Natalie Meg Evans - The Girl Who Dreamed of Paris - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848669116
    • Publication date:30 Jul 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784296285
    • Publication date:30 Jul 2015

The Girl Who Dreamed of Paris

a love story to break your heart

By Natalie Meg Evans

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'A captivating story from beginning to end. Full of secrets and intrigue!' Amazon reviewer. Perfect for fans of Amy Snow and Island of Secrets.

'A captivating story from beginning to end. Full of secrets and intrigue!' Amazon reviewer. Perfect for fans of The Hourglass and Island of Secrets.

Plucky English girl Cora Mason has reinvented herself as Coralie de Lirac - confident French beauty with aristocratic connections. Catapulted into the sensuous world of Parisian society, Cora becomes a lady's hat maker, but living beyond one's means isn't easy. When Paris is threatened, the influence of a high-ranking lover protects her secret past . . . but the cruel demands of war - and of love - cannot be kept at bay forever. Soon Coralie must find the courage to do what's necessary to protect her friends, her freedom and everything she believes in.

[The Girl Who Dreamed of Paris was previously published as The Milliner's Secret]

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784291068
  • Publication date: 30 Jul 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Natalie's books are a treasure trove of vibrant, vivid stories, memorable characters and pacy writing! — Tracy Rees, bestselling author of Amy Snow
Fresh and exuberant — Rosanna Ley, bestselling author of The Villa
A cracking second novel . . . Natalie Meg Evans builds the tension in her novel remorsefully . . . Is there a sequel? — Charles Lockwood, East Anglian Daily Times
Natalie's books are a treasure trove of vibrant, vivid stories, memorable characters and pacy writing!
Fresh and exuberant
MacLehose Press

The Time in Between

Marcello Fois
Authors:
Marcello Fois
MacLehose Press

My Name is Adam

Elias Khoury
Authors:
Elias Khoury

"Khoury is one of the greatest writers of our times and perhaps the greatest Arabic-language writer of this generation, definite Nobel Prize material" Avraham Burg, HaaretzWho is Adam Dannoun?Until a few months before his death in a fire in his New York apartment - a consequence of smoking in bed - he thought he knew.But an encounter with Blind Mahmoud, a father figure from his childhood, changed all that. From Mahmoud he learned the terrible truth behind his birth, a truth withheld from him for fifty-seven years by the woman he thought was his mother.This discovery leads Adam to investigate what exactly happened in 1948 in Palestine in the city of Lydda where he was born: the massacre, the forced march into the wilderness and the corralling of those citizens who did not flee into what the Israeli soldiers and their Palestinian captives came to refer to as the Ghetto.The stories he collects speak of bravery, ingenuity and resolve in the face of unimaginable hardship. Saved from the flames that claimed him, they are his lasting and crucial testament.Translated from the Arabic by Humphrey Davies

MacLehose Press

The Enigma of the Return

Dany Laferrière
Authors:
Dany Laferrière

Windsor Laferrière is an exiled Haitian writer, forced to flee his homeland as a political dissident. He has lived in Montreal for thirty-three years and now suffers from writer's block. His father of the same name has just died in New York, where he himself lived as an émigré for the fifty years. Windsor decides to travel to Haiti via New York to attend the funeral and inform his mother of the death. Leaving behind the freezing winter of Montreal - something he has never got used to - for the wet heat of Haiti, Windsor is faced with the grim truth of life in his homeland - the endemic poverty and starvation, the thwarted ambitions and broken dreams. But only here can he become a writer again...

MacLehose Press

The Oblique Place

Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Authors:
Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim

'A profound meditation on the inhumanity of class and the limits of love... This is a story about the malleability of time, but at its core lives something timeless'Omar El Akkad, author of American War'Strikingly imaginative... unlike anything I've ever read, rich with pinpoint emotional insight and fierce, vivid observations about a future that's already our past' Elan Mastai, author of All Our Wrong Todays**********THEIR STORY BEGINS WITH A GOODBYE. Polly and Frank are young and in love, a lifetime together before them. But one evening in 1980, as the Texas sun sets over their shoulders, the world is suddenly pulled apart by a deadly virus. Within months, Frank is dying. Polly can save him, but only if she agrees to a radical plan: to time travel to 1993 for a corporation who can fund his life-saving treatment. She can only go forward, she cannot go back. And she must leave everything she loves behind, including Frank.All they have is the promise of a future together: they will find each other again in twelve years' time, in Galveston, Texas, where the sea begins.But when something goes wrong and Polly arrives late, Frank is nowhere to be found. Completely alone, Polly must navigate a terrifying new world to find him, and to discover if their love has endured.An Ocean of Minutes is a devastating and timely novel about courage, yearning, the cost of holding onto the past - and the price of letting it go.***********'A buoyant, compelling tale ranging from the everyday beauty of falling in love to a frightening vision of a dystopian present day... boundless and dynamic'Jennie Melamed, author of Gather the Daughters 'An Ocean of Minutes offers that rare combination of a provocative speculative setting, masterfully elegant writing, and a story that moves and haunts long after the last page'David Chariandy, author of Brother

Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

Escape to the heart of enchanting Brittany with the bestselling author of The Villa and The Little Theatre by the Sea. The perfect treat for fans of Santa Montefiore and Veronica Henry.For many years Colette has avoided returning to her homeland - the magical island of Belle-Île-en-Mer in Southern Brittany - afraid to confront the painful memories she left behind. She is living on the Cornish coast when she hears about her mother Thea's failing health and realises that the time has come for her to go home. But can Colette ever forgive Thea for what she has done? Despite Colette's wariness, romantic Belle-Île still fascinates her. She takes on the running of her mother's flower shop and makes friends with Élodie from the Old Lighthouse where Thea once worked as a nanny and with the enigmatic Étienne who shares Colette's mixed feelings about the island. As Thea opens up to her for the first time, Colette finds herself softening and being drawn back into the landscape of her past. But can Belle-Île also be a part of her future?The ghosts of that past still linger. What happened all those years ago and how did it cause the rift between mother and daughter? It becomes clear that the beauty of Belle-Île hides a devastating family secret - one that Colette is determined to unravel at any cost.'A beautifully written story of loss and love, Her Mother's Secret is Rosanna Ley at her best' My Weekly

riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke
MacLehose Press

All the Lives We Never Lived

Anuradha Roy
Authors:
Anuradha Roy
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
MacLehose Press

The Shape of the Ruins

Juan Gabriel Vásquez
Authors:
Juan Gabriel Vásquez
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe

An intense, claustrophobic psychological novel about the dark side of expat life, and what being out of your comfort zone can do to you, set in the vibrant souks and ancient riads of MarrakechA unique friendship, built on a lieFreya, Paul and Hamad. Three friends from two different worlds; a seemingly unshakeable bond, suddenly under threat.A move that would change all their lives.The trio have stayed close since university despite Freya and Paul's marriage and Hamad's wealthy lifestyle - so different from their own. Then an incredible job offer from Hamad sees Paul and Freya move to Morocco.A city where nothing is as it seemsMarrakech soon proves a perplexing place to live. Instead of reinvigorating their marriage, Freya finds the move is driving them apart. Revelations about their shared past force her to acknowledge that neither Paul nor Hamad is quite the man she thought. When a shocking crime is committed, Freya finds herself cast adrift in the dark corners of a bewildering city, unsure who to trust or to believe.

MacLehose Press

After the Winter

Guadalupe Nettel
Authors:
Guadalupe Nettel

A shy young Mexican woman moves to Paris to study literature. Cecilia has few friends, and a morbid fascination with watching the funerals taking place in Père-Lachaise cemetery outside her apartment. She suddenly strikes up a close relationship with her neighbour, a sickly young man who shares her interest in death and believes we can communicate with the dead. After coming to entirely depend on him for company and routine, Cecilia is left devastated by his decision to go to Sicily for his health, and is left alone in an unfriendly city once more.Claudio, meanwhile, lives in New York with the submissive, quiet, but very wealthy Ruth. She makes few demands of him, while acquiescing to all his desires and indulging his obsessive, misogynistic nature. He meets Cecilia by chance when visiting a friend in Paris and their two very different worlds collide with transformative consequences.With startling intensity, humour and insight, Nettel conjures a dark fable about obsession, denial and our modern ability to reach out across the globe in search of love.Translated from the Spanish by Rosalind Harvey

Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska
MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting
Quercus

Things I Wish I'd Known

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

A Forbidden Love, A Devastating Secret...When Claire discovers the list she wrote as a teenager entitled '20 Years From Now', she realises how far removed her life is from the one she'd imagined. Divorced, stuck in a dead-end job and dating a man who is desperate to settle down to a future she doesn't want, she decides it's time to put her life back on track.'A really emotional twist which I was in no way expecting!' Amazon reader. From the bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed comes a poignant novel about what could have been...Also available from Linda Green:After I've GoneAnd Then It HappenedWhile My Eyes Were ClosedI Did a Bad ThingTen Reasons Not to Fall in LoveAnd available to pre-order now: The Last Thing She Told Me

Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill