Tamara McKinley - Spindrift - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786480002
    • Publication date:02 Nov 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784292638
    • Publication date:09 Mar 2017

Spindrift

By Tamara McKinley

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

An epic emotional journey about love and sacrifice set between the magical Isle of Skye and the promising new frontier of distant Tasmania.

An epic emotional journey about love and sacrifice set between the magical Isle of Skye and the promising new frontier of distant Tasmania.

'Oh, how magnificent,' Christy's granddaughter breathed as the ferry followed a curve in the water and they had a clear view of Dunvegan Castle at the end of the loch. 'It's like a fairy-tale castle.' She turned to Christy, her face radiant. 'How does it feel to be home again after all this time?' Christy felt the tears prick and gathered the tartan shawl closer, her gaze avoiding the hated castle and all it stood for. 'I don't know whether to laugh or cry,' she confessed. 'I've seen so many changes already that I'm almost frightened of what I'll find when we arrive . . .'

1905. Christy has always dreamed of making the journey from her home in Tasmania back to the wild and beautiful Scottish island where she was born - the Isle of Skye, nicknamed 'cloud island' by the Old Norse people - to once again lay eyes on the tumbling waterfalls and dramatic coastlines of her homeland. And now, in her sixty-fifth year, Christy has finally decided to go, her mistrustful daughter Anne and beloved granddaughter Kathryn acting as companions. But what Anne and Kathryn don't realise is that Christy's past is darker and more textured than they could know, and that in returning to Skye they will unearth bittersweet memories long-buried - memories that will ultimately change the course of the three women's lives forever.

Biographical Notes

Tamara McKinley is the author of more than twelve novels. She was born in Tasmania, but now lives in Sussex and writes full time. She also writes Sunday Times top-ten bestselling novels under the name Ellie Dean.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782066675
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Quercus
An enthralling cross-generational story from popular author Tamara McKinley. A warm and welcoming read — Lancashire Evening Post on Echoes from Afar
An elegant affair from the get-go — Irish Sunday Independent on Echoes From Afar
An entertaining tale of love and loss — France Magazine
Jo Fletcher Books

The Pyramid Wish

Tom Fletcher
Authors:
Tom Fletcher

riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

'Neil Spring is Agatha Christie meets James Herbert' STEPHEN VOLK It was a victimless crime... Estate Agent Clara is struggling to make a sale. With her abusive ex-husband on the brink of finding where she's hiding, she needs to make a commission soon or lose her chance to escape. Boleskine House on the shores of Loch Ness has remained unsold for years, and Clara is sure that an 'innocent' fire will force the price down. But the perfect crime soon turns into the perfect nightmare: there was a witness, a stranger in the village, and he's not going to let Clara get away with it that easily...(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The new thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl Before.

MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat

A masterpiece of literary craft and concision; sparse, beautiful and hugely affecting - Daily MailSince the liberation of the Netherlands, Emma Verweij has been living in Rotterdam, in a street which became a stronghold of friendships for its inhabitants during the Second World War. She marries Bruno, they have two sons, and she determines to block out the years she spent in Nazi Berlin during the war, with her first husband Carl. But now, ninety-six years old and on the eve of her death, long- forgotten memories crowd again into her consciousness, flashbacks of happier years, and the tragedy of the war, of Carl, of her father, and of the friends she has lost. In The Longest Night, his impressive, reflective new novel after News from Berlin, Otto de Kat deftly distils momentous events of 20th-century history into the lives of his characters. In Emma, the past and the present coincide in limpid fragments of rare, melancholy beauty.Translated from the Dutch by Laura Watkinson

