Prue Leith - The Prodigal Daughter - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784290672
    • Publication date:15 Sep 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786481498
    • Publication date:15 Sep 2016

The Prodigal Daughter

Angelotti Chronicles 2

By Prue Leith

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784290214
  • Publication date: 15 Sep 2016
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Quercus
An enjoyable, well-written love story — Good Housekeeping (on The Food of Love)
Prue Leith knows about colour and flavour and this has lots of both . . . a delicious family saga — Daily Mail (on The Food of Love)
A mouthwatering first course — Hello (on The Food of Love)
Leith has really hit her stride as a writer and uses her own considerable catering experience . . . skilfully interweaving emotional drama with food fashions and restaurant trends — Daily Mail
Perfectly captures the Sixties' scene — Choice Magazine
Quercus

The Book of Wonders

Julien Sandrel
Authors:
Julien Sandrel
Quercus

The Lost Son

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith

As poverty-stricken newlyweds, Laura and Giovanni Angelotti were forced to put their first child - a boy - up for adoption. They have had other children since, and their first little Italian cafe has become a restaurant empire, but Laura is still haunted by thoughts of the baby she lost.Tom is a successful businessman enjoying the fast-paced City lifestyle - until his best friend and business partner is killed in the 9/11 attacks and his world turns upside down. Searching for meaning in his life, he decides to track down his birth family: the Angelottis.But Laura has been keeping an explosive secret about Tom's parentage that means his reappearance in her life is bittersweet. She may have found her son, but will it be at the cost of everything it has taken her fifty years to build?

Quercus

The Cobbler's Wife

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees
Quercus

The Night Tiger

Yangsze Choo
Authors:
Yangsze Choo

A captivating and magical story set in 1930s Malaysia about a dancehall girl and an orphan boy who are brought together by a series of unexplained deaths and an old Chinese superstition about men who turn into tigers.They say a tiger that devours too many humans can take the form of a man and walk amongst us... In 1930s colonial Malaya, a dissolute British doctor receives a surprise gift of an eleven-year-old Chinese houseboy. Sent as a bequest from an old friend, young Ren has a mission: to find his dead master's severed finger and reunite it with his body. Ren has forty-nine days, or else his master's soul will roam the earth forever. Ji Lin, an apprentice dressmaker, moonlights as a dancehall girl to pay her mother's debts. One night, Ji Lin's dance partner leaves her with a gruesome souvenir that leads her on a crooked, dark trail. As time runs out for Ren's mission, a series of unexplained deaths occur amid rumours of tigers who turn into men. In their journey to keep a promise and discover the truth, Ren and Ji Lin's paths will cross in ways they will never forget.Captivating and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores the rich world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and unexpected love. Woven through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order.

riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony
Quercus

Winter Without You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good

What do you do when you lose everything?After the tragic death of her boyfriend, Hannah Clitheroe is hiding away from the world. But when she discovers she's inherited a house in Cornwall, she knows it's time to face reality. Her estranged grandmother lived in Kernow House for years, but Hannah soon realises someone else thinks it's rightfully theirs: Raphael Tregar, an intolerant and contemptuous man who quickly gets under her skin.But as winter sets in, there's one more thing that keeps her up at night, and the rising fear that she may not find her true home in Cornwall after all...

MacLehose Press

Tropic of Violence

Nathacha Appanah
Authors:
Nathacha Appanah

Marie, a nurse on the island of Mayotte, adopts an abandoned baby and names him Moïse, raising him as a French boy. As he grows up, Moïse struggles with his status as an "outsider" and to understand why he was abandoned as a baby. When Marie dies, he is left alone, plunged into uncertainty and turmoil, ending up in the largest and most infamous slum on Mayotte, nicknamed "Gaza".Narrated by five different characters, Tropic of Violence is an exploration of lost youth on the French island of Mayotte in the Indian Ocean. Shining a powerful light on problems of violence, immigration, identity, deprivation and isolation on this island that became a French département in 2011, it is a remarkable, unsettling new novel that draws on the author's own observations from her time on Mayotte.

MacLehose Press

My Name is Adam

Elias Khoury
Authors:
Elias Khoury
MacLehose Press

The Oblique Place

Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Authors:
Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Quercus

Last Dance in Havana

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

From the #1 Kindle Bestseller comes an exotic tale of love, family and friendship.'The perfect holiday companion' - Heat'The ultimate feel-good read' - Candis'Sun-soaked escapism' - Best**********Cuba, 1958Elisa is only sixteen years old when she meets Duardo and she knows he's the love of her life from the moment they first dance the rumba together in downtown Havana. But Duardo is a rebel, determined to fight in Castro's army, and Elisa is forced to leave behind her homeland and rebuild her life in distant England. But how can she stop longing for the warmth of Havana, when the music of the rumba still calls to her?England, 2012Grace has a troubled relationship with her father, whom she blames for her beloved mother's untimely death. And this year more than ever she could do with a shoulder to cry on - Grace's career is in flux, she isn't sure she wants the baby her husband is so desperate to have and, worst of all, she's begun to develop feelings for their best friend Theo. Theo is a Cuban born magician but even he can't make Grace's problems disappear. Is the passion Grace feels for Theo enough to risk her family's happiness?********SEE WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT ROSANNA LEY:'An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end' - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter 'Loved it from start to finish. A brilliant holiday read' - Amazon reviewer 'Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Leah Fleming' - Candis 'On so many levels a fantastic read' - Amazon reviewer'A fascinating story with engaging themes' - Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife 'Warm, enthralling, one of my favourite authors' - Amazon reviewer

Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava

"Ambitious, affecting, intelligent, plangent, comic, kooky and impassioned. I've read a lot of novels this year, between judging the Man Booker prize and the Granta Best of Young British Novelists, and I've yearned for this kind of exuberant, precise fiction" Stuart Kelly, Guardian on A Naked SingularityIt would take something huge to put Paterson, New Jersey on the map.But Nina Gill is determined to do just that. She is the daughter of the ageing owner of the Dallas Cowboys and the well-kept secret to their success. Shocked when her brother inherits the team, leaving her with the Paterson Pork, New Jersey's only Indoor Football League franchise, she vows to take on the N.F.L. and make her new team the pigskin kings of America.Meanwhile, Nuno DeAngeles - a brilliant criminal mastermind - contrives to be thrown into Rikers Island prison to commit one of the most audacious crimes of all time. Now he's on the inside, he has two good reasons to get out. But how does a person of culture go about breaking out of the penal system when the whole of the land of the free is addicted to keeping him in it?Without knowing it, or ever having met, Nina and Nuno have already had a profound effect on each other's lives. As his bid for freedom and her bid for sporting immortality reach crisis point, their stories converge in the countdown to an epic conclusion. Thrilling, touching, insightful and shockingly hilarious, De La Pava's extraordinary novel gets under the skin and into the minds of a vast cast of characters from the fringes of society - immigrants, exiles and outsiders.

Quercus

The Workhouse Waif

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees

Will this little orphan girl find her happy ending?After the death of her father in a mining accident, Megan and her family had no choice but to move to the local workhouse. Separated from her mother and five siblings, young Megan must learn how to stand on her own two feet. But it's on one of the days she's sent out on errands that her fate changes. She meets a young boy who's stealing apples from the local market, as well as a friendly well-to-do lady with the most melodious voice she's ever heard. With her newfound friends, can she find a new life for herself?A heartwarming saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Nadine DorriesPlease note: this edition contains editorial revisionsReaders love Lynette's uplifting sagas!'Lynette Rees deserves to be up there amongst the best historical romance writers of this decade!' 'Readers who like Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries should give Lynette Rees a try''It's the best read I have had in a long time''What a lovely, moving book, and what a dear, sweet child Megan is!'Also coming soon from Lynette Rees:The MatchgirlA Daughter's PromiseThe Cobbler's Wife

Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor

What readers are saying about The Love Factory:'The first time I've wanted to start re-reading a book from the moment I finished it''Like Sex and the City on acid''Anna [is] a heart-capturing protagonist''a warm, inclusive, big-hearted book'You can control want, but desire controls youWhen literary writer Anna falls on hard times, she tries her hand at erotic fiction to make money, and faces an uncomfortable truth. Though she's a wife and mother of two, her stories fail to fly because she's never experienced true sexual desire. Even her Sicilian grandmother - wearer of diamante sunglasses and knock-off Louis Vuitton - knows more than she does about real passion. Anna turns to her friends for inspiration. As secrets and desires are revealed, she discovers more about the people close to her than she ever knew. When one of them suggests she borrow an alter ego to banish her inhibitions, a new world opens up, and The Love Factory - a group of writers penning ever more successful sexy stories - is born. Yet Anna knows that she can't rely on borrowed passion and an alter ego forever. For her tales to truly sizzle, she needs to find a true love of her own.

Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley