Linda Green - While My Eyes Were Closed - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784292812
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784299026
    • Publication date:28 Jan 2016

While My Eyes Were Closed

The #1 Bestseller

By Linda Green

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

THE #1 BESTSELLER: a nail-biting psychological drama for fans of Liane Moriarty, Sue Fortin and Kerry Fisher.

THE #1 BESTSELLER: a nail-biting psychological drama for fans of WHEN YOU DISAPPEARED and THE SILENT WIFE.

One, two, three . . . Lisa Dale shuts her eyes and counts to one hundred during a game of hide-and-seek. When she opens them, her four-year-old daughter Ella is gone. Disappeared without a trace. The police, the media and Lisa's family all think they know who snatched Ella. But what if the person who took her isn't a stranger? What if they are convinced they are doing the right thing? And what if Lisa's little girl is in danger of disappearing forever?


***

Linda's next emotional page-turner, THE SECOND TIME WE MET, is now available to pre-order!!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784292805
  • Publication date: 28 Jan 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Clever and compelling, While My Eyes Were Closed tells the story of the disappearance of a child in many different authentic voices. You feel the effect it has on all the characters, even the ones you're not sure you're supposed to feel sympathy for. This is brave story, which is touching right down to the final word. I so enjoyed this book — Dorothy Koomson, Sunday Times top ten bestselling author
A beautifully crafted novel of knife-edge suspense that held my attention to the very end. I wanted to compare the author to Gillian Flynn or Alice Sebold, but that wouldn't be right. This book is one hundred percent Linda Green, and Linda Green is bloody brilliant! — Amanda Prowse, #1 bestselling author
The suspense becomes quite unbearable - and there's a final flourish in the form of a very punchy twist. A terrifyingly plausible story, that will have parents looking over their shoulders — Sunday Mirror
A powerful and provocative read that will get under your skin — Sun
This novel is fantastic. I couldn't put it down . . . I read it with my stomach fluttering the whole time — BBC Radio Leeds Book Club
An ambitious premise, brilliantly executed — The Lady
Expertly plotted and truly terrifying, this book forensically dissects every parent's nightmare — Barbara Nadel
A vivid and unnerving story about the terrifying knife-edges of motherhood. Nail-biting, creepy and so sad — Isabelle Grey, author of The Bad Mother
Packed with emotion, the suspense of the devastation situation this family find themselves thrust into through circumstance is apparent through every page of this thrilling read. A real page turner — Telegraph & Argus
Terrifying, brilliantly plotted. Linda Green manages to construct an amazing scenario out of every parent's worst nightmare and make it incredibly plausible — Emily Barr, author of The Perfect Lie
Quercus

The Second Time We Met

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

Finn and Kaz are about to meet for the first time. Ten-year-old Finn, a quirky, sensitive boy who talks a lot and only eats at cafes with a 5-star hygiene rating, is having a tough time at school and home. Outspoken Kaz, 59, who has an acerbic sense of humour and a heart of gold, is working at the café when Finn and his mum come in. They don't know it yet, but the second time they meet will be a moment which changes both of their lives forever . . .

Quercus

I Did a Bad Thing

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

'Utterly compulsive' Amazon reviewer. From the #1 bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed.Sarah Roberts used to be good. Then she did something bad. Very bad. Now, years later, she's living a good life. She works as a local newspaper reporter and lives with her saintly boyfriend Jonathan. She has no reason to think her guilty past will ever catch up with her. Until Nick, the man she was prepared to risk everything for, walks back into her life. And suddenly, what's good and bad aren't so clear to Sarah any more . . .

Quercus

Things I Wish I'd Known

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

And Then It Happened

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman

***SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARD***'Wickedly funny, deeply touching . . . I confess this was the first of Rachman's novels I'd read but I was so swept away by it that I raced out to buy the other three' PATRICK GALE'Relentlessly entertaining' Daily MailRome, 1955The artists are gathering together for a photograph. In one of Rome's historic villas, a party glitters with socialites and patrons. Bear Bavinsky, creator of vast, masculine, meaty canvases, is their god. He is at the centre of the picture. His wife, Natalie, edges out of the shot.From the side of the room watches little Pinch - their son. At five years old he loves Bear almost as much as he fears him. After Bear abandons their family, Pinch will still worship him, while Natalie faces her own wars with the art world. Trying to live up to his father's name - one of the twentieth century's fiercest and most controversial painters - Pinch never quite succeeds. Yet by the end of a career of twists and compromises, he enacts an unexpected rebellion that will leave forever his mark upon the Bear Bavinsky legacy.What makes an artist? In The Italian Teacher, Tom Rachman displays a nuanced understanding of art and its demons. Moreover, in Pinch he achieves a portrait of vulnerability and frustrated talent that - with his signature humour and humanity ­- challenges the very idea of greatness.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Ltd

riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

For fans of Marian Keyes, Dolly Alderton and Holly Bourne, ALMOST LOVE is one of the most addictive and heartbreaking reads of 2018 'Compulsive' Sunday Times'Breaks another boundary' Irish Times'A must-read' Image 'Honest and poignant' Elle 'Intelligent and compelling' Daily Mail When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him. Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. And love is supposed to hurt.Isn't it?

Quercus

After I've Gone

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

'One of the best books I've ever read!' Amazon reviewer. An emotional new psychological thriller from the #1 bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed.YOU HAVE 18 MONTHS LEFT TO LIVE . . . On a wet Monday in January, Jess Mount checks Facebook and discovers her timeline appears to have skipped forward 18 months, to a day when shocked family and friends are posting heartbreaking tributes to her following her death in an accident. Jess is left scared and confused: is she the target of a cruel online prank or is this a terrifying glimpse of her true fate? Amongst the posts are photos of a gorgeous son she has not yet conceived. But when new posts suggest her death was deliberate, Jess realises that if she changes the future to save her own life, the baby boy she has fallen in love with may never exist.

Quercus

Ten Reasons Not to Fall In Love

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
riverrun

A Book of Scars

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw

PEACE IS OUT. REVENGE IS ON.'William Shaw is one of the great rising talents of UK crime fiction' Peter James'If you're not a fan yet, why not?' Val McDermid'An emotional intensity found only in the very best crime fiction' Sunday Times Crime Book of the YearNever forgotten Teenager Alexandra Tozer was murdered on her family's farm. Five years later, her sister Helen will return. Never suspected As soon as DS Breen tracks down the original investigating sergeant, the man goes missing. And so does Helen. Never revealed The only connection between the suspects is the Kenya Emergency - a nightmare that Englishmen prefer to forget. But others remember. Every bloody detail. And when another woman is taken, Breen fears that history - in all its shame and horror - is coming back to haunt them.

riverrun

This Is It

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

Winter Breaks

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
Quercus

The Marriage Mender

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
riverrun

Only Ever Yours YA edition

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'Utterly magnificent . . . gripping, accomplished and dark' Marian KeyesWINNER: Newcomer of the Year at the IBAs WINNER: Bookseller YA Prize WINNER: CBI Eilis Dillon Award Buzzfeed's Best Books Written by Women in 2014The bestselling novel about beauty, body image and betrayaleves are designed, not made. The School trains them to be prettyThe School trains them to be good.The School trains them to Always be Willing.All their lives, the eves have been waiting. Now, they are ready for the outside world.companion . . . concubine . . . or chastityOnly the best will be chosen.And only the Men decide.

riverrun

Breaking Light

Karin Altenberg
Authors:
Karin Altenberg
riverrun

A House of Knives

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

Poor Souls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

These Are Our Children

Julie Maxwell
Authors:
Julie Maxwell
riverrun

A Song from Dead Lips

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw