Lucy Cruickshanks - The Trader of Saigon - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782064541
    • Publication date:04 Jul 2013
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848664692
    • Publication date:03 Apr 2014
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782063445
    • Publication date:03 Apr 2014

The Trader of Saigon

By Lucy Cruickshanks

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

From Hanoi to Saigon, a tale of one woman's search for a better life - and a thriller that strikes to the merciless heart of the real Vietnam.

In the chaos and corruption of 1980s' Vietnam, three seemingly unconnected lives are brought together by greed, fear and hope.

As a US Army deserter, Alexander is a man without country; trapped in a life he no longer controls and embroiled in the dark business of trading women. His latest victim is Hanh, a rural girl who moved to Hanoi to escape inevitable poverty and who sees Alexander's arrival as the answer to her prayers. Neither of them has ever met Phuc - a Vietnamese businessman who backed the wrong side in the war and is now unable to pay his financial and political debts to the Party. But his struggles are about to change both their lives.

From a society torn apart by war comes a tale of redemption and salvation; a thrilling saga and an explosive debut novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782063216
  • Publication date: 04 Jul 2013
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Heron Books
Compelling and involving... there is a raw energy — Guardian
A gripping tale that is complex and profound... Beautifully written, immensely atmospheric, the characters are unforgettable... This is a compelling story that will touch your heart — Kate Furnivall, author of The White Pearl
A touching, sometimes brutal slice of life from the Saigon that remained when the war correspondents went home. It's authentic, beautiful and highly accomplished: all novels should aspire to be this good — Bookbag, Book of the Month
Vivid, startling and absorbing — Matthew Plampin, author of The Devil's Acre
'A gripping tale that is complex and profound ... Beautifully written, immensely atmospheric, the characters are unforgettable ... This is a compelling story that will touch your heart' Kate Furnivall. — Kate Furnivall
A beautifully atmospheric novel. Cruickshanks' writing and detailed descriptions of the post-civil war country simply leaves me wanting more — Page to Stage
'A touching, sometimes brutal slice of life from the Saigon that remained when the war correspondents went home. Authentic, beautiful and highly accomplished; all novels should aspire to be this good' Bookbag. — Bookbag
'Vivid, startling and absorbing ... a really compelling novel' Matthew Plampin. — Matthew Plampin
MacLehose Press

Untitled Book 3

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
MacLehose Press

The Gravity of Love

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg

A dazzlingly inventive and acclaimed novel set in a Stockholm psychiatric hospital - by one of Sweden's most exciting literary talents"I'll put my head in the oven so you know where I am," he whispers, kissing her neck.Jim - charming, captivating, much loved by his women friends - has attempted suicide several times. Over his period of incarceration at the Beckomberga hospital for the mentally unstable, he voices his determination to succeed. Some day soon, he tells his daughter - as he has earlier told his mother and his wife - he will swallow sixty tablets, help them down with a bottle of whisky, and swim impossibly far out into the Atlantic.Will he, really? This question plagues Jim's daughter, the narrator of this powerful novel, who is as addicted to the hospital as her father is to alcohol. Through her subtle observations we understand the emotional needs of diehard alcoholics, the rationally uxoricidal, and other seemingly normal inhabitants of a psychiatric unit in the process of shutting down, depriving them of the only place they have known as home.A Magic Mountain for our times, for readers of Eimear McBride and Alexander Masters.Translated from the Swedish by Deborah Bragan-Turner

MacLehose Press

The Faculty of Dreams

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg
MacLehose Press

One Clear Ice-cold January Morning at the Beginning of the 21st Century

Roland Schimmelpfennig
Authors:
Roland Schimmelpfennig
MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
MacLehose Press

Monte Carlo

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin
MacLehose Press

Leica Format

Daša Drndic
Authors:
Daša Drndic

This is like a fairy tale, all this. A woman meets a stranger who tells her her identity is a lie. 772 (or 789) children's brains rest silently in jars. A traveller comes to a quotidian city, unknowingly approaching her past. From the author of Trieste (shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize) comes this bedazzling kaleidoscopic novel, stitching together fact and fiction, history and memory, words and images into a heart-breaking collage that manages to look askance at the blinding horror of history. Ranging across themes of memory, loss, inheritance and storytelling, Drndic borrows from every tradition of writing to weave together a fragmented narrative of love and disease, in a novel that's very format raises penetrating and unanswerable questions about history, and the processes by which we describe and remember it.

MacLehose Press

A Foolish Virgin

Ida Simons
Authors:
Ida Simons
MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales
MacLehose Press

A People without a Past

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross

The second part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer The year is 1563, and by any account Balthasar Russow can be said to have risen in the world. Fresh from his studies in the German town of Stetten, he has assumed the role as pastor of Tallinn's Holy Ghost Church. Moreover, he is betrothed to a maiden of the town - much to the chagrin of her father, who has no wish to welcome peasant stock to the family when there is no shortage of upstanding young German men - and is poised to begin the chronicle that will ensure his everlasting fame.But tribulations still await the now not-quite-young Pastor - Livonia is still plagued by foreign powers, with Tallinn braced to withstand a prolonged Muscovite siege. And he will discover that marriage is often a battlefield in itself.Translated from the Estonian by Merike Beecher

MacLehose Press

Madame Bovary of the Suburbs

Sophie Divry
Authors:
Sophie Divry

The story of a woman's life, from childhood to death, somewhere in provincial France, from the 1950s to just shy of 2025. She has doting parents, does well at school, finds a loving husband after one abortive attempt at passion, buys a big house with a moonlit terrace, makes decent money, has children, changes jobs, retires, grows old and dies. All in the comfort that the middle-classes have grown accustomed to. But she's bored. She takes up all sorts of outlets to try to make something happen in her life: adultery, charity work, esotericism, manic house-cleaning, motherhood and various hobbies - each one abandoned faster than the last. But no matter what she does, her life remains unfocussed and unfulfilled. Nothing truly satisfies her, because deep down - just like the town where she lives - the landscape is non-descript, flat, horizontal.Sophie Divry dramatises the philosophical conflict between freedom and comfort that marks women's lives in a materialistic world. Our heroine is an endearing, contemporary Emma Bovary, and Divry's prose will remind readers of the best of Houellebecq, the cold, implacable historian who paints a precise portrait of an era and those who inhabit it and in doing so renders existence indelibly absurd.Translated from the French by Alison Anderson

MacLehose Press

Nevada Days

Bernardo Atxaga
Authors:
Bernardo Atxaga

MacLehose Press

Birth of a Bridge

Maylis de Kerangal, Maylis de Kerangal
Authors:
Maylis de Kerangal, Maylis de Kerangal

Coca, Southern California. A small town on a wild river, at the margins of the red-rocked desert and the forest where the last of the state's Native Americans still make their home.When Boa, the charismatic new mayor, decides to put Coca on the map, he plans a monumental new project: a six-lane bridge, two hundred metres high, designed and destined to catapult the city into the third millennium.Workers from across the globe flock to California: to earn a living, to escape their pasts, to bear witness to man's mastery of nature. But the project's majestic scope has no regard for the legacy of this ancient land, and within this monochrome Babel festers a very human cocktail of fears and passions. At once timeless and yet exquisitely of its moment, Maylis De Kerangal's multi-award-winning novel follows its broad cast of construction workers and architects, diggers and dreamers, as they navigate both the intricacies of their project and the depths of the human heart.Translated from the French by Jessica Moore

MacLehose Press

The Children

Carolina Sanín
Authors:
Carolina Sanín
riverrun

This Is 64

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
riverrun

Taking Izmail

Mikhail Shishkin
Authors:
Mikhail Shishkin

In this 1999 work, now available for the first time in the English language, Mikhail Shishkin displays at full force the writing talents that have won him international recognition for books like Maidenhair and The Light and the Dark.The Izmail of the title is a border fortress town, taken and lost by Russian forces numerous times in history. Here it is taken as a metaphor for the task of mastering life itself, and the scope of the task is conveyed through a masterfully interwoven panoply of scenes from different times and settings in Russia: in this tour de force of structure, style and scholarship the interaction of the scenes creates a genuine sense of the complexity of life.As Mikhail Shishkin's father says to him in the autobiographical chapter Conclusion: 'This life, Mishka, has to be taken like a fortress!' Among other things, Taking Izmail is a young writer's own brilliant storming of that fortress.

Quercus

The Christmas Guest

Daisy Bell
Authors:
Daisy Bell
MacLehose Press

A Sense of the Beginning

Norbert Gstrein
Authors:
Norbert Gstrein
MacLehose Press

Diary Of A Body

Daniel Pennac
Authors:
Daniel Pennac
MacLehose Press

Look Who's Back

Timur Vermes
Authors:
Timur Vermes

Berlin, Summer 2011. Adolf Hitler wakes up on a patch of open ground, alive and well. Things have changed - no Eva Braun, no Nazi party, no war. Hitler barely recognises his beloved Fatherland, filled with immigrants and run by a woman. People certainly recognise him, albeit as a flawless impersonator who refuses to break character. The unthinkable, the inevitable happens, and the ranting Hitler goes viral, becomes a YouTube star, gets his own T.V. show, and people begin to listen. But the Führer has another programme with even greater ambition - to set the country he finds a shambles back to rights. Look Who's Back stunned and then thrilled 1.5 million German readers with its fearless approach to the most taboo of subjects. Naive yet insightful, repellent yet strangely sympathetic, the revived Hitler unquestionably has a spring in his step.