Tamara McKinley - Spindrift - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784292638
    • Publication date:09 Mar 2017

Spindrift

By Tamara McKinley

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

An epic emotional journey about love and sacrifice set between the magical Isle of Skye and the promising new frontier of distant Tasmania.

An epic emotional journey about love and sacrifice set between the magical Isle of Skye and the promising new frontier of distant Tasmania.

'Oh, how magnificent,' Christy's granddaughter breathed as the ferry followed a curve in the water and they had a clear view of Dunvegan Castle at the end of the loch. 'It's like a fairy-tale castle.' She turned to Christy, her face radiant. 'How does it feel to be home again after all this time?' Christy felt the tears prick and gathered the tartan shawl closer, her gaze avoiding the hated castle and all it stood for. 'I don't know whether to laugh or cry,' she confessed. 'I've seen so many changes already that I'm almost frightened of what I'll find when we arrive . . .'

1905. Christy has always dreamed of making the journey from her home in Tasmania back to the wild and beautiful Scottish island where she was born - the Isle of Skye, nicknamed 'cloud island' by the Old Norse people - to once again lay eyes on the tumbling waterfalls and dramatic coastlines of her homeland. And now, in her sixty-fifth year, Christy has finally decided to go, her mistrustful daughter Anne and beloved granddaughter Kathryn acting as companions. But what Anne and Kathryn don't realise is that Christy's past is darker and more textured than they could know, and that in returning to Skye they will unearth bittersweet memories long-buried - memories that will ultimately change the course of the three women's lives forever.

Biographical Notes

Tamara McKinley is the author of more than twelve novels. She was born in Tasmania, but now lives in Sussex and writes full time. She also writes Sunday Times top-ten bestselling novels under the name Ellie Dean.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782066675
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Quercus
An enthralling cross-generational story from popular author Tamara McKinley. A warm and welcoming read — Lancashire Evening Post on Echoes from Afar
An elegant affair from the get-go — Irish Sunday Independent on Echoes From Afar
An entertaining tale of love and loss — France Magazine
Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave

The perfect afterlife, or a living nightmare?Isobel has it all: her dream job, the immaculate home and a steady relationship. Life, and even death, are completely under her control. For Isobel's generation death no longer means oblivion, thanks to firms like her employer, Oakley Associates. Isobel is their top heaven architect, crafting perfect afterlives for her clients built from the memories they treasure most.Then Isobel meets handsome client, Jarek. Her disciplined life gives way to something passionate and extreme, and Isobel jeopardises everything to embark on an affair with a terminally-ill - and married - man.When Jarek posthumously becomes the prime suspect in a murder that took place before his death, Isobel is forced to prove his innocence. Jarek's afterlife faces termination if the real culprit cannot be found. But as Isobel stumbles upon the darker side of the work she so passionately believes in, she can trust no one with what she finds.Set in the near-future, this thrilling and original story vaults the reader into a world that is terrifyingly close to our own, where we can avoid everything we fear - even death itself. But can we ever escape the truth?

Quercus

More Than a Feeling

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods

'Cate Woods is laugh-out-loud funny and life affirming' Closer. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart. In her twenties, Annie Taylor was sorted: she had her dream job, an amazing social life and was happily single. She had bags of confidence and played up her likeness to a young Barbra Streisand in turbans and winged eyeliner. Annie knew exactly who she was, and her future looked bright and full of adventures.Life, however, hasn't turned out quite how she expected. Now Annie is living with her boyfriend Luke and is a stay-at-home mum to their baby daughter, Dot. The promising career has petered out, and with it her confidence and creativity. And when Luke does the unforgivable, Annie finds herself suddenly, terrifyingly, on her own. With the help of her group of loyal friends, Annie faces the challenge of trying to reconcile the glamorous, carefree Annie of old with the knackered mum-of-one she sees in the mirror today. Is old Annie gone forever, or could this finally be the chance to find herself once more?

riverrun

The Secret of Vesalius

Jordi Llobregat
Authors:
Jordi Llobregat
Quercus

Without a Word

Kate McQuaile
Authors:
Kate McQuaile

I was there when it happened. I watched her disappear.An emotional psychological drama from the author of the critically acclaimed novel What She Never Told Me.Lillian had phoned telling her to get Skype up and running. 'I have so much to tell you'. Lillian was wearing a white bathrobe and she was in for the evening. Then, suddenly, the knock on the door. 'Sorry Orla, I'd better see who it is' she said, getting up from the sofa. Orla waited. But the seconds became minutes. She didn't know how long she waited before she realised that something terrible had happened.For more than a decade, Lillian's mysterious disappearance has remained unsolved, and Orla has found it impossible to move on. Then she receives an unexpected visit from Ned Moynihan, the Dublin detective who led the original investigation into Lillian's vanishing. Moynihan has been receiving anonymous notes accusing him of having failed to investigate the case properly. He assumes the notes are coming from Orla. Yet Orla knows nothing of these letters - is somebody trying to tell them the truth about what really happened to Lillian that night?

Quercus

The Lost Village

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
Quercus

The Wardrobe Mistress

Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans
riverrun

Blackwater

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry
Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Jo Fletcher Books

City of Miracles

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett
MacLehose Press

The Awkward Squad

Sophie Hénaff
Authors:
Sophie Hénaff

Suspended from her job as a promising police officer for firing "one bullet too many", Anne Capestan is expecting the worst when she is summoned to H.Q. to learn her fate. Instead, she is surprised to be told that she is to head up a new police squad, working on solving old cold cases.Though relieved to still have a job, Capestan is not overjoyed by the prospect of her new role. Even less so when she meets her new team: a crowd of misfits, troublemakers and problem cases, none of whom are fit for purpose and yet none of whom can be fired.But from this inauspicious start, investigating the cold cases throws up a number a number of strange mysteries for Capestan and her team: was the old lady murdered seven years ago really just the victim of a botched robbery? Who was behind the dead sailor discovered in the Seine with three gunshot wounds? And why does there seem to be a curious link with a ferry that was shipwrecked off the Florida coast many years previously?Translated from the French by Sam Gordon

Quercus

The Reading Group: April (Book 4)

Della Parker
Authors:
Della Parker
Quercus

The Little Theatre by the Sea

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Quercus

Beneath the Surface

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From top-ten Irish bestselling author Jo Spain comes the second novel in the Inspector Tom Reynolds seriesDid I know it would come to this? That I was playing Russian Roulette? I would give anything to turn back time and to be with my girls. There is no shot at redemption. I am going to die. The gun is in my eye-line as the second bullet is fired. That's the one that kills me.Late at night, two powerful men meet in a secret location to discuss a long nurtured plan about to come to fruition. One is desperate to know there is nothing standing in their way - the other assures him everything is taken care of. Hours later, a high-ranking government official called Ryan Finnegan is brutally slain in the most secure building in Ireland - Leinster House, the seat of parliament. Inspector Tom Reynolds and his team are called in to uncover the truth behind the murder.At first, all the evidence hints at a politically motivated crime, until a surprise discovery takes the investigation in a dramatically different direction. Suddenly the motive for murder has got a lot more personal. . . but who benefits the most from Ryan's death?

Quercus

The Hanging Girl

Jussi Adler-Olsen
Authors:
Jussi Adler-Olsen
Quercus

The Canary Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Night in Question

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
Quercus

With Our Blessing

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

THE TOP TEN IRISH BESTSELLER. Shortlisted for the 2015 Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition. Discover more DI Tom Reynolds with the next book in the series, Beneath the Surface.It's true what they say . . . revenge is sweet.1975. A baby, minutes old, is forcibly taken from its devastated mother.2010. The body of an elderly woman is found in a Dublin public park in the depths of winter.Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds is working the case. He's convinced the murder is linked to historical events that took place in the notorious Magdalene Laundries. Reynolds and his team follow the trail to an isolated convent in the Irish countryside. But once inside, it becomes disturbingly clear that the killer is amongst them . . . and is determined to exact further vengeance for the sins of the past.

MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Played With Fire

Stieg Larsson
Authors:
Stieg Larsson

Lisbeth Salander is a wanted woman. Two Millennium journalists about to expose the truth about sex trafficking in Sweden are murdered, and Salander's prints are on the weapon. Her history of unpredictable and vengeful behaviour makes her an official danger to society - but no-one can find her. Mikael Blomkvist, Millennium magazine's legendary star reporter, does not believe the police. Using all his magazine staff and resources to prove Salander's innocence, Blomkvist also uncovers her terrible past, spent in criminally corrupt institutions. Yet Salander is more avenging angel than helpless victim. She may be an expert at staying out of sight - but she has ways of tracking down her most elusive enemies.

MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest

Stieg Larsson
Authors:
Stieg Larsson

Salander is plotting her revenge - against the man who tried to kill her, and against the government institutions that very nearly destroyed her life. But it is not going to be a straightforward campaign. After taking a bullet to the head, Salander is under close supervision in Intensive Care, and is set to face trial for three murders and one attempted murder on her eventual release. With the help of journalist Mikael Blomkvist and his researchers at Millennium magazine, Salander must not only prove her innocence, but identify and denounce the corrupt politicians that have allowed the vulnerable to become victims of abuse and violence. Once a victim herself, Salander is now ready to fight back.

MacLehose Press

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Stieg Larsson
Authors:
Stieg Larsson