiously engaging and even tantalising book ... this book is something of a tour de force' Spectator. — Spectator
'Kauffmann is a gripping narrator. The minute he lands in Riga ... you're hooked' The Lady. — Lady
'This wonderful writer has come up with another winner' Giles Foden. — Giles Foden
Quercus

The Norse Myths

Dr Tom Birkett
Authors:
Dr Tom Birkett
Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

Quercus

Craftfulness

Rosemary Davidson, Arzu Tahsin
Authors:
Rosemary Davidson, Arzu Tahsin
Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia
riverrun

In Mid-Air

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The new thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl Before.

Quercus

On Sheep

Axel Lindén
Authors:
Axel Lindén
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Alain Delambre is a 57-year-old former HR executive, drained by four years of hopeless unemployment.All he is offered are small, demoralizing jobs. He has reached his very lowest ebb, and can see no way out.So when a major company finally invites him to an interview, Alain Delambre is ready to do anything, borrow money, shame his wife and his daughters and even participate in the ultimate recruitment test: a role-playing game that involves hostage-taking.Alain Delambre commits body and soul in this struggle to regain his dignity.But if he suddenly realised that the dice had been loaded against him from the start, his fury would be limitless.And what began as a role-play game could quickly become a bloodbath.

Quercus

War Gardens

Lally Snow
Authors:
Lally Snow

A journey through the most unlikely of gardens: the oases of peace people create in the midst of warIn this millennium, we have become war weary. From Afghanistan to Iraq, from Ukraine to South Sudan and Syria, from Kashmir to the West Bank, conflict is as contagious and poisonous as Japanese knotweed. Living through it are people just like us with ordinary jobs, ordinary pressures and ordinary lives. Against a new landscape of horror and violence it is up to them to maintain a modicum of normality and colour. For some, gardening is the way to achieve this.Working in the world's most dangerous war zones, freelance war correspondent and photographer Lally Snow has often chanced across a very moving sight, a testimony to the triumph of the human spirit in adversity, a celebration of hope and beauty: a war garden. In Kabul, the royal gardens are tended by a centenarian gardener, though the king is long gone: in Camp Bastion, bored soldiers improvise tiny gardens to give themselves a moment's peace; on both sides of the dividing line in Jerusalem families tend groves of olives and raise beautiful plants from the unforgiving, disputed landscape; in Ukraine, families tend their gardens in the middle of a surreal, frozen war.War Gardens is a surprising, tragic and beautiful journey through the darkest places of the modern world, revealing the ways people make time and space for themselves and for nature even in the middle of destruction. Illustrated with Lally Snow's own award-winning photography, this is a book to treasure.

Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

In this twisty psychological thriller from the New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of The Girl Before, an actress plays both sides of a murder investigationOne aspiring actress from the UK pays for her acting class in New York the only way she can: as a decoy for a firm of divorce lawyers, hired to entrap straying husbands. When the police begin investigating one of her targets for murdering his wife - and potentially others - they ask her to help lure the suspect into a confession.But with the actress pretending to be someone she's not, differentiating the decoy from the prey becomes impossible - and deadly.**********See what everyone is saying about JP Delaney, the hottest new name in psychological thrillers:'DAZZLING' - Lee Child'ADDICTIVE' - Daily Express 'DEVASTATING' - Daily Mail 'INGENIOUS' - The New York Times'COMPULSIVE' - Glamour Magazine 'ELEGANT' - Peter James 'SEXY' - Mail on Sunday'ENTHRALLING' - Woman and Home'ORIGINAL' - The Times'RIVETING' - Lisa Gardner'CREEPY' - Heat 'SATISFYING' - Reader's Digest 'SUPERIOR' - The Bookseller'MORE THAN A MATCH FOR PAULA HAWKINS' - Sunday Times

Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Quercus

More Than a Feeling

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods

'Cate Woods is laugh-out-loud funny and life affirming' Closer. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart. In her twenties, Annie Taylor was sorted: she had her dream job, an amazing social life and was happily single. She had bags of confidence and played up her likeness to a young Barbra Streisand in turbans and winged eyeliner. Annie knew exactly who she was, and her future looked bright and full of adventures.Life, however, hasn't turned out quite how she expected. Now Annie is living with her boyfriend Luke and is a stay-at-home mum to their baby daughter, Dot. The promising career has petered out, and with it her confidence and creativity. And when Luke does the unforgivable, Annie finds herself suddenly, terrifyingly, on her own. With the help of her group of loyal friends, Annie faces the challenge of trying to reconcile the glamorous, carefree Annie of old with the knackered mum-of-one she sees in the mirror today. Is old Annie gone forever, or could this finally be the chance to find herself once more?

Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim

She would like to breathe in the smell of Frank's skin one last time, a smell like salt cut with something sweet. But there is no time. If she doesn't leave, he will die. Their story begins with a goodbye.Polly and Frank are young and in love, a lifetime together before them. But one evening in 1981, as the Texas sun sets over their shoulders, the world is suddenly pulled apart by a deadly virus. Within months, Frank is dying. Polly can save him, but only if she agrees to a radical plan: to time travel to 1993 for a corporation who can fund his life-saving treatment. She can only go forward, she cannot go back. And she must leave everything she loves behind, including Frank.All they have is the promise of a future together: they will find each other again in twelve years' time, in Galveston, Texas, where the sea begins.But when something goes wrong and Polly arrives late, Frank is nowhere to be found. Completely alone, Polly must navigate a terrifying new world to find him, and to discover if their love has endured.An Ocean of Minutes is a devastating and timely novel about courage, yearning, the cost of holding onto the past - and the price of letting it go.

MacLehose Press

The Mountain

Luca D'Andrea
Authors:
Luca D'Andrea
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker

Fresh from the staggering success of The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair, Marcus Goldman is struggling to write his third novel. A chance encounter in Florida throws him some inspiration from a surprising source: Alexandra Neville, the beautiful, phenomenally successful singer and Marcus's first love. All at once, memories of his childhood come flooding back. Memories of a family torn apart by tragedy, and a once glorious legacy reduced to shame and ruin.The Baltimore Boys. The Goldman Gang. That was what they called Marcus, and his cousins Hillel and Woody. Three brilliant young men with their whole lives ahead of them, before their kingdom crumbled beneath the weight of lies, jealousy and betrayal. For years, Marcus has struggled with the burdens of his past, but now, he must attempt to banish his demons and tell the real story of the Baltimore Boys.Translated from the French by Alison Anderson

Jo Fletcher Books

Stained Light

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle
MacLehose Press

The Impostor

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas
MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska

"The House with the Stained-Glass Window is remarkable, a gripping, Lvivian evocation of a city and a family across a long and painful century, at once personal and political, a novel of life and survival across the ages" PHILIPPE SANDS, author of East West StreetIn 1989, Marianna, the beautiful star soprano at the Lviv opera, is shot dead in the street as she leads the Ukrainian citizens in their protest against Soviet power. Only eleven years old at the time, her daughter tells the story of their family before and after that critical moment - including, ten years later, her own passionate affair with an older, married man. Just like their home city of Lviv, which stands at the crossroads of nations and cultures, the women in this family have had turbulent lives, scarred by war and political turmoil, but also by their own inability to show each other their feelings. Lyrically told, this is the story of a young girl's emotional, sexual, artistic and political awakening as she matures under the influence of her relatives, her mother's former lover, her city and its fortunes.Translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones

Quercus

The Italian Quarter

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa