Peter Terrin - Post Mortem - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857052742
    • Publication date:01 Oct 2015
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782066187
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2016

Post Mortem

By Peter Terrin

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An intense and ingenious novel about a writer's inspiration, a father's love, and a man's fear of losing his legacy.

Emiel Steegman, an unknown writer with a handful of novels to his name, is seeking a way to escape a dinner with Estonian colleagues. Although things are plodding along quite happily, he cancels at the last moment "due to a rather difficult time for the family".

A nasty feeling immediately comes over him: is he inviting trouble for his family in doing so? And what if a biographer stumbled on this? Would he not then suspect that something significant had happened in his life? The thought gives him a great idea for a new novel about a successful author, T, who becomes famous with an existential crime novel and increasingly worries about what his future biographer will write about him, so he withdraws entirely from public life.

But Steegman's initial misgivings prove well founded. Because fate does strike. One afternoon, his daughter Renée falls asleep and it is impossible to wake her . . .

Biographical Notes

Peter Terrin represents a unique voice in contemporary literature, touching on universal and highly topical themes. He is considered by critics to be a literary maverick, a classic writer and a masterful stylist. He is also an avid collector of vintage typewriters. He won a European Literature Prize for The Guard, and the AKO Literatuurprijs for Post Mortem.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782066170
  • Publication date: 01 Oct 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
MacLehose Press

John Law

James Buchan
Authors:
James Buchan
MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales

"Perhaps the worst thing about war is the peace that follows . . ."Winds of the Night is the follow-up, published almost thirty years later, to Joan Sales' acclaimed masterwork of the Spanish Civil War, Uncertain Glory.It describes the shell-shocked wasteland that was post-war Catalonia through the eyes of Cruells, a Republican chaplain who survives the war, and completes his theological studies only to lose his faith in a world where it seems all hope has been extinguished.As he struggles to function as a rural priest, his steps are dogged by a ghostly figures from his past, such as Lamoneda, a fascist agent provocateur who now hobnobs with Himmler and misses few opportunities to turn the febrile post-war atmosphere to his financial advantage. Against his wishes, Creulls is drawn into obsessive dialogues about the war in which only lunacy prevails, for Lamoneda seems to hold the key to the whereabouts of an old friend - the mercurial Juli Soleràs, whose charisma, for all his betrayals, still holds Cruells in thrall.An essential coda to the modern classic that is Uncertain Glory, Winds of the Night is a Beckettian vision of the traumas of combatants and country hidden beneath the rhetoric of the victors.Translated from the Catalan by Peter Bush

MacLehose Press

Monte Carlo

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin

It is the Monaco Grand Prix in May 1968. Jack Preston, a mechanic for Team Sutton, is making the final checks on his car as the beau monde mingles with the drivers under the eyes of the world's press and the galleries of spectators. DeeDee, a starlet of great beauty, seems to be walking towards him, or perhaps towards the royal box. Without warning a fireball rips across the starting grid. Preston will always bear the scars as a consequence of his unthinking heroism, his saving the life and the beauty of the girl, but details of the accident remain vague - no photographs capturing the moment have come to light.Weeks later, Preston emerges from hospital and goes home to his wife in a remote English village from which the drab atmosphere of the 1950s has yet to recede. There, as he slowly recovers, he awaits word from his employers and some sign of DeeDee's gratitude, an acknowledgment that it was he who saved her life.This is an unsettlingly beautiful story of obsession by an acknowledged master of classical restraint.Translated from the Dutch by David Doherty

Quercus

The Wrong Girl

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

A sudden death exposes three generations of family secrets in this gripping, atmospheric psychological thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Belinda Bauer and B A Paris.Janice Keaton is living a quiet, easy life when a longed-for reunion with the daughter she gave up for adoption several decades earlier drags her into a lethal confrontation with her past. Did her brother, Dan, die a natural death? Is Joe, her former lover, really an acid casualty, or was there another reason for his abrupt withdrawal from public life? And what is her granddaughter, Molly, hiding? As she struggles to come to terms with a series of shocks, Janice realises that her recollections of the past hold a sinister secret - one with deadly consequences. And then Molly disappears...

riverrun

F

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann

Quercus

Beautiful Ever After

Katie Piper
Authors:
Katie Piper

Katie Piper's extraordinary story of strength and recovery after a brutal rape and acid attack has captivated Britain. In this powerful sequel to her bestselling memoir, Katie tells the remarkable story of what's happened in the years since she bravely left the safety of her parents' home. With her trademark honesty, humour and heartfelt emotion, Katie shares the highs and lows she has faced as her life changed in ways she never thought possible. She reveals the dark thoughts and genuine fears she continues to overcome behind closed doors, and the realities, both physical and emotional, of her ongoing, painful recovery. Katie is now a successful charity campaigner, TV presenter and inspirational speaker, but her career highs have often brought her face-to-face with her biggest demons. Her story is still dark at times, but it will also delight and surprise; despite fears of a life alone, she has found her Prince Charming, and Katie reveals both the wonder and anxiety of becoming a mother. This is the no-holds-barred, witty and utterly engaging next chapter in the life of a remarkable young woman.

Quercus

Summer Lightning

Tamara McKinley
Authors:
Tamara McKinley
MacLehose Press

The Guard

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin

Quercus

Brodeck's Report

Philippe Claudel
Authors:
Philippe Claudel

Elizabeth Brundage

Elizabeth Brundage graduated from Hampshire College, attended the NYU film school, was a screenwriting fellow at the American Film Institute in Los Angeles, and received an M.F.A. as well as a James Michener Award from the University of Iowa's Writers' Workshop. She has taught at a variety of colleges and universities, most recently at Skidmore College as a visiting writer in residence. She lives near Albany in upstate New York.

J. Ryan Stradal

J. Ryan Stradal's writing has appeared in The Rumpus, Los Angeles Review of Books, Rattling Wall, McSweeney's: The Goods, and Hobart, among other places, and he edits the fiction section of The Nervous Breakdown. Born and raised in Minnesota, he now lives in Los Angeles, where he co-hosts a literary-culinary events series called Hot Dish and has worked as a TV producer, notably for Ice Road Truckers and Deadliest Catch. He does not own a gun and a motorcycle, which makes him unique among the men in his extended family.

Jaimy Gordon

Jaimy Gordon was born in Baltimore. In addition to two novels, she has published poetry, plays, short stories and essays. Lord of Misrule was awarded the National Award for Fiction 2010.

Kate Cole-Adams

Kate Cole-Adams is a Melbourne-based writer and journalist. She began her career as the sole reporter for the Victorian Fruit and Vegetable Marketplace News, and has since worked in cities from Sydney to Darwin for publications including the Age, Sydney Morning Herald and Time magazine.

Kirsten Tranter

Kirsten Tranter is the daughter of poet John and literary agent Lyn Tranter. On the strength of The Legacy, her debut novel, she secured a six-figure, two-book deal with HarperCollins Australia.

Lucy Cruickshanks

Lucy Cruickshanks' love of travel inspires her writing. A great fan of the underdog, she's drawn to countries with troubled recent histories, writing about periods of time when societies are at their most precarious and fraught with risk. She's fascinated by their uniqueness and moral ambiguity, and in capturing the people who must navigate them.Her debut novel, The Trader of Saigon, began life after she sat beside a man on a flight who made his fortune selling women. It was shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award and the Guardian Not The Booker Prize, longlisted for the Waverton Goodread Award and named a Top Ten Book of 2013 by The Bookbag.Lucy was born in 1984 and raised in Cornwall, UK. She holds a BA in Politics and Philosophy from the University of Warwick and an MA in Creative Writing from Bath Spa University. She lives on the south coast of England and divides her time between writing and caring for her young family.

Mark Polizzotti

MARK POLIZZOTTI is the translator of more than thirty books from the French, including works by Gustave Flaubert, Marguerite Duras, Jean Echenoz, and Maurice Roche. His articles and reviews have appeared in The Wall Street Journal and The Nation. He is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Paul Lynch

Paul Lynch was born in 1977 and lives in Dublin. He was the chief film critic of Ireland's Sunday Tribune newspaper from 2007-2011. He has written regularly for the Sunday Times on film and has also written for the Irish Times, the Sunday Business Post, the Irish Daily Mail and Film Ireland.

Peter Nichols

Peter Nichols is the author of the international bestsellers A Voyage for Madmen (finalist for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year), Evolution's Captain, and three other books of fiction, memoir, and non-fiction, which have been translated into many languages. His non-fiction has been nominated for an American Pushcart Prize; his novel Lodestar was a Book Of The Month Club Main Selection and nominated for the Dublin IMPAC literary award. He has written for the New York Times, London Review of Books, The Times, Guardian, Daily Telegraph, Gourmet and GQ. He has taught creative writing at Georgetown University, New York University in Paris, and elsewhere. Before turning to writing full time he worked as a shepherd in Wales, a screenwriter, and spent ten years at sea as a professional yacht captain, during which time he sailed alone in a small leaky boat across the Atlantic, the subject of his first book, Sea Change. He divides his time between Europe and the USA.

Steven Amsterdam

Steven Amsterdam is a writer and palliative care nurse. Originally from New York City, he now lives in Melbourne. His most recent novel about assisted suicide, The Easy Way Out, has enjoyed critical acclaim in both the UK and Australia, and has been long-listed for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. His first book Things We Didn't See Coming was long-listed for the Guardian First Book Award. His second book, What the Family Needed was longlisted for the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

Wayne Macauley

Wayne Macauley is the author of two other novels and a collection of short stories. He lives in Melbourne.