Sinéad Crowley - One Bad Turn - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784293451
    • Publication date:22 Jan 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784293444
    • Publication date:01 Jun 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784294069
    • Publication date:01 Jun 2017

One Bad Turn

DS Claire Boyle Thriller 3: a gripping race against time thriller with a jaw-dropping twist

By Sinéad Crowley

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

How could your good friend become your worst enemy? Compelling police procedural for fans of MISSING PRESUMED and I SEE YOU

A gripping thriller you won't be able to put down, perfect for fans of SUSIE STEINER and CLARE MACKINTOSH

'SO enjoyable. Great characterisation... tense, grippy plot. An EXCELLENT read!' MARIAN KEYES

How could your good friend become your worst enemy?

Being held hostage at gunpoint by her childhood friend is not Dr Heather Gilmore's idea of a good day at work. It only gets worse when she hears that her nineteen-year-old daughter Leah has been kidnapped.

Sergeant Claire Boyle wasn't expecting to get caught up in a hostage situation during a doctor's appointment. When it becomes apparent that the kidnapping is somehow linked to the hostage-taker, a woman called Eileen Delaney, she is put in charge of finding the missing girl.

What happened between Eileen and Heather to make Eileen so determined to ruin her old friend? Claire Boyle must dig up the secrets from their pasts to find out - and quickly, because Leah is still missing, and time is running out to save her.

Biographical Notes

Sinead Crowley is Arts and Media Correspondent for RTE, Ireland's national broadcaster, working for television, radio and online. Her debut thriller, Can Anybody Help Me? was a bestseller in Ireland, and both it and her second book Are You Watching Me? were shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards Crime Book of the Year. Sinead lives in Dublin with her husband and two young sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784293437
  • Publication date: 01 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Quercus
Extremely well-structured and brilliantly paced . . . cements Sinead Crowley's status as one of Ireland's best crime writers — Irish Independent
So enjoyable. Great characterisation, social commentary and a tense, grippy plot. An excellent read — Marian Keyes
Does not disappoint for a second . . . Brilliantly plotted and structured, I gasped aloud as I watched the unfolding story of childhood pals becoming mortal enemies . . . This is a corker of a book, compellingly readable, intriguing and hugely enjoyable — Liz Nugent, author of Lying in Wait
A perfectly engineered crime novel where slow-burning grievances lead to explosive actions. Crowley is brilliant at creating gripping scenarios that make your heart beat faster — Jane Casey, author of the DS Maeve Kerrigan series
Gripping and twisty and unputdownable - highly recommended — William Ryan
A brilliant twisty claustrophobic ride of a book — Colette McBeth
[Her] best one yet — Louise O'Neill
Sensationally good — Irish Times
Races along at a blistering pace — Sunday Mirror
A compulsively readable thriller [and] an absorbing variation on the "domestic noir" genre — Irish Times (on Are You Watching Me?)
A crackingly-paced thriller, featuring a totally believable female detective — Sunday Mirror (on Are You Watching Me?)
Crowley has created a new twist to the crime-writing genre — Belfast Telegraph (on Are You Watching Me?)
Brilliantly original and genuinely scary — Sunday Mirror (on Can Anybody Help Me?)
A gripping, fast-paced tale — Irish Times (on Can Anybody Help Me?)
Chilling, riveting and brilliantly written, you'll be up reading this way into the night — Closer (on Can Anybody Help Me?)
Believable characters combined with escalating tension make this an edge-of-your-seat read — Elly Griffiths (on Can Anybody Help Me?)
Disturbing and emotional . . . I loved this book — Alex Marwood (on Can Anybody Help Me?)