David Sanger - All Their Minds In Tandem - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784293987
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784293994
    • Publication date:31 Mar 2016

All Their Minds In Tandem

By David Sanger

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Twin Peaks in the 1800s - an enigmatic stranger unearths a small town's secrets.

The setting is October 1879. The stage is New Georgetown, West Virginia.

A mysterious figure by the name of 'The Maker' has entered this small community and, almost immediately upon doing so, started entering the minds of the townsfolk.

Townsfolk who are as curious as The Maker himself. Like Dr Umbründ, the pint-sized physician with a prodigious capacity for sin; like the three sisters in the house on the hill - one stern, one wild, one mysterious; like the tavern's semi-mythical siren, 'The Bird', who plays spellbinding music from behind a black velvet curtain, and whom no patron has ever laid eyes on; like Odell, a youth with dreams and ambitions that his craven disposition will forever prevent him from seizing; and who has spent the entirety of his erstwhile existence under the crushing heel of Clay, New Georgetown's lead cad and chief alpha male.

As we enter these characters' lives, and lightly tread our way through their brains, their bedrooms, their backstories and beyond, we will see what it is they all hope for and hide - and learn just why The Maker has chosen to meet them.

Biographical Notes

David Sanger was born in Maidstone in 1984. He has previously worked for Faber & Faber and Scholastic Children's Books. He studied acting at LAMDA before reading English at King's College London and has written for Sofilm Magazine. He has lived in Berlin and London, and is currently based in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784293970
  • Publication date: 31 Mar 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: riverrun
Quercus

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary
Authors:
Beth O'Leary
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Jo Fletcher Books

Wyntertide

Andrew Caldecott
Authors:
Andrew Caldecott
Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe
Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

Escape to the heart of enchanting Brittany with the bestselling author of The Villa and The Little Theatre by the Sea. The perfect treat for fans of Santa Montefiore and Veronica Henry.For many years Colette has avoided returning to her homeland - the magical island of Belle-Île-en-Mer in Southern Brittany - afraid to confront the painful memories she left behind. She is living on the Cornish coast when she hears about her mother Thea's failing health and realises that the time has come for her to go home. But can Colette ever forgive Thea for what she has done? Despite Colette's wariness, romantic Belle-Île still fascinates her. She takes on the running of her mother's flower shop and makes friends with Élodie from the Old Lighthouse where Thea once worked as a nanny and with the enigmatic Étienne who shares Colette's mixed feelings about the island. As Thea opens up to her for the first time, Colette finds herself softening and being drawn back into the landscape of her past. But can Belle-Île also be a part of her future?The ghosts of that past still linger. What happened all those years ago and how did it cause the rift between mother and daughter? It becomes clear that the beauty of Belle-Île hides a devastating family secret - one that Colette is determined to unravel at any cost.

riverrun

The Blackhouse

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

READ THE SUNDAY TIMES AND RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, AND THE FIRST INSTALMENT IN PETER MAY'S SENSATIONAL, MILLION-SELLING LEWIS TRILOGY.A brutal killing takes place on the Isle of Lewis, Scotland: a land of harsh beauty and inhabitants of deep-rooted faith.A MURDERDetective Inspector Fin Macleod is sent from Edinburgh to investigate. For Lewis-born Macleod, the case represents a journey both home and into his past.A SECRETSomething lurks within the close-knit island community. Something sinister.A TRAPAs Fin investigates, old skeletons begin to surface, and soon he, the hunter, becomes the hunted.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

riverrun

Spoonbenders

Daryl Gregory
Authors:
Daryl Gregory
Quercus

The Factory Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
riverrun

The Firemaker

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE FIRST OF THE CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED CHINA NOVELS, FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF THE RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER THE BLACKHOUSE.LI YANA grotesquely burned corpse found in a city park is a troubling mystery for Beijing detective Li Yan. Yan, devoted to his career as a means of restoring the respect his family lost during the Cultural Revolution, needs outside help if he is to break the case.MARGARET CAMPBELLThe unidentified cadaver in turn provides a welcome distraction for forensic pathologist Margaret Campbell. Campbell, married to her work and having left America and her broken past behind, throws herself into the investigation, and before long uncovers a bizarre anomaly.THE FIREMAKERAn unlikely partnership develops between Li and Campbell as they follow the resulting lead. A fiery and volatile chemistry ignites: exposing not only their individual demons, but an even greater evil - a conspiracy that threatens their lives, as well as those of millions of others.

