Claire Dyer - The Moment - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782062837
    • Publication date:12 Sep 2013
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782062844
    • Publication date:12 Sep 2013

The Moment

By Claire Dyer
Read by Anne Dover

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Fern and Elliott have spent twenty-five years apart. They now have twelve hours to decide their future.

Paddington station, nine a.m., rush hour. As the crowds ebb and flow, time suddenly stands still for two people: Fern and Elliott, ex-lovers who parted twenty-five years before and never expected to see each other again.

But here they are, face to face, and the connection is as powerful as it was the day they first met. Their lives have moved on - to marriage, children and divorce - yet neither has stopped regretting the day that drove them apart.

Fern gives Elliott her number and they tentatively arrange to meet again that evening when both will be travelling back through the station. And, as the day ticks on, and the memories resurface, both Fern and Elliott reflect on the past. As their emotions go round in circles, so does the Paddington clock, counting down the minutes to eight p.m. - and the moment the future is in their hands.

(P) 2014 WF Howes Ltd

Biographical Notes

Claire Dyer is a published, prize-winning poet. She is Chairperson of Reading Writers and gives solo and group poetry readings around the UK. She lives outside Reading.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784290054
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Quercus

Anyone for Seconds?

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor
Quercus

The Linda Green Collection

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

Anna Bell Omnibus

Anna Bell
Authors:
Anna Bell
Quercus

And Then It Happened

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

'Linda Green is bloody brilliant!' Amanda Prowse. How would you feel if the only man you'd ever loved was taken away from you? And imagine how he'd feel if he hadn't really been taken away at all - but couldn't find a way to let you know...Mel Taylor was thirteen years old when she found Adam. Twenty years on, they are still blissfully in love. She has everything she ever wished for. But Mel's happiness is spoilt by a secret from their past and a niggling fear that her good fortune can't last forever. Despite her husband Adam's efforts to reassure her that nothing bad is going to happen, Mel can't shake the feeling that good things can't last forever. But what she isn't expecting, is something so terrible that their lives will be changed forever . . .Also available from Linda Green:After I've GoneWhile My Eyes Were ClosedI Did a Bad ThingThings I Wish I'd KnownTen Reasons Not to Fall in LoveAnd available to pre-order now: The Last Thing She Told Me

Quercus

Adventures in Modern Marriage

William Nicholson
Authors:
William Nicholson
Quercus

The Lovers of Amherst

William Nicholson
Authors:
William Nicholson

Passion and poetry: two love stories intertwine - a true historical one and an imagined contemporary one, both intimately connected with Emily Dickinson's life.In 1881 a young married couple, Mabel and David Todd, arrive in stuffy Amherst, Massachusetts. He will take up a post at Amherst College; she will embark on an affair that rocks the town. Emily Dickinson's brother is the College's Treasurer, Austin Dickinson, a respected citizen of the town and a married man with three children. Austin's sister Emily lives as a recluse in the house next-door to Austin. Over the months that follow the Todds' arrival, Austin falls passionately in love with Mabel, and she with him. In the present day, Alice Dickinson, 24 years old, seeks to escape her copy-writing job and make a living as a screenwriter. She takes a short holiday to Amherst to research a screenplay on a story that has fascinated her since college days, where a love of Emily Dickinson's poems was triggered by the coincidence of her own surname.The story is the illicit love affair between Austin Dickinson and Mabel Todd. As she researches one love affair taking place under the watchful eye of Emily Dickinson, Alice embarks on a passionate liaison of her own, and the novel interweaves the stories of these two loves, illuminating both past and present in the process.

Quercus

Breaking the Limits

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs

The second in a sumptuous series starring Rafe Contini and the object of his desire: Nicole Parrish, niece of Dominic Knight, the infamous hero of CC Gibbs' bestselling Knight trilogy.Rafe Contini, young billionaire CEO, is on holiday with his girlfriend, Nicole Parrish.He owns the private island in the Adriatic. And it promises to be a week to remember . . . except for fact that he has a war on his hands - fallout from a massive cyber attack on his company's systems. He should send Nicole home - he shouldn't even have brought her here. Every moment she stays, the danger increases. With time running out for them to be together, Rafe and Nicole's passion blossoms. They want every embrace - every sensation - to matter. To be brighter and sharper, so if everything is lost, their time together will never fade.Somewhere deep down, where it hurts to even think about it, Rafe and Nicole want a miracle. They want forever.

Heron Books

Love Notes for Freddie

Eva Rice
Authors:
Eva Rice

Marnie FitzPatrick is a reclusive sixth-former from Hertfordshire with a dysfunctional family, a penchant for Pythagoras' Theorem and an addiction to doughnuts and gin. Julie Crewe is a disillusioned maths teacher who lives vicariously through the girls she teaches, yet who once danced barefoot through Central Park with a man called Jo she has never been able to forget. This is the story of what happened in the summer of 1969, when the sun burned down on the roof of the Shredded Wheat factory, and a boy called Freddie Friday danced to the records he had stolen. This is about first love, and last love, and all the strange stuff in between. This is what happens when three people are bound together by something that can't be calculated or explained by any equation. This is what happened when they saw the open door.

Quercus

Don't Tell the Brides-to-Be

Anna Bell
Authors:
Anna Bell

Quercus

The Honeymoon Hotel

Hester Browne
Authors:
Hester Browne
Quercus

The Perfect Affair

Claire Dyer
Authors:
Claire Dyer

What happens if you fall in love with the wrong person? Rose knows only too well the exhilaration and devastation of loving a married man. So she watches with a keen eye as Eve - her closest companion, the granddaughter she never had - meets Myles, the new tenant in her downstairs flat. Quietly and softly and against the backdrop of their own unsatisfactory marriages, Myles and Eve fall in love and, as they try to have the perfect affair like Rose did before them, they come to learn about the pain of lost opportunities, to decide whether it is ever better to follow your head or your heart, to know what it is to be torn between love and duty.

Quercus

Falling for Gatsby

Claire Dyer
Authors:
Claire Dyer

When Lucas saves Martha from falling down the steps of the cinema after a screening of The Great Gatsby, it ignites an attraction between them that is as compelling as it is forbidden. Throughout their subsequent affair the lovers become entranced by the classic story that first brought them together and, during their rare and precious afternoons together, Lucas reads Martha extracts from the book. However, as with Gatsby and Daisy's relationship, Martha and Lucas' meetings are fraught with danger and uncertainty. Is their love affair destined to mirror the course of the novel, or is there another way for this story to end?

Quercus

The List

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri
Quercus

Amelia Grey's Fireside Dream

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements
Quercus

Vivien's Heavenly Ice Cream Shop

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements

'Deliciously romantic. A perfect summer read!' Miranda Dickinson. Discover this feel-good bestseller set by the sea, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas and Cathy Bramley. When Imogen and Anna unexpectedly inherit their grandmother Vivien's ice cream parlour, it turns both their lives upside-down. The Brighton shop is a seafront institution, but while it's big on charm it's critically low on customers. If the sisters don't turn things around quickly, their grandmother's legacy will disappear forever. With summer looming, Imogen and Anna devise a plan to return Vivien's to its former glory. Rather than sell up, they will train up, and make the parlour the newest destination on the South Coast foodie map. While Imogen watches the shop, her sister flies to Italy to attend a gourmet ice cream-making course. But as she works shoulder-to-shoulder with some of the best chefs in the industry, Anna finds that romance can bloom in the most unexpected of places...

Quercus

The Secret Intensity of Everyday Life

William Nicholson
Authors:
William Nicholson

Laura is content enough with her marriage, two children and part-time job. That is, until a lover from her past comes back into her life. Suddenly passion and excitement are rekindled, and she realises how stagnant her life has become. But how much happiness has she a right to expect? Unknown to Laura, many others in her Sussex village are living with their own unresolved inner dramas. None of them guesses at her crisis. Yet every decision they take has an impact on those around them. The hidden longings of a large cast of characters interweave in a gripping plot that reveals ordinary life at its richest : comic and tragic, poignant and cruel, surprising and moving - and brilliantly entertaining.

Lucy Cruickshanks

Lucy Cruickshanks' love of travel inspires her writing. A great fan of the underdog, she's drawn to countries with troubled recent histories, writing about periods of time when societies are at their most precarious and fraught with risk. She's fascinated by their uniqueness and moral ambiguity, and in capturing the people who must navigate them.Her debut novel, The Trader of Saigon, began life after she sat beside a man on a flight who made his fortune selling women. It was shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award and the Guardian Not The Booker Prize, longlisted for the Waverton Goodread Award and named a Top Ten Book of 2013 by The Bookbag.Lucy was born in 1984 and raised in Cornwall, UK. She holds a BA in Politics and Philosophy from the University of Warwick and an MA in Creative Writing from Bath Spa University. She lives on the south coast of England and divides her time between writing and caring for her young family.

Mark Polizzotti

MARK POLIZZOTTI is the translator of more than thirty books from the French, including works by Gustave Flaubert, Marguerite Duras, Jean Echenoz, and Maurice Roche. His articles and reviews have appeared in The Wall Street Journal and The Nation. He is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Michael Holroyd

Michael Holroyd was born in 1935, and educated at Eton and the Maidenhead Public Library. His biographies of Hugh Kingsmill, Lytton Strachey, Augustus John and Bernard Shaw have established him as one of the most influential biographers of modern times. He was awarded the CBE in 1989 and was knighted in 2007. He is married to novelist Margaret Drabble and lives in London and Somerset.