Hilary Boyd - The Lavender House - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786483294
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784294168
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786481474
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2016

The Lavender House

By Hilary Boyd

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The delightfully warm and witty new novel on risking everything for a second chance at love, for fans of Erica James and Veronica Henry

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans. 'Boyd is as canny as Joanna Trollope at observing family life - and better than Trollope at jokes' Daily Mail

Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has.

Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark.
But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities.

Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784294144
  • Publication date: 09 Feb 2017
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Quercus
Warm-hearted and with a beady eye, Boyd gets under the skin of her characters to show that falling in love isn't limited to the young — Sunday Express
A warm-hearted story of families, trust and second-chance love — Sunday Mirror
Hilary Boyd in her inimitable fashion has told the story yet again of mature love which, like an excellent vintage wine, is just waiting to burst out of its barrels — My Weekly
Boyd is as canny as Joanna Trollope at observing family life - and better than Trollope at jokes — Daily Mail
A gentle but emotionally charged drama — Sunday Mirror
I found myself instantly gripped . . . a romance in the Joanna Trollope vein — The Times
Thoroughly enjoyable read . . . a real page turner — Good Housekeeping
This story is engrossing . . . one of my favourite books of the year so far — Mature Times
Poignant, well-observed and wonderfully written, this is a bit of a heartstring-puller — Closer