riverrun

Asking For It

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night . . . Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing.And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget. BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

MacLehose Press

Fall of Man in Wilmslow

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
riverrun

Only Ever Yours YA edition

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'Utterly magnificent . . . gripping, accomplished and dark' Marian KeyesWINNER: Newcomer of the Year at the IBAs WINNER: Bookseller YA Prize WINNER: CBI Eilis Dillon Award Buzzfeed's Best Books Written by Women in 2014The bestselling novel about beauty, body image and betrayaleves are designed, not made. The School trains them to be prettyThe School trains them to be good.The School trains them to Always be Willing.All their lives, the eves have been waiting. Now, they are ready for the outside world.companion . . . concubine . . . or chastityOnly the best will be chosen.And only the Men decide.

riverrun

The Light and the Dark

Mikhail Shishkin
Authors:
Mikhail Shishkin
riverrun

The Lewis Man

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

LOVED THE BLACKHOUSE? THE TRILOGY CONTINUES WITH THE LEWIS MAN: AS FIN MACLEOD RETURNS IN AN INGENIOUS CRIME THRILLER ABOUT MEMORY AND MURDER.A MAN WITH NO NAMEAn unidentified corpse is recovered from a Lewis peat bog; the only clue to its identity being a DNA sibling match to a local farmer.A MAN WITH NO MEMORYBut this islander, Tormod Macdonald - now an elderly man suffering from dementia - has always claimed to be an only child.A MAN WITH NO CHOICEWhen Tormod's family approach Fin Macleod for help, Fin feels duty-bound to solve the mystery.

MacLehose Press

Trieste

Daša Drndic
Authors:
Daša Drndic

Haya Tedeschi sits alone in Gorizia, north-eastern Italy, surrounded by a basket of photographs and newspaper clippings. Now an old woman, she waits to be reunited after sixty-two years with her son, fathered by an S.S. officer and stolen from her by the German authorities during the War as part of Himmler's clandestine 'Lebensborn' project, which strove for a 'racially pure' Germany. Haya's reflection on her Catholicized Jewish family's experiences deals unsparingly with the massacre of Italian Jews in the concentration camps of Trieste. Her obsessive search for her son leads her to photographs, maps and fragments of verse, to testimonies from the Nuremberg trials and interviews with second-generation Jews, as well as witness accounts of atrocities that took place on her doorstep. A broad collage of material is assembled, and the lesser-known horror of Nazi occupation in northern Italy is gradually unveiled. Written in immensely powerful language, and employing a range of astonishing conceptual devices, Trieste is a novel like no other. Dasa Drndic has produced a shattering contribution to the literature of our twentieth-century history.

Joan Sales

Joan Sales (1912-1983) was a Catalan writer, translator and publisher. He obtained a Law degree in 1932 and was a member of regional anarchist and communist groups. In the Civil War he fought on the Madrid and Aragonese fronts before going into exile in France in 1939. He moved to Mexico in 1942, returning to Catalonia in 1948, after which he began working as a publisher. Uncertain Glory, his crucial testament, was first published in 1956, though a combination of censorship and Sales' tendency towards revision meant that a definitive edition was not available until many years later.

John Ajvide Lindqvist

John Ajvide Lindqvist is a Swedish author, born in 1968. He grew up in Blackeberg, a suburb of Stockholm. He wanted to become something awful and fantastic. First he became a conjurer and came in second in the Nordic card trick championship. Then he was a stand-up comedian for twelve years, before writing Let the Right One In. That novel became a phenomenal international bestseller and was made into a film and a West End play, both called Let Me In. His books are published in twenty-nine countries worldwide.