Angela Slatter - Vigil - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784294045
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784294052
    • Publication date:07 Jul 2016
Books in this series

Vigil

Verity Fassbinder Book 1

By Angela Slatter

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

A rich and exciting new urban fantasy from award-winning author Angela Slatter, perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Peter Grant. Someone has released a terrifyingly destructive force on the streets of Brisbane and it's up to Verity Fassbinder to stop it.

A rich and exciting new urban fantasy, perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Peter Grant.

Verity Fassbinder has her feet in two worlds.

The daughter of one human and one Weyrd parent, she has very little power herself, but does claim unusual strength and the ability to walk between one world and the other as a couple of her talents. A rarity, she is charged with keeping the peace, and ensuring the Weyrd remain hidden.

But now Sirens are dying, illegal wine made from the tears of human children is for sale - and in the hands of those who hold to old, dangerous ways - and someone has released an unknown and terrifyingly destructive force on the streets of Brisbane.

Verity must investigate, or risk ancient forces carving the world apart.

Vigil is the first book in award-winning author Angela Slatter's Verity Fassbinder series.

'Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre' - British Fantasy Society

Biographical Notes

Angela Slatter is the award-winning author of eight short story collections, including A Feast of Sorrows: Stories, Sourdough and Other Stories, The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings, and Winter Children and Other Chilling Tales. She has won the World Fantasy Award, the British Fantasy Award and five Aurealis Awards. Her short stories have appeared widely, including in annual British, Australian and North American Best Of anthologies, and her work has been translated into Spanish, Russian, Polish, Romanian, and Japanese. Vigil was her first solo novel, and the sequel Corpselight is due out in July 2017. Angela lives in Brisbane, Australia.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784294021
  • Publication date: 07 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
A brilliant start to what promises to be an enjoyable series . . . Angela has set the scene for the rest of the series, by offering an original and fresh tale encompassing many genres that will enthral all readers alike — Starburst Magazine
Angela Slatter's ink is full of intimate magic and hard wisdom. Her characters live and breathe and glance out at you from the page to question your motives. One of the best dark fantasy writers working today — Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of ARARAT and SNOWBLIND
The world of the Weyrd collides with modern-day Brisbane, bringing chaos in its wake. A brilliant new urban fantasy with elements of murder, mystery and magic - I'm already looking forward to the next Verity Fassbinder adventure — Alison Littlewood, author of A Cold Season
A rich paranormal dark fantasy. — Colin Steele, Sydney Morning Herald Online
Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre — British Fantasy Society
Rich and heady as honey mead, potent and earthy as great Scotch, the sublimely dark tales of Angela Slatter are an addictive delight — Neil Snowden
Simply put: Slatter can write! Beautifully, stylishly, accurately. . . . she conjures the secret and private worlds hidden just inside the curtains of reality, and she does it with sentences as sparse and sharp-edged as unused razor blades. Read this writer. She'll drop the scales right out of your eyes! — Jack Dann, award-winning author of The Memory Cathedral
A high-octane mix of Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Sue Grafton's Kinsey Milhone - dry, smart, funny, fuelled by a need to protect the weak, and driven by a past that haunts her. V. If you loved True Blood, or if you've ever loved a great PI series, then Vigil is for you. Smart, funny, and engaging. I can't wait for the sequel! — Jonathan Strahan, editor of The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year series
I highly recommend Vigil for people who enjoy urban fantasy, contemporary faery tales and women telling stories. . . it's the FIRST in the Verity Fassbinder series, which is just as well. I want more. — Dark Matter Zine
What's strong about this novel is its sense of place. This novel is utterly Australian (in the best of ways) . . . I can't wait to see more — Ventureadlaxre
A darkly fun read that hooked me quickly and reeled me in — Elizabeth Fitzgerald, Earl Grey Editing blog
Rich, varied, powerful . . . A fine start to a new urban fantasy series, which I'll be following with great interest. Highly recommended. — The Review Curmudgeon
A fast paced story, with plenty of twists and turns to keep you invested. — Netgalley
Vigil is fast-paced, quirky, full of twists, and thoroughly grounded in Brisbane . . . I love it and I want more Verity. — Alex, Randomly Yours, Alex
Vigil is a brilliant debut novel from an exciting writer . . . Pacy and engaging, it's a book that demands to be finished once it has been started. Verity Fassbinder is a name, and a character, not quickly forgotten by the reader, sure to become a staple of the genre as the series progresses, as instantly recognisable as, say, Sookie Stackhouse or Katniss Everdeen. — Reader Dad
Vigil dares to be different, eloquent, emotive, and exciting in equal measures; it marks the start of what will become the new must-read urban fantasy series. You will be eagerly awaiting the next trip down under with baited breath; such is the brilliance of this novel — Ginger Nuts of Horror
Striking urban fantasy set in Brisbane . . . Verity has touches of Katniss Everdeen but quickly establishes herself as a strong, likeable and positive female heroine in her own right, and her topsy turvy adventures fighting for the powers of good in an almost divergent world are pleasing and fast-paced. This is the opening to a trilogy and the next volumes will prove most welcome — Lovereading
Vigil is a great start to a fascinating new series for both urban fantasy and crime fans with a refreshing Australian voice, setting and style. It will be interesting to see where Slatter takes both her characters and her world in future volumes. — Aust Crime
Vigil is an absolute powerhouse of a book. Slatter has taken urban fantasy by the horns, and given it the kick up the arse that it needed. Original, addictive, and a ****load of awesome, Vigil is a must read for all fans of speculative fiction — Smash Dragons
Vigil is a cracking read. I can't wait for the next book, Corpselight, and I hope there will be far more books in the series, because I'd love to spend lots more time with Verity and friends in Brisneyland — A Fantastical Librarian
Slatter has won many awards for her writing, and with good reason. On a sentence by sentence level the prose is excellent, and Slatter does a great job in creating a sense of place around Brisbane. All up Vigil is an excellent novel — Mark Webb
This is a wonderful start to a new series. With richly imagined characters, setting and mythology, it is the perfect read for those who enjoy urban fantasy. — Joelene Pynnonen
An excellent, action filled start to (I hope) a new series with a hero I want to learn more about. And a world with a lot still to unpack — Blue Book Balloon
Vigil is a stunning urban fantasy novel, jam packed with action and mystery. Our fair heroine, Verity, is full of wit, courage, compassion and has a penchant for saying the wrong thing at the wrong time that makes her journey an amusing one at times. Verity's explorations in her home town of Brisbane and its surroundings and interactions with its Weyrd residents as she attempts to get to the bottom of the myriad of mysteries that buzz around her like flies make for an intriguing read and I, for one, cannot wait for more! — QBD Bookshop
Verity is the best thing about the book . . . she's a surly, straight-talking, Doc Marten-wearing punchbag who investigates Weyrd-related crime on behalf of the beleaguered "normal" police . . . it'll be interesting to see what's next for her. — SFX
If you like reading intelligent dark urban fantasies, I would definitely recommend picking up Vigil. It is a fine and an exciting novel. — Upcoming4.me
A terrific new series of urban fantasy tales kicks off stylishly. 9/10 — SciFi Bulletin