Alok Jha - 50 Ways the World Could End - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782061724
    • Publication date:27 Oct 2011

50 Ways the World Could End

The Doomsday Handbook

By Alok Jha

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A brilliantly readable and entertaining guide to the 50 biggest threats facing our planet.

Death by Euphoria.
Dysgenics.
Population Death Spiral.
Genetic Superhumans.
Geomagnetic Reversal.
Galactic Collision.
Strangelets.

Whether we like it or not, everything's going to come to a pretty unpleasant halt on our planet at some point in the future. What we don't know is what form our extinction is likely to take. In this accessible and entertaining book, acclaimed writer Alok Jha explains the head-spinning apocalyptic science behind 50 horrifying doomsday scenarios.

Biographical Notes

Alok Jha is a science and environment correspondent at the Guardian newspaper, specialising in green technologies. In addition to writing news and comment, he presents the Science Weekly podcast and looks after the Guardian's science website. He graduated with a physics degree from Imperial College London and is also the author of How to Live Forever. He lives in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782069461
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Quercus
riverrun

Home-Grown

Joan Smith
Authors:
Joan Smith

Terrorism begins at home. In the debate about what makes a terrorist, a striking common factor has been long overlooked - a history of domestic violence. From the Manchester bomber, who was known to police for assaulting a woman, to the London Bridge attackers, who abused their wives, mothers and sisters, the portrait is shockingly clear. Terrorism is seen as a special category of crime that has blinded us to the obvious - that it is, almost always, male violence. It belongs alongside cases such as the Finsbury Park Mosque attacker and the Florida school shooter - privately abusive men whose public outbursts cost lives. The Charlie Hebdo killers provide a further insight, into the role of childhood trauma in developing violent behaviour. But the greatest proof lies in ISIS, who deliberately recruit youths who have been indoctrinated into cruelty and rape. It's the world's biggest boys' gang.Until Joan Smith's radical outcry in 2017 criminal authorities missed this link, because violence against women is dangerously normalised. Yet, since domestic abuse often comes before a public attack, it's here a solution to the scourge of our age might be found. Home-Grown is not just a book - it's a manifesto. Joan Smith has researched the backgrounds of terrorists across the UK, Europe and the US. With scouring perception, she sets out a course of action that could transform the way we counteract domestic abuse and save lives.

Quercus

The Price of Paradise

Iain Overton
Authors:
Iain Overton
Jo Fletcher Books

Foundryside

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett
Quercus

To Siri, With Love

Judith Newman
Authors:
Judith Newman
Quercus

The Brain in Minutes

Rita Carter
Authors:
Rita Carter

The brain is considered the most complex structure in all of creation. But recent discoveries in neuroscience are now revealing the inner secrets of the brain - how it works, why it makes us who we are and what happens when it goes wrong. This cutting-edge and comprehensive guide explains why the human brain became so clever; how it controls everything from breathing, sleeping and seeing to identity, imagination, pleasure and pain; and what will happen when the brain integrates with computers or the latest genetic discoveries. Award-winning science writer Rita Carter also demystifies amnesia, multiple personalities, psychopathy, dreaming, hallucinations, addiction, autism, dyslexia, schizophrenia, dementia, and numerous other conditions of the mind.The Brain in Minutes covers: the origin and anatomy of the brain; control of the body; mood and emotions; perception; consciousness; memory and learning; personality; intelligence and other higher functions; language; strange states of the mind; malfunctions, disease and treatments; and the future of the brain. It also includes 200 high-tech scans, images and diagrams that detail and explain the structure and workings of the amazing human brain.

Quercus

The Genius Test

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

How To Understand E =mc²

Christophe Galfard
Authors:
Christophe Galfard
Quercus

Quantum Physics in Minutes

Gemma Lavender
Authors:
Gemma Lavender
Quercus

The Human Body in Minutes

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson
MacLehose Press

A Sense of the Beginning

Norbert Gstrein
Authors:
Norbert Gstrein

A poignant novel of political-religious awakening by one of Germany's literary starsAn anonymous phone call, an unattended bag discovered in the station of a small Austrian town, a piece of paper saying, "Repent!" and "Next time it will be for real!" A C.C.T.V. image of a young man. What was it that made the teacher think it was his old student, Daniel?Ten years earlier Daniel had spent time with the teacher in his remote house by the river. The town had talked. Anton had recently returned from two years teaching in Istanbul - he was unsettled, subversive, solitary. Daniel was on the brink of adulthood - idealistic, unrequitedly in love with Judith, vulnerable to influence. Those summer weeks by the river were an idyll. But did they also sow the seeds of Daniel's later obsessiveness, his biblical attitudes, his political dogmatism? As the bomb threat excites the community with all the tension of a witch hunt, and Anton himself becomes a focus for suspicion and gossip, he anatomises his memories of the preceding decade. What went wrong for Daniel, and could he have stopped it?

Quercus

50 Ideas You Really Need to Know: Universe

Joanne Baker
Authors:
Joanne Baker

Quercus

Retribution

Steffen Jacobsen
Authors:
Steffen Jacobsen

On a warm Autumn afternoon, Tivoli Gardens - Denmark's largest amusement park - is devastated by a terrorist attack. 1,241 people are killed. The unknown bomber is blown to bits; the security forces have no leads. One year later, the nation is still reeling, and those behind the attack are still at large. Amidst the increasingly frustrated police force, Superintendent Lene Jensen is suffering the effects of tragedy closer to home. Everyone is aware the terrorists may soon strike again. Then Lene receives a strange call. A young desperate Muslim woman needs her help, but by the time Lene reaches her she's already dead - supposedly suicide. Already suspicious, Lene's initial investigations suggest that the woman was unknowingly part of a secret services research project. Silenced by her superiors, Lene turns to her old ally Michael Sander to dig deeper. But with even her allies increasingly adamant her actions are a risk to national security, Lene begins to understand that finding the truth might be the most dangerous thing of all.

Quercus

Poisoned Ground

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Quercus

The Third Testament

Christopher Galt
Authors:
Christopher Galt

'Michael Crichton meets The Matrix' Daily Mail Previously published as Biblical. An apocalyptic, mind-melting thriller on an epic scale that will make you question your own reality and even your sanity.What would you do if you found out that your future had already happened? All around the world, people start to see things that aren't there, that cannot be. Visions, ghosts, events from the past playing out in the present. To start with, the visions are unremarkable: things misplaced in time and caught out of the corner of the eye; glimpses of long-dead family or friends. But, as time goes on, the visions become more sustained, more vivid, more widespread. More terrifying. As the visions become truly apocalyptic, some turn to religion, others to science. Only one man, driven by personal as well as professional reasons, is capable of finding the real truth. But the truth that psychiatrist John Macbeth uncovers is much, much bigger than either religion or science. A truth so big it could cost him his sanity. And his life.

Heron Books

The Incredible Unlikeliness of Being

Alice Roberts
Authors:
Alice Roberts
MacLehose Press

Arab Jazz

Karim Miské
Authors:
Karim Miské

Quercus

Numericon

Marianne Freiberger, Rachel Thomas
Authors:
Marianne Freiberger, Rachel Thomas

Quercus

50 Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know

Joanne Baker
Authors:
Joanne Baker
Quercus

Is There Life On Mars?

Stuart Clark
Authors:
Stuart Clark
Jo Fletcher Books

Limit

Frank Schätzing
Authors:
Frank Schätzing

Perfect for fans of Neal Stephenson and Peter F. Hamilton, an epic science-fiction novel from Germany's most successful thriller writer. The first space elevator connects the Earth to the Moon, prompting abreathless race between the Americans and Chinese to get to the Moon's helium-3 - the rare element that promises to solve all the world's energy problems. In Shanghai, cyber-detective Owen Jericho has been hired to find Yoyo, a missing girl, but what started as a routine investigation soon develops into a nightmarish hunt. There's a crazed assassin hot on his heels, all because Yoyo accidentally stumbled onto a secret society called Hydra - and now it's not just her life at risk. Following the Hydra trail takes Jericho and Yoyo round the world and finally to the Gaia, the Moon's very first hotel, where a billionaire entrepreneur is entertaining some of the world's richest and most influential men and women But the secret society that is Hydra has its own plans for the Earth - and the Moon. And nothing and no one will be allowed to stand in its way.