Peter Terrin - Post Mortem - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857052742
    • Publication date:01 Oct 2015
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782066187
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2016

Post Mortem

By Peter Terrin

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An intense and ingenious novel about a writer's inspiration, a father's love, and a man's fear of losing his legacy.

Emiel Steegman, an unknown writer with a handful of novels to his name, is seeking a way to escape a dinner with Estonian colleagues. Although things are plodding along quite happily, he cancels at the last moment "due to a rather difficult time for the family".

A nasty feeling immediately comes over him: is he inviting trouble for his family in doing so? And what if a biographer stumbled on this? Would he not then suspect that something significant had happened in his life? The thought gives him a great idea for a new novel about a successful author, T, who becomes famous with an existential crime novel and increasingly worries about what his future biographer will write about him, so he withdraws entirely from public life.

But Steegman's initial misgivings prove well founded. Because fate does strike. One afternoon, his daughter Renée falls asleep and it is impossible to wake her . . .

Biographical Notes

Peter Terrin represents a unique voice in contemporary literature, touching on universal and highly topical themes. He is considered by critics to be a literary maverick, a classic writer and a masterful stylist. He is also an avid collector of vintage typewriters. He won a European Literature Prize for The Guard, and the AKO Literatuurprijs for Post Mortem.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782066170
  • Publication date: 01 Oct 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
MacLehose Press

John Law

James Buchan
Authors:
James Buchan
MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales

"Perhaps the worst thing about war is the peace that follows . . ."Winds of the Night is the follow-up, published almost thirty years later, to Joan Sales' acclaimed masterwork of the Spanish Civil War, Uncertain Glory.It describes the shell-shocked wasteland that was post-war Catalonia through the eyes of Cruells, a Republican chaplain who survives the war, and completes his theological studies only to lose his faith in a world where it seems all hope has been extinguished.As he struggles to function as a rural priest, his steps are dogged by a ghostly figures from his past, such as Lamoneda, a fascist agent provocateur who now hobnobs with Himmler and misses few opportunities to turn the febrile post-war atmosphere to his financial advantage. Against his wishes, Creulls is drawn into obsessive dialogues about the war in which only lunacy prevails, for Lamoneda seems to hold the key to the whereabouts of an old friend - the mercurial Juli Soleràs, whose charisma, for all his betrayals, still holds Cruells in thrall.An essential coda to the modern classic that is Uncertain Glory, Winds of the Night is a Beckettian vision of the traumas of combatants and country hidden beneath the rhetoric of the victors.Translated from the Catalan by Peter Bush

MacLehose Press

Monte Carlo

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin
Quercus

You, Me and Him

Alice Peterson
Authors:
Alice Peterson
Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Will Nancy dare to risk a second chance at love with a man her family and friends tell her is totally unsuitable? Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans.Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

MacLehose Press

In the Café of Lost Youth

Patrick Modiano
Authors:
Patrick Modiano
riverrun

The Death of Rex Nhongo

C. B. George
Authors:
C. B. George
Quercus

The Wrong Girl

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
riverrun

F

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann

Quercus

Beautiful Ever After

Katie Piper
Authors:
Katie Piper
riverrun

Breaking Light

Karin Altenberg
Authors:
Karin Altenberg

riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
Quercus

Summer Lightning

Tamara McKinley
Authors:
Tamara McKinley
riverrun

Red Sky in Morning

Paul Lynch
Authors:
Paul Lynch
MacLehose Press

The Guard

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin

riverrun

Come to the Edge

Joanna Kavenna
Authors:
Joanna Kavenna
riverrun

At the Loch of the Green Corrie

Andrew Greig
Authors:
Andrew Greig

A homage to a remarkable poet and his world.'At The Loch of Green Corrie is more than merely elegant, more than a collection of albeit fascinating insights, laugh-out-loud observations and impressively broad erudition' - Sunday Herald'You could easily make a case that Andrew Greig has the greatest range of any living Scottish writer' - ScotsmanFor many years Andrew Greig saw the poet Norman MacCaig as a father figure. Months before his death, MacCaig's enigmatic final request to Greig was that he fish for him at the Loch of the Green Corrie; the location, even the real name of his destination was more mysterious still. His search took in days of outdoor living, meetings, and fishing with friends in the remote hill lochs of far North-West Scotland. It led, finally, to the waters of the Green Corrie, which would come to reflect Greig's own life, his thoughts on poetry, geology and land ownership in the Highlands and the ambiguous roles of whisky, love and male friendship. At the Loch of the Green Corrie is a richly atmospheric narrative, a celebration of losing and recovering oneself in a unique landscape, the consideration of a particular culture, and a homage to a remarkable poet and his world.

riverrun

Me and Kaminski

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann

A wryly comic account of a career in meltdown, from the author of Measuring the World'An accessible and humorous road trip into the worlds of art and journalism, satirising both' - New StatesmanSebastian Zollner is set on writing the biography of the painter Manuel Kaminski. Yet Kaminski - once a pupil of Matisse, now an ailing recluse - is not the kind of character to willingly embrace such a project. And Zollner - inept, charmless, and with scant knowledge of art history - is hardly the man to undertake it. So it's a good job Sebastian has an ace up his sleeve, and that Kaminski will have little choice in the matter... Half road novel, half satire on the contemporary art scene, Kaminski and Me is a wryly humorous meditation on art, memory, and identity.

Quercus

Names My Sisters Call Me

Megan Crane
Authors:
Megan Crane

Wayne Macauley

Wayne Macauley is the author of two other novels and a collection of short stories. He lives in Melbourne.