Jo Fletcher Books

The Everness Series

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
Jo Fletcher Books

The Doctor Thomas Bond Omnibus

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
Quercus

The Genius Test

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

Five Get Gran Online

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Animals

Dr Keith Laidler
Authors:
Dr Keith Laidler

From sponges to spiny ant eaters, brine shrimps to bonobos, Animals allows you to witness some of the most astonishing wonders of the natural world in spectacular detailEmbark on an incredible journey through the dizzying diversity, complexity and majesty of the Animal Kingdom. Discover how primitive slime fungi cells coalesce and function for a time as a single animal, or witness the millions of Monarch butterflies that aggregate on trees in Mexico. Meet the Coelacanth fish thought to be extinct for millions of years, or Microcebus - the newly discovered mouse lemur and the world's smallest primate. Organised according to the scientific classification of animals (orders, families, genus, species), each chapter focuses on a different family of animals, starting with an introductory essay on the evolution, diversity, behaviour, habitats, conservation, etc. Subsequent pages showcase a broad selection of the most interesting, exotic, unusual, endangered, beautiful, specific animals within that group. Animals combines over 350 amazing giant-sized images taken by the world's best wildlife photographers with the latest scientific and zoological research on the natural history and conservation status of hundreds of animals. From nature lovers to conservationists, wildlife watchers to budding zoologists, Animals is the ideal reference that will entertain, inform and enthrall readers of all ages.Animals combines over 350 amazing giant-sized images taken by the world's best wildlife photographers with the latest scientific and zoological research on the natural history and conservation status of hundreds of animals.

Quercus

How To Understand E =mc²

Christophe Galfard
Authors:
Christophe Galfard
Quercus

Hubble

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

To Siri, With Love

Judith Newman
Authors:
Judith Newman
Quercus

The Wardrobe Mistress

Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans

From the award-winning author of The Dress Thief comes a love story set in the glittering world of London theatre. Perfect for fans of Gill Paul and Lucinda Riley.London 1945. A young war widow steps aboard a train in search of a new life. Clutching the key to a mysterious inheritance, Vanessa Kingcourt can no longer resist the pull of the old Farren Theatre - an enchanted place seeped in memories of her actor father.Now owned by troubled former captain Alistair Redenhall, The Farren is in need of a Wardrobe Mistress and a new lease of life. With no experience and no budget for supplies, Vanessa must use her intuition to create beautiful costumes from whatever scraps of silk and thread survived the blitz. It's a seemingly impossible task, but a welcome distraction as she struggles to resist her blossoming feelings for Alistair.What Vanessa discovers could unravel family secrets sewn deep into the very fabric of the London theatre scene . . . but will she repeat the same terrible mistakes her father made? And can she dare to love a man who will never be hers?

Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Quercus

Mata Hari

Michelle Moran
Authors:
Michelle Moran

From the internationally bestselling author of Nefertiti comes a captivating novel about the infamous Mata Hari, exotic dancer, adored courtesan, and, possibly, infamous spy.Paris, 1917. The notorious dancer Mata Hari sits in a cold cell awaiting freedom . . . or death. Alone and despondent, Mata Hari is as confused as the rest of the world about the charges she's been arrested on: treason leading to the deaths of thousands of French soldiers.As Mata Hari waits for her fate to be decided, she relays the story of her life to a reporter who is allowed to visit her in prison. Beginning with her carefree childhood, Mata Hari recounts her father's cruel abandonment of her family as well her calamitous marriage to a military officer. Taken to the island of Java, Mata Hari refuses to be ruled by her abusive husband and instead learns to dance, paving the way to her stardom as Europe's most infamous exotic dancer.From lush Indian temples and glamorous Parisian theatres to stark German barracks in war-torn Europe, Moran brings to vibrant life the famed world of Mata Hari: dancer, courtesan, and possibly, spy.

Heron Books

The Invisible Cross

Andrew Davidson
Authors:
Andrew Davidson

'Padre McShane says the reason I was not given a Brigade was for being so outspoken at Loos. He said that if that were so, I wear the invisible cross of military glory.'Colonel Graham Chaplin, commander of 1st Cameronians, wrote letters from the trenches almost daily to the wife he had married just before the war began. Even if he had no time to write, he would at least send a postcard to reassure her he was 'Quite well'. These personal and loving letters give a rare insight into the mind of a serving officer, his worries about his men and his family back home, his concern for the progress of the war (however cautiously phrased) and his comments on the growing list of friends dead or wounded.Most startling of all though, these letter finally reveal the shocking truth of why it was that a man endorsed by so many of his fellow officers, and respected and trusted by his men, wasn't promoted out of the trenches until 1917 -the only officer to whom this happened.Andrew Davidson, author of the highly praised Fred's War, analyses Chaplin's unique status and weaves around his letters a fascinating portrait of a soldier's life and of the war on the Western Front.

Quercus

50 Wonders of the World

Hugh Thomson
Authors:
Hugh Thomson