Joanna Bolouri - I Followed the Rules - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848669024
    • Publication date:02 Jul 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784291839
    • Publication date:02 Jul 2015

I Followed the Rules

Dating by the Book

By Joanna Bolouri

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

'After a couple of pages I was already crying with laughter!' Amazon reviewer. The bestselling romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Don't Stop Me Now and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart.

'After a couple of pages I was already crying with laughter!' Amazon reviewer. The bestselling romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Don't Stop Me Now and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart.

True love by the book! Have you heard of The Rules of Engagement? It's a book that promises to teach you to find the man of your dreams in ten easy steps. Unsurprisingly, I don't own a copy. What is it, 1892? But I'm a journalist, and I've promised to follow it to the letter and write about the results. Never mind that my friends think I'm insane, I'm stalking men all over town and can't keep my mouth shut at the best of times. My name is Cat Buchanan. I've been single for six years, but that's about to change. After all, I'm on a deadline. I Followed the Rules and this is what happened . . .

From the bestselling author of The List comes a hilarious romantic comedy about finding true love by the book.

Biographical Notes

Joanna Bolouri worked in sales before she began writing professionally at the age of thirty. Winning a BBC comedy script competition allowed her to work and write with stand-up comedians, comedy scriptwriters and actors from across the UK. She's had articles and reviews published in The Skinny, the Scottish Sun, the Huffington Post and HecklerSpray. She lives in Glasgow with her daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784291075
  • Publication date: 02 Jul 2015
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Quercus
The retro dating guide's recent renaissance left more sane, modern women baffled, but Bolouri has written a character who cleverly challenges the concept. If you hear someone snorting beside the pool this summer, they'll be reading this — Grazia
Scotland's answer to Bridget Jones's Diary — Daily Record
MacLehose Press

The Slaughterman's Daughter

Yaniv Iczkovits
Authors:
Yaniv Iczkovits

riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony

riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry

'Eloquent, impressive . . . while her touch is witty, her manner almost buoyant, her themes are sinister beyond belief. She touches the frontiers of the human' Hilary Mantel Boston, 1833Aboard the USS Orbis as it embarks from Boston and surges south to round Cape Horn, Hiram Carver takes up his first position as ship's doctor. Callow and anxious among the seasoned sailors, he struggles in this brutal floating world until he meets William Borden.Borden. The Hero of the Providence. A legend among sailors, his presence hypnotizes Carver, even before he hears the man's story. Years before, Borden saved several men from mutiny and led them in a dinghy across the Pacific to safety.Every ship faces terror from the deep. What happens on the Orbis binds Carver and Borden together forever. When Carver recovers, and takes up a role at Boston's Asylum for the Insane, he will meet Borden again - broken, starving, overwhelmed by the madness that has shadowed him ever since he sailed on the Providence.Carver devotes himself to Borden's cure, sure it depends on drawing out the truth about that terrible voyage. But though he raises up monsters, they will not rest. So Carver must return once more to the edge of the sea and confront the man - and the myth - that lie in dark water.Elizabeth Lowry's gothic masterpiece gives the genre of Heart of Darkness and Moby-Dick a new, beating heart. In Carver and Borden, she realizes the dichotomy of savagery and reason, of man and monster, of life and sacrifice, in a tale rich with adventure and glorious imagination.

Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman

'Deft characterisation, buoyant wit and imaginative richness' Evening Standard'Masterful . . . slick, entertaining' Guardian 'Funny poignant, occassionally breathtaking' Financial TimesRome, 1955The artists are gathering together for a photograph. In one of Rome's historic villas, a party glitters with socialites and patrons. Bear Bavinsky, creator of vast, masculine, meaty canvases, is their god. He is at the centre of the picture. His wife, Natalie, edges out of the shot.From the side of the room watches little Pinch - their son. At five years old he loves Bear almost as much as he fears him. After Bear abandons their family, Pinch will still worship him, while Natalie faces her own wars with the art world. Trying to live up to his father's name - one of the twentieth century's fiercest and most controversial painters - Pinch never quite succeeds. Yet by the end of a career of twists and compromises, he enacts an unexpected rebellion that will leave forever his mark upon the Bear Bavinsky legacy.What makes an artist? In The Italian Teacher, Tom Rachman displays a nuanced understanding of art and its demons. Moreover, in Pinch he achieves a portrait of vulnerability and frustrated talent that - with his signature humour and humanity ­- challenges the very idea of greatness.

