Élmer Mendoza - The Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3) - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857052636
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018

The Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3)

By Élmer Mendoza

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A third outing for Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta seems him team up with the head of the Pacific Cartel and confront a killer delivering death to every dentist in the region

Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta can't believe his luck. An old flame has returned to Mexico with a son he knew nothing about - it seems that a happy family life is finally beckoning for our careworn hero. The only snag is that Jason Mendieta wants to follow in his father's footsteps . . .

Meanwhile, the war that is raging between Mexico's drug cartels takes on a renewed fury. The lover of Samantha Valdés, the head of the Pacific Cartel, is murdered in her hotel bedroom, and Valdés' unquenchable thirst for revenge unleashes a wave of killings across the country.

Lefty is preoccupied with another pressing matter - some lunatic has taken to bumping off dentists with a heavy calibre pistol - but a personal connection with Valdés sees him drawn into her investigation. The truth behind her lover's murder will underline that old adage: revenge is a dish best served cold.

Biographical Notes

Élmer Mendoza was born in Culiacán, México in 1949. He is a professor and author, widely regarded as the founder of 'narco-lit', which explores drug trafficking and corruption in Latin America. He won the José Fuentes Mares National Literary Prize for Janis Joplin's Lover, and the Tusquets Prize for Silver Bullets.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782064930
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Presents Mexico in a darkly surrealist light: corrupt politicos, a plague of narco-crime and only battered detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta on the side of the angels. — Barry Forshaw, Independent.
One of the biggest names in Mexican literature . . . A true novelist . . . No one has captured the exciting and passionate nature of the Mexican vernacular like him. — Arturo Pérez-Reverte.
The literary representative of modern-day Mexico in its narco-incarnation . . . The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years. — Gaby Wood, Sunday Telegraph.
A vivid glimpse into an ultraviolent world of macho posturing, unorthodox policing and ruthless criminality. — Laura Wilson, Guardian.
If you are fed up with formulaic noir novels and looking for something fresher, Élmer Mendoza . . . could be the answer. — John Dugdale, Sunday Times.
Essential reading. — Jake Kerridge, Sunday Express.
Quercus

Greeks Bearing Gifts

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr

Will it be unlucky thirteen for Bernie Gunther? Find out in the latest installment in this internationally bestselling and acclaimed series.LEE CHILD calls Bernie Gunther 'one of the greatest anti-heroes ever written'TOM HANKS says 'Kerr leads us through the facts of history and the vagaries of human nature'ALAN FURST calls Philip Kerr 'one of the greatest master story-tellers in English'

Quercus

Blood Feud

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
Quercus

The Vanishing Box

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

What do a murdered Brighton flowerseller, the death of Cleopatra and a nude tableau show have in common? One thing's for sure - it could be the most dangerous case yet for Stephens and Mephisto.The fourth Stephens and Mephisto mystery from the author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-read for fans of Bryant and May. 'Mixes cosiness and sharpness in a way that recalls the best of Agatha Christie' Sunday Express (on Smoke and Mirrors)Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto and his daughter Ruby are headlining Brighton Hippodrome, an achievement only slightly marred by the less-than-savoury support act: a tableau show of naked 'living statues'. This might appear to have nothing in common with DI Edgar Stephens' investigation into the death of a quiet flowerseller, but if there's one thing the old comrades have learned it's that, in Brighton, the line between art and life - and death - is all too easily blurred...

MacLehose Press

Rosy & John

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Quercus

Sleeping Beauties

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

The Irish Bestselling author of With Our Blessing and Beneath the SurfaceThe inspector frowned and examined the earth under the trees. As he scanned the glade, his stomach lurched. One, two, three, four. Five, counting the mound of earth disturbed under the tent. Somebody had cleared the earth of its natural layer and sown their own flowers.In five places.Five graves.A young woman, Fiona Holland, has gone missing from a small Irish village. A search is mounted, but there are whispers. Fiona had a wild reputation. Was she abducted, or has she run away? A week later, a gruesome discovery is made in the woods at Ireland's most scenic beauty spot - the valley of Glendalough. The bodies are all young women who disappeared in recent years. D.I. Tom Reynolds and his team are faced with the toughest case of their careers - a serial killer, who hunts vulnerable women, and holds his victims captive before he ends their lives. Soon the race is on to find Fiona Holland before it's too late.

riverrun

The Man Who Wanted to Know

D. A. Mishani
Authors:
D. A. Mishani

Soul-shattering and profound detective novel from the international award-winning sensationWHAT YOU DON'T KNOWCAN NEVER HURT YOUTHE UNKNOWNMazal Bengtson doesn't know what her husband was doing on the night of the storm. Inspector Avraham Avraham doesn't know how to begin his first murder case.THE KNOWNWhat they do both know is something of the victim's past that holds the key to understanding not just the murder, but stranger, more disturbing events.THE UNKNOWABLEFor the things that happen in a long marriage, under strain may not always be against the law. Desperate to solve a terrible death, Avraham cannot mend what he cannot know.

Quercus

The Templars' Last Secret

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Quercus

What's So Funny?

Donald E. Westlake
Authors:
Donald E. Westlake

Donald Westlake turns the world of crime and criminals upside down and has the last laugh in WHAT'S SO FUNNY?, his latest comic caper novel. His perennially depressed master thief, John Dortmunder, finds himself involved an impossible crime, one he doesn't want and doesn't believe in and which he'd rather avoid if possible...but a little blackmail goes a long way.All it takes is a few underhanded moves by a tough ex-cop named Eppick to pull Dortmunder into a game he never wanted to play. With no choice, he musters his always-game gang and they set out on a perilous treasure hunt for a long-lost gold and jewel-studded chess set once intended as a birthday gift for the last Romanov czar. Unfortunately for everyone, then and now, he became the last Romanov czar without making it to his own birthday party. From the moment Dortmunder reaches for his first pawn, he faces insurmountable odds...

Quercus

One Bad Turn

Sinéad Crowley
Authors:
Sinéad Crowley
Quercus

Killing Goldfinger

Wensley Clarkson
Authors:
Wensley Clarkson

KILLING GOLDFINGER charts the extraordinary rise and spectacular bullet-riddled fall of John Palmer, the richest, most powerful criminal ever to have emerged from the modern British underworld. During the late 1990s, Palmer was rated as rich as The Queen by the Sunday Times Rich List.Palmer earned his nickname Goldfinger after smelting (in his back garden) tens of millions of pounds worth of stolen gold bullion from the 20th century's most lucrative heist; the Brink's-Mat robbery. Palmer then used his share of the millions to become the vicious overlord of a vast illegal timeshare property empire in Tenerife. At the same time, Goldfinger financed huge international drugs shipments as well as some of the most notorious UK robberies of the past 30 years, including the £50m Securitas heist in Kent in 2006 and, many believe, the Hatton Garden heist in 2015.Palmer vowed to hunt down all his underworld enemies. But in the end it was those same criminals who decided to bring his life to an end. Murdered in June 2015, with charges of fraud, money laundering and worse pending, this book tells his murky story for the first time.As outrageous and bullet-riddled as the hit Netflix series Narcos, Killing Goldfinger tells the true story of Britain's underworld kingpin, who turned the sunshine holiday island of Tenerife into his very own Crime Incorporated and then paid the ultimate price.

riverrun

Blackwater

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry
riverrun

Sympathy for the Devil

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw

'Big treat in store for fans. And if you're not a fan yet, why not?' Val McDermidSUMMER OF LOVEShe made a profit from her youth. She's not beautiful anymore - but she will be young forever.Called away from his pregnant girlfriend, Detective Sergeant Cathal Breen knows the sight of the murdered prostitute will be with him all his life. But this is what he does: he finds killers. Helen Tozer, more than most, understands why. SUMMER OF DEATHThe girl they called Julie Teenager had a client list full of suspects - all rich, powerful - and protected. Someone warns off the beat coppers; someone disturbs the crime scene. Breen begins to fear that this is more than the murder of a prostitute. It's political. Then Helen, with her ex-copper's instincts and fierce moral sense, gets dangerously involved. And Breen knows he has more to lose than ever before. He is about to become a father. He can have no sympathy for the devil.Breen and Tozer met through murder. They work in a world before forensics or criminal databases; a world that's bigoted and brutal. Tense, dramatic and ingeniously plotted, Sympathy for the Devil is a gripping police thriller that delivers crime with a conscience.

riverrun

Snakehead

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

The Special Girls

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey
Jo Fletcher Books

Empress of the Fall

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
Quercus

The Chalk Pit

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
MacLehose Press

The Acid Test

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza

When the mutilated body of Mayra Cabral de Melo is found in a dusty field, Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta has personal reasons for bringing the culprit to justice. Mayra, a well-known stripper, had no shortage of ardent, deluded and downright dangerous admirers, and Lefty himself is haunted by the night he spent in her company.As Mexico's drug war ramps up, Lefty's pursuit of a gallery of jealous and powerful suspects, all with a murderous glint in their eye, leads him to Samantha Valdés, the godfather's daughter, who is battling to retain her father's empire. And as the mystery deepens, the bodycount rises.

MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Played With Fire

Stieg Larsson
Authors:
Stieg Larsson
Quercus

Get Real

Donald E. Westlake
Authors:
Donald E. Westlake
MacLehose Press

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Stieg Larsson
Authors:
Stieg Larsson