Debra Daley - The Revelations of Carey Ravine - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782069942
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2016
  • Hardback £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782069935
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784291860
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784295486
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2016

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

By Debra Daley

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn.

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn.

London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for sale - including entrée into the ruling class.

Making their way in this buccaneering society are Carey Ravine, a spirited young woman of enigmatic background, and her husband, the charming, endlessly enterprising Oliver Nash. Carey and Nash share a historic connection to India and a desperate ambition to better themselves. But as Nash's plans draw them into a restless association of gamblers and secret societies, Carey begins to question what's really hidden behind the seedy glamour of their lives. Her unease grows with the appearance of a mysterious man whose appearance unearths a troubling secret from the past. Carey finds herself forced to investigate the truth behind the stranger's claims­­ - and to confront her own illusions about herself.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782069966
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Quercus
I marvelled at this novel. Gripping, assured and powerfully atmospheric; you know at once you are in the hands of a master storyteller — Rowan Pelling, on Turning the Stones
A glorious, intricate period romance: a perfect mix of Georgian high society blended with wild Irish magic. Em is a feisty heroine and the denoument is as perfect as it is unexpected — Manda Scott, on Turning the Stones
Gripping, tautly plotted and hauntingly beautiful: Debra Daley is a writer to watch — Vanora Bennett, on Turning the Stones
An enjoyable melodrama involving a stolen child, boorish brutes intent on ravishing the heroine, a woman with a gift of second sight and a rakish smuggler — Sunday Times on Turning the Stones
[A] tightly plotted, fun novel — Times
MacLehose Press

A Snake Lies Waiting

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
riverrun

Three Hours

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Quercus

Unfollow Me

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
MacLehose Press

The Carrier

Mattias Berg
Authors:
Mattias Berg

The man with the nuclear briefcase has gone rogue - Mission Impossible meets the Hunt for Red October "I don't think I have read such a philosophical, knowledge-studded and realistic adventure novel since Umberto Eco's The Name of the Rose" Göteborgs-PostenErasmus Levine has a job like no other He travels with the President of the United States at all times, and holds in his hands the power to obliterate life as we know it. He is the man with the nuclear briefcase, part of a crack team of top-secret operatives established after 9/11, led by a man codenamed Edelweiss. But not even Edelweiss is party to the identity of their ultimate authority, known only as Alpha.Erasmus Levine has a secretFor years he has been receiving cryptic messages from Alpha, an elaborate communication that began with the words we two against the world. Levine begins thinking of escape: his chance comes during an official visit to Sweden, when the alarm sounds in Stockholm's Grand Hotel.But Alpha has other plansFrom their first meeting in a network of tunnels and bunkers beneath the city, Levine is drawn into a plan to eliminate the world's nuclear arsenals. But is controlled demolition really the endgame? Could he be working towards a controlled apocalypse, a doomsday plot to wipe humanity from the face of the earth?Translated from the Swedish by George Goulding

riverrun

Tiger

Polly Clark
Authors:
Polly Clark
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim

'An Ocean of Minutes is that rare thing - a speculative novel that is as heartfelt as it is philosophical. An original and compelling novel unlike anything you'll read this year' Esi Edugyan, author of Washington BlackA heartbreaking and timely novel about courage, yearning, the cost of holding onto the past - and the price of letting it go. Polly and Frank are young and in love, a lifetime together before them. But one evening in 1980, as the Texas sun sets over their shoulders, the world is suddenly pulled apart by a deadly virus. Within months, Frank is dying. Polly can save him, but only if she agrees to a radical plan: to time travel to 1993 for a corporation who can fund his life-saving treatment. She can only go forward, she cannot go back. And she must leave everything she loves behind, including Frank.All they have is the promise of a future together: they will find each other again in twelve years' time, in Galveston, Texas, where the sea begins.But when something goes wrong and Polly arrives late, Frank is nowhere to be found. Completely alone, Polly must navigate a terrifying new world to find him, and to discover if their love has endured.SHORTLISTED FOR THE GILLER PRIZE 2018'The clear-eyed, evocative writing here is reminiscent of Margaret Atwood, and anyone familiar with The Handmaid's Tale will find resonance in these pages... a devastating debut'Toronto Star'An Ocean Of Minutes absolutely swept me away' Red Magazine'A profound meditation on the inhumanity of class and the limits of love... This is a story about the malleability of time, but at its core lives something timeless'Omar El Akkad, author of American War

Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

'MARTINA COLE FANS WILL LOVE THIS FAST-PACED THRILLER' SUNDAY MIRRORGangster Kerry Casey has fought her way to the top of the Glasgow crime scene. But can she stay there?Kerry Casey is now a fully-fledged gangland boss. With her business partner Sharon and her wily lawyer Marty at her side, she is busy ridding her organisation of the drug-dealing, people-trafficking scum her dead brother Mickey got them involved with. But her great dream is still to take the Caseys straight.Her plan to turn her organisation around hinges on building a property empire in Spain. But Kerry has some deadly rivals - in Glasgow, on the Costa del Sol, and even further afield. They will never believe she has what it takes to defend her turf, and they won't rest until the Caseys are destroyed.When her enemies strike at the heart of the Casey family, Kerry must prepare for the fight of her life - for her business, her friends and her own survival.

Quercus

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary
Authors:
Beth O'Leary
Quercus

In High Places

J J Holland
Authors:
J J Holland

Ever since the death of his wife, Lina, in a Kabul bombing, Aubrey Savage has been determined to fulfil his promise to her: to find out what happened to her brother, Jarrah, a disavowed MI5 agent who has been missing for two years.An ex-SAS officer, Savage is used to noticing the small things. So when he offers a lift to a terrified runaway bride on the moors, he knows there's more to her story than meets the eye.But when she is snatched away immediately, leaving behind a holdall and a Glock that he recognises to be that of an MI5 agent, he is thrust into a deadly world of corruption, and a threat that's all too close to home...

Quercus

The Lost Son

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith
riverrun

The Dollmaker

Nina Allan
Authors:
Nina Allan
riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava

"Ambitious, affecting, intelligent, plangent, comic, kooky and impassioned. I've read a lot of novels this year, between judging the Man Booker prize and the Granta Best of Young British Novelists, and I've yearned for this kind of exuberant, precise fiction" Stuart Kelly, Guardian on A Naked SingularityIt would take something huge to put Paterson, New Jersey on the map.But Nina Gill is determined to do just that. She is the daughter of the ageing owner of the Dallas Cowboys and the well-kept secret to their success. Shocked when her brother inherits the team, leaving her with the Paterson Pork, New Jersey's only Indoor Football League franchise, she vows to take on the N.F.L. and make her new team the pigskin kings of America.Meanwhile, Nuno DeAngeles - a brilliant criminal mastermind - contrives to be thrown into Rikers Island prison to commit one of the most audacious crimes of all time. Now he's on the inside, he has two good reasons to get out. But how does a person of culture go about breaking out of the penal system when the whole of the land of the free is addicted to keeping him in it?Without knowing it, or ever having met, Nina and Nuno have already had a profound effect on each other's lives. As his bid for freedom and her bid for sporting immortality reach crisis point, their stories converge in the countdown to an epic conclusion. Thrilling, touching, insightful and shockingly hilarious, De La Pava's extraordinary novel gets under the skin and into the minds of a vast cast of characters from the fringes of society - immigrants, exiles and outsiders.

MacLehose Press

Equator

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

A POWERFUL AND PRESCIENT THRILLER FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE.A REPORTER WITH NO FEARJaded Edinburgh journalist Neil Bannerman is sent to Brussels, intent on digging up dirt. Yet it is danger he discovers, when two British men are found murdered.A CHILD WITH NO FATHEROne victim is a journalist, the other a Cabinet Minister: the double-assassination witnessed by the former's autistic daughter. This girl recalls every detail about her father's killer - except for one.THE MAN WITH NO FACEWith the city rocked by the tragedy, Bannerman is compelled to follow his instincts. He is now fighting to expose a murderous conspiracy, protect a helpless child, and unmask a remorseless killer.

MacLehose Press

A Long Night in Paris

Dov Alfon
Authors:
Dov Alfon
Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth

An addictive psychological suspense about ambition, female rivalry, and how far you'd go to get what you want.'A Chilling read with a killer twist' The Sun***********NOWHelena is a career woman with no job and a mother without a baby. She blames Ashley for destroying her life. But is what happened really Ashley's fault?THENWhen Helena hires Ashley to work for her, she's startled but impressed by her fierce ambition. They form a dream team and Helena is proud - maybe this is the protégée she's always wanted to have. But soon Helena realizes that nothing will stand in the way of Ashley's drive to get to the top. And when Helena becomes pregnant, everything she has worked so hard for is suddenly threatened, with devastating consequences...***********'Brilliant and insidious'Lucy Clarke, author of You Let Me In'Absolutely terrific, a beautifully written debut from an exciting new voice in psychological fiction' Cass Green, author of The Woman Next Door and Don't You Cry'A compelling addictive read... I absolutely loved it' Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend'A chilling and compelling debut'Lucy Dawson, author of The Daughter

Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia
riverrun

Astroturf

Matthew Sperling
Authors:
Matthew Sperling
riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke