Markus Heitz - Devastating Hate - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782065913
    • Publication date:04 Jun 2015
Books in this series

Devastating Hate

The Legends of the Alfar Book II

By Markus Heitz

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The Älfar Sinthoras and Caphalor have made it, with their armies, into the realm of the dwarves. But, while they fight, their home lies defenceless against an old enemy . . .

The second in the fast-and-furious fantasy adventure The Legends of the Älfar: the worlds of the dark elves and the dwarves collide in what Malazan Empire calls 'Tolkien with a dash of Gemmell and a sprinkling of George R.R. Martin'.

The Älfar are the enemies of the dwarves and control the darkest magics, but even their power has its limits. To save their own people, they must enter into an unwinnable war.

Sinthoras and Caphalor, two very different Älfar, watch as their plans come to fruition: the hidden land - the home of the dwarves - has fallen to their army of trolls, barbarians and Älfar, and now the lands of the hated elves are within their grasp.

But the alliance begins to crumble as greed triumphs over obedience. And Sinthoras and Caphalor face another threat: an enemy from the empire of the Älfar, thought to be defeated, has resurfaced, and while their best warriors fight in the hidden land, the Älfar homeland lies almost defenceless . . .

This edition contains bonus material!

Devastating Hate is the sequel to Righteous Fury and the second book in bestselling author Markus Heitz The Legends of the Alfar series.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784290306
  • Publication date: 04 Jun 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
'Heitz keeps on delivering ... I would recommend Righteous Fury to everyone looking for exciting Tolkien-inspired fantasy' Upcoming4me. — Upcoming4me on the Legends of the Alfar
Tolkien with a dash of Gemmell and a sprinkling of George R.R. Martin — Malazan Empire on Markus Heitz
Driven by unrelenting action, [the book] springs to life through the vivid, vigorous writing — Kirkus on the Legends of the Alfar
A Tolkienesque fantasy adventure novel needs a solid villain for the readers to loathe, and in Markus Heitz's Righteous Fury, we find a quite impressive one . . . If your bookshelf is already home to Tolkien, Martin, and company, Righteous Fury will find a comfortable spot to fit in — Booklist on Righteous Fury
The prose is sharp, the action sequences bloody and all in this has been a real joy to read. Throw into the mix some cracking double-dealing, some political machinations and all in this series has been a pure joy from start to finish and definitely one I'd recommend to other fantasy fans — Falcata Times on the Legends of the Alfar
There is adventure, fighting, death, one truly gruesome act and a people going to war. I enjoyed this book and I want more about the Älfar. Because at the end, stuff is going down — Books for Life on the Legends of the Alfar
A welcome return to the world of Markus Heitz's Dwarves series — Dominish on the Legends of the Alfar
Quercus

The Norse Myths

Dr Tom Birkett
Authors:
Dr Tom Birkett
MacLehose Press

Homeland or Death

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka

Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
MacLehose Press

Zen and the Art of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Jo Fletcher Books

Strife's Bane

Evie Manieri
Authors:
Evie Manieri
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava

"Ambitious, affecting, intelligent, plangent, comic, kooky and impassioned. I've read a lot of novels this year, between judging the Man Booker prize and the Granta Best of Young British Novelists, and I've yearned for this kind of exuberant, precise fiction" Stuart Kelly, Guardian on A Naked SingularityIt had to be big to put Paterson, New Jersey on the map.And there's folk who would have muttered - if you told them that their unlovable corner of America would be thrust into the spotlight - sign of the end times. Hell, they might even be right.But Nina Gill is determined to do just that. Daughter of the aging owner of the Dallas Cowboys - and the well-kept secret to their success - she is shocked when her brother inherits the team, leaving her with the Paterson Pork, New Jersey's only Indoor Football League franchise. She vows to take on the NFL and make the Paterson Pork pigskin kings of America.Meanwhile, Nuno DeAngeles - a brilliant criminal mastermind - has gotten himself thrown into Rikers Island prison to commit perhaps the most audacious crime of all time. And now he's on the inside, he has two good reasons to get out. But how does a person of colour go about breaking out of the penal system when the whole of the land of the free is addicted to keeping him in it?And, besides - like everyone else - Nuno DeAngeles is running out of . . . time.

Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor
Jo Fletcher Books

The Valhalla Saga

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

Blood Feud

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

They came for her family. Now she's coming for them. This nail-biting thriller introduces Glasgow's newest gangland mistress, Kerry Casey - a gripping read perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.Kerry Casey thought she'd made a life away from the dirty dealings of her gangster family. Her father wanted to make them legit - her brother Mickey had other ideas, and now it's got him killed. When Mickey's funeral turns into a bloodbath at the hands of a group of anonymous shooters and Kerry's mother is killed in the crossfire, Kerry finds herself at the head of the Casey family, and desperate for revenge.Running a crime empire is not a job she ever asked for, and not one she wants, but Kerry is determined to fulfil her father's wishes and make the Caseys go straight. First, though, she will find the men who murdered her mother, and she will take them down, no matter what it takes.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

Poems for a world gone to sh*t

Quercus Poetry
Authors:
Quercus Poetry
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'A bold, uncompromising depiction of obsessive love' MARIAN KEYES'O'Neill is a vital and necessary presence in contemporary literature and we are lucky to have her' SARAH PERRY'A real, raw story . . . Louise O'Neill will once again connect to the secret, intimate places of readers' minds and lives' CECELIA AHERNWhen Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him. Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. And love is supposed to hurt. Isn't it?

Jo Fletcher Books

The Triumph of the Dwarves

Markus Heitz
Authors:
Markus Heitz
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF SIX FOUR: A TENSE INVESTIGATION IN THE AFTERMATH OF AN AIR DISASTER - FOR FANS OF SPOTLIGHT AND AFTER THE CRASH.'He's a master' New York Times Book Review'Very different . . . to almost anything out there' Observer1985. Kazumasa Yuuki, a seasoned reporter at the North Kanto Times, runs a daily gauntlet against the power struggles and office politics that plague its newsroom. But when an air disaster of unprecedented scale occurs on the paper's doorstep, its staff are united by an unimaginable horror, and a once-in-a-lifetime scoop.2002. Seventeen years later, Yuuki remembers the adrenaline-fuelled, emotionally charged seven days that changed his and his colleagues' lives. He does so while making good on a promise he made that fateful week - one that holds the key to its last unsolved mystery, and represents Yuuki's final, unconquered fear.

Quercus

Darwin Comes to Town

Menno Schilthuizen
Authors:
Menno Schilthuizen
MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
Jo Fletcher Books

The Exile

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
Jo Fletcher Books

Aera: The Return of the Ancient Gods Omnibus

Markus Heitz
Authors:
Markus Heitz
Jo Fletcher Books

Stained Light

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle

'Foyle has built a fascinating portrait, often reminiscent of Ursula K. Le Guin in its layered complexity'. The fourth title in Naomi Foyle's critically acclaimed Gaia Chronicle is perfect 'for Hunger Games fans of all ages' says Library Journal.Astra Ordott tried - and failed - to deny her destiny.To cleanse her conscience and save those she loves, she made the ultimate sacrifice, giving up her freedom to hand herself over to the Is-Land authorities. But that was ten years ago, and the conflicts that have branded her a psychotic traitor are just getting hotter. All around her, long-simmering conflicts are beginning to boil over again, Non-Land and Is-Land are further from reunification than ever and the wider world is facing devastating threats both old and new. Outside Astra's fortified Gaian homeland, an infertility crisis is threatening the survival of the human race, while global civilisation's reckless pursuit of rare earth mining is infuriating the ancient spirits of the planet.Astra may have found her voice as a messenger of cosmic harmony - but is anyone listening? And if she cannot persuade humanity to respect the elemental laws of the universe, will she at least see her life-long personal enemies, Dr Samrod Blesserson and Ahn Orson, face justice on Earth?

MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska

"The House with the Stained-Glass Window is remarkable, a gripping, Lvivian evocation of a city and a family across a long and painful century, at once personal and political, a novel of life and survival across the ages" PHILIPPE SANDS, author of East West StreetIn 1989, Marianna, the beautiful star soprano at the Lviv opera, is shot dead in the street as she leads the Ukrainian citizens in their protest against Soviet power. Only eleven years old at the time, her daughter tells the story of their family before and after that critical moment - including, ten years later, her own passionate affair with an older, married man. Just like their home city of Lviv, which stands at the crossroads of nations and cultures, the women in this family have had turbulent lives, scarred by war and political turmoil, but also by their own inability to show each other their feelings. Lyrically told, this is the story of a young girl's emotional, sexual, artistic and political awakening as she matures under the influence of her relatives, her mother's former lover, her city and its fortunes.Translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones