Elizabeth Gill - Where Curlews Cry - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Where Curlews Cry

When Tragedy Strikes, Their Bond is Put to the Test

By Elizabeth Gill

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty story of tragedy and overcoming hardship, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Milly Adams.

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty story of tragedy and overcoming hardship, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Milly Adams.

As a solicitor in the small northern mining town of Hexham, Sam Browne knows more than most about the affairs of the town's inhabitants. He has known several of his clients since his schooldays, and has become a fast friend to their growing families. But when tragedy strikes, affecting the town in many terrible ways, Sam finds himself unwillingly drawn into the complicated emotional entanglements that arise. Are Sam and his friends' lives to be forever changed by what has happened?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784292485
  • Publication date: 05 May 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Elizabeth Gill writes with a masterful grasp of conflicts and passions hidden among men and women of the wild North Country — Leah Fleming
Original and evocative - a born storyteller — Trisha Ashley
Quercus

We'll Meet Again

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Foundling School for Girls

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Blackberry and Wild Rose

Sonia Velton
Authors:
Sonia Velton

'Sumptuous and moving' Laura Purcell, author of THE SILENT COMPANIONS For fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier, a rich historical debut set among the Huguenot silk weavers of Spitalfields in the late 18th century.WHEN ESTHER THOREL, the wife of a Huguenot silk-weaver, rescues Sara Kemp from a brothel she thinks she is doing God's will. Sara is not convinced being a maid is better than being a whore, but the chance to escape her grasping 'madam' is too good to refuse.INSIDE THE THORELS' tall house in Spitalfields, where the strange cadence of the looms fills the attic, the two women forge an uneasy relationship. The physical intimacies of washing and dressing belie the reality: Sara despises her mistress's blindness to the hypocrisy of her household, while Esther is too wrapped up in her own secrets to see Sara as anything more than another charitable cause.IT IS SILK that has Esther so distracted. For years she has painted her own designs, dreaming that one day her husband will weave them into reality. When he laughs at her ambition, she unwittingly sets in motion events that will change the fate of the whole Thorel household and set the scene for a devastating day of reckoning between her and Sara.THE PRICE OF a piece of silk may prove more than either is able to pay.(P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

The Bluebird Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

Hampshire, 1939, and three young women are about to get the break of a lifetime.Rainey Bird, Ivy Sparrow and Bea Herron all love to sing. For Rainey, music has been a solace during the upheaval of starting a new life with her mother, away from her abusive dad. Bea finds a confidence when she sings that she cannot get from anything else. Ivy sees it as her best chance of making a life away from Gosport and a dead-end job. The three of them sing in a choir run by the strict but kind Mrs Wilkes. The choir provides a couple of hours of stardust each week, away from school and work and family worries.When war breaks out, though, dreams must be put on hold. It seems that local pantomimes and charity shows are as far as the girls will be able to go, despite Mrs Wilkes's faith in their talent. That is, until a mysterious stranger arrives with a proposition that just might change their lives...

riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
Quercus

Before We Were Yours

Lisa Wingate
Authors:
Lisa Wingate

A heartbreaking story of love and loss, based on a true story OVER ONE MILLION COPIES SOLDOVER 1 YEAR IN THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LISTWINNER OF GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS 2017 BEST HISTORICAL FICTION AWARD***************************Memphis, Tennessee, 1939Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge, until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents - but they quickly realize the dark truth...Aiken, South Carolina, present dayBorn into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.*********************'It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel' Huffington PostBased on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals, in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country, Before We Were Yours is a riveting, wrenching and ultimately uplifting global bestseller. 'A tale of enduring power' Paula McLain

MacLehose Press

Retribution Road

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne
Quercus

Destroying Angel

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on The SeekerCaptain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming LondonAn invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.Seeker must discover the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?

Quercus

The Narrowboat Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

The Munition Girls Series

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Black Family Series

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Ferry Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

A heartwarming saga of secrets, friendships and wartime spirit at the height of World War 2. For fans of Daisy Styles, Sheila Newberry and Lyn AndrewsA young German girl finds friendship, camaraderie and even love while working on Hampshire's south coast ferries - but will her new friends desert her if her nationality comes to light?'A gripping story packed with darkness and light, love and friendship, greed and betrayal' Lancashire Evening Post on The Factory GirlsVee Smith is 22 when she starts work on Gosport's ferries, taking a job left vacant by the men gone off to war. She soon makes friends with the other women workers, and together they enjoy nights out dancing in Gosport - keeping their spirits up despite the hard work, rationing and heavy bombing. Vee even feels herself falling for Sam, the skipper of the ferry and her unhappily married boss. But Vee has a secret: her real name is Violetta Schmidt, and she is half-German. If her true nationality is discovered, she and her mother could find themselves interned as enemy aliens - if their German-hating neighbours, or worse, Eddie, the man Vee ran away from after he got her false papers, don't hurt them first.Will Vee be able to keep her secret safe, and find some peace with Sam and her friends even in the midst of war?

Quercus

The Black Friar

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Mata Hari

Michelle Moran
Authors:
Michelle Moran

From the internationally bestselling author of Nefertiti comes a captivating novel about the infamous Mata Hari, exotic dancer, adored courtesan, and, possibly, infamous spy.Paris, 1917. The notorious dancer Mata Hari sits in a cold cell awaiting freedom . . . or death. Alone and despondent, Mata Hari is as confused as the rest of the world about the charges she's been arrested on: treason leading to the deaths of thousands of French soldiers.As Mata Hari waits for her fate to be decided, she relays the story of her life to a reporter who is allowed to visit her in prison. Beginning with her carefree childhood, Mata Hari recounts her father's cruel abandonment of her family as well her calamitous marriage to a military officer. Taken to the island of Java, Mata Hari refuses to be ruled by her abusive husband and instead learns to dance, paving the way to her stardom as Europe's most infamous exotic dancer.From lush Indian temples and glamorous Parisian theatres to stark German barracks in war-torn Europe, Moran brings to vibrant life the famed world of Mata Hari: dancer, courtesan, and possibly, spy.

Quercus

The Prodigal Daughter

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith
Quercus

The Gunpowder and Glory Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

The war is drawing to a close, but the munitions girls are still hard at work in the factory. Gladys, who's been promoted to overseer, has been feeling lonely lately. Her friend Em, and Em's daughter Lizzie, have moved away, and a lot of others have left Gosport too. Then an act of kindness towards Goldie, a homeless teenager, provides Gladys with a new friend and lodger.But Goldie has run away from her dangerous family - a group of local gangsters and black-market smugglers, including a particular thug, a pimp, who is determined to make the girl his ownCan Gladys keep both of them safe while dealing with her own unexpected pregnancy?

Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill