David Towsey - Your Brother's Blood - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782064350
    • Publication date:06 Nov 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782064343
    • Publication date:29 Aug 2013
Books in this series

Your Brother's Blood

The Walkin' Book 1

By David Towsey

  • Hardback
  • £20.00

The earth is a wasteland, with no technology, science, or medicine - but the dead don't always die. Those who rise again are the Walkin'...

An action-packed, post-apocalyptic adventure for fans of The Walking Dead, World War Z and Feed. The dead don't always die. Those who rise again are the Walkin' . . .

Thomas is thirty-two. He comes from the small town of Barkley. He has a wife there, Sarah, and a child, Mary; good solid names from the Good Book. And he is on his way home from the war, where he has been serving as a conscripted soldier.

Thomas is also dead - he is one of the Walkin'.

And Barkley does not suffer the wicked to live.

Biographical Notes

David Towsey is a graduate of the Bath Spa and Aberystwyth University Creative Writing programmes. Born in Dorset, he moved to Wales and managed to lose himself there for ten years. He's now determined to see what the rest of the world has to offer.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782064329
  • Publication date: 29 Aug 2013
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
This is a sparse, elegantly written novel about family ties. The influence of Cormac McCarthy and especially The Road is keenly felt, and Thomas and Mary's relationship is moving without being overly sentimental . . . the deft world-building and focus on small-scale human tragedy make for an absorbing alternative to World War Z -style epics. — SFX
'All in all it was a fantastic read and would recommend it highly. An excitingly uncomfortable read' Moggy's Books. — Moggy's Books
'Intelligent plotting and terrific storytelling throughout, I found this utterly gripping' Liz Loves Books. — Liz Loves Books
'Literary Horror at its best ... an extremely talented new voice in genre fiction' readerdad.co.uk. — readerdad.co.uk
'David Towsey has created something new and quite amazing in his debut. Re-interpreting the well-represented zombie genre, flipping it upside-down and front-to-back ... utterly captivating' Book Plank. — Book Plank
'Haunting, elegiac, evocative and human. Combines the taut yet melancholy feel of a classic pursuit Western with an authentically horrific sense of history gone wrong. A beautifully crafted debut' Christopher Brookmyre. — Christopher Brookmyre
This debut is utterly engrossing. It's a truly fascinating reinterpretation of the zombie myths ... I want to read a sequel to this book tomorrow. No, let me rephrase that, I NEED to read a sequel to this book tomorrow — The Eloquent Page
Something completely new and different . . . literary and elegant at the same time . . . I recommend it to anyone looking for something that's different, resonant and not "just another zombie book" — Bibliosanctum
[Your Brother's Blood] is an exceptionally good Weird Western zombie novel. Given how rare excellence is in any one of those areas, finding it at the conjunction of all three is a truly spectacular occurrence . . . Your Brother's Blood is something special — Pornokitsch
Towsey's writing is a joy - the reader can feel and empathise with Thomas' angst as he is hunted across inhospitable terrains with his young daughter. This will appeal to fans of both the zombie and classic Western genres — British Fantasy Society
If you're picking up Your Brother's Blood and expect it's just another zombie novel, then let me tell you: it's not . . . this one is more psychological than action-packed. If you want a break from all the swordfights and space battles, this is the book you should pick up — Draumr Kopa
One of the finest tales of the undead in recent memory, told in a grit-crusted, Old West style . . . with rich characterization, starkly beautiful language, and philosophical depth — NPR
Towsey is a master of his craft; lyrical prose and compelling characters combine here to create a novel with real warmth and heart — James Aitcheson, author of Sworn Swords
'Despite sitting in two genres, Your Brother's Blood manages to largely avoid relying on recycled tropes. There's little in the way of gun-toting, zombie-blasting carnage here. Instead, this is a sparse, elegantly written novel about family ties' SFX. — SFX