Jo Spain - With Our Blessing - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats Books in this series

With Our Blessing

(An Inspector Tom Reynolds Mystery Book 1)

By Jo Spain

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

THE TOP TEN BESTSELLER. Shortlisted for the 2015 Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition. Discover more DI Tom Reynolds with the next book in the series, Beneath the Surface.

THE TOP TEN BESTSELLER
SHORTLISTED FOR THE RICHARD AND JUDY SEARCH FOR A BESTSELLER COMPETITION

'After a dramatic and brutal opening, Jo Spain's amazing debut, With Our Blessing, settles into a very satisfying murder mystery steeped in recent Irish history' Amazon Reviewer

It's true what they say . . . revenge is sweet.

1975
A baby, minutes old, is forcibly taken from its devastated mother.

2010
The body of an elderly woman is found in a Dublin public park in the depths of winter.

Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds is on the case. He's convinced the murder is linked to historical events that took place in the notorious Magdalene Laundries. Reynolds and his team follow the trail to an isolated convent in the Irish countryside. But once inside, it becomes disturbingly clear that the killer is amongst them . . . and is determined to exact further vengeance for the sins of the past.

Discover more DI Tom Reynolds with the next instalments of the acclaimed series, Beneath the Surface (book 2) and Sleeping Beauties (book 3).

Biographical Notes

Jo Spain has worked as a party advisor on the economy in the Irish parliament. Her first novel, With Our Blessing, was one of seven books shortlisted in the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition and went on to be a top-ten bestseller in Ireland. Joanne lives in Dublin with her husband and their four young children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784293178
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 2016
  • Page count: 544
  • Imprint: Quercus
Fiendishly clever . . . and a big fat twist is lobbed into the ending like a hand grenade — Irish Sunday Independent
Brilliant! Fast paced, well researched and sensitive. Jo Spain is a sparkling new talent — Irish Examiner
Spain's vivid thriller explores the dark secrets of Ireland's past that are a real-life situation haunting so many people within Irish society today — Irish Country Living
In a very strong year for Irish crime-fiction debuts, Jo Spain's With Our Blessing is among the most assured . . . With Our Blessing picks at the scabs of recent Irish history to reveal raw and gaping wounds — Irish Times
Atmospheric and compelling — Sinead Crowley
Spain handles the inevitable tensions with aplomb — Sunday Times
Packed with fascinating details about the inner workings of Leinster House, this is a satisfying mystery — Irish Independent
Absolutely my comfort reading — Ann Cleeves
Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

Death stalked the Vale.In every corner, every whisper.They just didn't know it yet.Six neighbours, six secrets, six reasons to want Olive Collins dead.In the exclusive gated community of Withered Vale, people's lives appear as perfect as their beautifully manicured lawns. Money, success, privilege - the residents have it all. Life is good. There's just one problem. Olive Collins' dead body has been rotting inside number four for the last three months. Her neighbours say they're shocked at the discovery but nobody thought to check on her when she vanished from sight. The police start to ask questions and the seemingly flawless facade begins to crack. Because, when it comes to Olive's neighbours, it seems each of them has something to hide, something to lose and everything to gain from her death. The new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of The Confession, perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door.

Quercus

The Darkest Place

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From the bestselling author of With Our Blessing and Sleeping Beauties comes a gripping new mystery'Island of the Lost was the isle's name long before the hospital was built. In winter, they say the fog falls so heavy there that you can't see your hand in front of your face. Storms rage so forcefully you can be blown from the cliffs. Once St. Christina's was built, the name took on a new meaning. Very few who went into that place ever left.'Christmas day, and DCI Tom Reynolds receives an alarming call. A mass grave has been discovered on Oileán na Caillte, the island which housed the controversial psychiatric institution St. Christina's. The hospital has been closed for decades and onsite graves were tragically common. Reynolds thinks his adversarial boss is handing him a cold case to sideline him. But then it transpires another body has been discovered amongst the dead - one of the doctors who went missing from the hospital in mysterious circumstances forty years ago. He appears to have been brutally murdered. As events take a sudden turn, nothing can prepare Reynolds and his team for what they are about to discover once they arrive on the island . . .

Quercus

Sleeping Beauties

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

'Five stars' Amazon reviewer'What a read!' Amazon reviewer'I was engrossed right from the start and read it in one long, very satisfied sitting' Amazon reviewerTHE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF WITH OUR BLESSING AND BENEATH THE SURFACE RETURNS WITH A BRAND NEW SERIAL-KILLER THRILLER. The inspector frowned and examined the earth under the trees. As he scanned the glade, his stomach lurched. One, two, three, four. Five, counting the mound of earth disturbed under the tent. Somebody had cleared the earth of its natural layer and sown their own flowersIn five placesFive gravesA young woman, Fiona Holland, has gone missing from a small Irish village. A search is mounted, but there are whispers. Fiona had a wild reputation. Was she abducted, or has she run away? A week later, a gruesome discovery is made in the woods at Ireland's most scenic beauty spot - the valley of Glendalough. The bodies are all young women who disappeared in recent years. D.I. Tom Reynolds and his team are faced with the toughest case of their careers - a serial killer, who hunts vulnerable women, and holds his victims captive before he ends their lives. Soon the race is on to find Fiona Holland before it's too late. . .'Deft plotting and expert handling of tension make for an intelligent mystery' Guardian

Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

YOU FIND OUT WHO DID IT ON THE VERY FIRST PAGE. ON THE LAST PAGE, YOU'LL FIND OUT WHY.'I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story . . . a really cracking read' BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown'Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision' JP Delaney, author of The Girl BeforeLate one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear. Just an hour later the attacker, JP Carney, has handed himself in to the police. He confesses to beating Harry to death, but JP claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn't know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, the detectives cannot help wondering, was this really a random act of violence or is it linked to one of Harry's many sins: corruption, greed, betrayal?This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who - of Harry, Julie and JP - is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?THE MOST GRIPPING PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER OF 2018: PERFECT FOR FANS OF HE SAID, SHE SAID AND THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

Beneath the Surface

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From top-ten Irish bestselling author Jo Spain comes the second novel in the Inspector Tom Reynolds seriesRyan Finnegan, a high-ranking government official, is brutally slain in Leinster House, the seat of the Irish parliament. Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds and his team are called in to uncover the truth behind the murder. As the suspects start to rack up, Tom must untangle a web of corruption, sordid secrets and sinister lies.At first, all the evidence hints at a politically motivated crime, until a surprise discovery takes the investigation in a dramatically different direction. Suddenly the motive for murder has got a lot more personal . . . but who benefits the most from Ryan's death?(P)2016 WF Howes Ltd

Quercus

While My Eyes Were Closed

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

The Canary Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Other Child

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins

A gripping psychological thriller from the author of the bestselling debut The Missing One. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go, The Sisters by Claire Douglas, The Book of You and The Ice Twins.Sometimes a lie seems kinder than the truth . . . but what happens when that lie destroys everything you love? When Tess is sent to photograph Greg, a high profile paediatric heart surgeon, she sees something troubled in his face, and feels instantly drawn to him. Their relationship quickly deepens, but then Tess, single mother to nine-year-old Joe, falls pregnant, and Greg is offered the job of a lifetime back in his hometown of Boston. Before she knows it, Tess is married, and relocating to the States. But life in an affluent American suburb proves anything but straightforward.Unsettling things keep happening in the large rented house, Joe is distressed, the next-door neighbours are in crisis, and Tess is sure that someone is watching her. Greg's work is all-consuming and, as the baby's birth looms, he grows more and more unreachable. Something is very wrong, Tess knows it, and then she makes a jaw-dropping discovery . . .

riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
riverrun

Land Where I Flee

Prajwal Parajuly
Authors:
Prajwal Parajuly

Heron Books

Willow Trees don't Weep

Fadia Faqir
Authors:
Fadia Faqir

Najwa's father left when she was four years old. Now, upon her mother's death, she cannot live alone in the Islamic society of Jordan. She must find her father. Her search takes her through new dangers as she becomes swept up with a mysterious organization which sends her into the mountains of Afghanistan. For her father, this same journey was made as a wrenching sacrifice for the sake of his beliefs. Yet his experience in the desert transformed his life forever. Now it transforms Najwa's, as she is compelled to follow in his footsteps: from a heartbreaking secret in Afghanistan all the way to a revelation in Britain.

Quercus

The Woman Who Wouldn't Die

Colin Cotterill
Authors:
Colin Cotterill

Quercus

A Fireside Dream

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements
Quercus

Loss of Innocence

Davi Patterson, Richard North Patterson
Authors:
Davi Patterson, Richard North Patterson
MacLehose Press

Rituals

Cees Nooteboom
Authors:
Cees Nooteboom

Quercus

Dead Men and Broken Hearts

Craig Russell
Authors:
Craig Russell
MacLehose Press

Three Strong Women

Marie NDiaye
Authors:
Marie NDiaye

Quercus

The Ingredients of Love

Nicolas Barreau
Authors:
Nicolas Barreau

MacLehose Press

Brief Loves That Live Forever

Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
riverrun

The Gurkha's Daughter

Prajwal Parajuly
Authors:
Prajwal Parajuly