Quercus

Relight My Fire

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri

Phoebe and Oliver are stuck in a rut.With a five year old daughter and demanding jobs, it's not hard to see why the spark has gone.Not one for giving up, Phoebe creates a sexy wishlist: a jar where they can ask the other for anything they've ever wanted in bed - or out of it. But with distractions aplenty - such as, why do all her past lovers think now is a good time to make a reappearance? And, she may be wrong, but is Oli keeping something from her? - will they be able to relight the fire in the bedroom? From mix tapes to 'sex jars', this is the naughtiest rom com you will ever read. From the bestselling author of The List.

Jo Fletcher Books

City of Miracles

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett

Sigrud je Harkvaldsson is back, and this time he's out for vengeance. Shara Komayd, once Prime Minister of Saypur, has been assassinated. News travels fast and far, even to a remote logging town somewhere northwest of Bulikov, where the silent Dreyling worker 'Bjorn' picks up the newspaper and walks out. He is shocked and grieved and furious; he's been waiting thirteen years for Shara, his closest friend, to tell him to come home. Now he has no one else in his life, and nothing to live for - except to find the people who did this. Sigrud wasn't there for the death of his daughter, and he wasn't there when Shara was murdered. Now 'Bjorn' is dead and Sigrud is back. And he will find answers, for Shara, and for himself. He's made a promise . . .The awesome climax to the fantasy thrillers City of Stairs and City of Blades.

Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF SIX FOUR: A TENSE INVESTIGATION IN THE AFTERMATH OF AN AIR DISASTER.'He's a master' New York Times Book Review'Very different . . . to almost anything out there' Observer1985. Kazumasa Yuuki, a seasoned reporter at the North Kanto Times, runs a daily gauntlet against the power struggles and office politics that plague its newsroom. But when an air disaster of unprecedented scale occurs on the paper's doorstep, its staff are united by an unimaginable horror, and a once-in-a-lifetime scoop.2002. Seventeen years later, Yuuki remembers the adrenaline-fuelled, emotionally charged seven days that changed his and his colleagues' lives. He does so while making good on a promise he made that fateful week - one that holds the key to its last unsolved mystery, and represents Yuuki's final, unconquered fear.'Seventeen is a brilliant novel on any level - it's a gripping page turner, while remaining moving and complex. It's a deeply satisfying read and it will be a while before I read anything as good' William Ryan'An astringent, unforgiving picture of modern Japanese society' Guardian

Quercus

Before We Were Yours

Lisa Wingate
Authors:
Lisa Wingate
Quercus

The Little Lady Collection

Hester Browne
Authors:
Hester Browne
Quercus

The Reading Group

Della Parker
Authors:
Della Parker
Quercus

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley
Authors:
Debra Daley
Quercus

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri

'Bloody hilarious' Isabelle Broom. A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of Don't Stop Me Now and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart.Emily has a satisfying job, fab friends and, most importantly, a wonderful flat, exactly 411 miles away from the judgemental, interfering family she reluctantly sees once a year. In fact, the only minor stress in her life is her twenty-something neighbour Evan and his penchant for flirting, loud music and even louder sex . . . but he's nothing she can't handle. Emily also has a boyfriend called Robert and it's going really well. So well, in fact, that Emily is hoping to take him home to meet her family. Finally no more pitying looks from her younger, married siblings. But when the relationship suddenly falls apart, Emily is gutted. How on earth is she going to face her family now? Enlisting the help of party-boy Evan, Emily is determined for Robert to meet the parents come hell or high water, even if it isn't the real Robert . . .

Quercus

The List

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri
Quercus

Amelia Grey's Fireside Dream

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements

MacLehose Press

The Voyage

Murray Bail
Authors:
Murray Bail