Hilary Boyd - A Perfect Husband - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786485946
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784294199
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017

A Perfect Husband

By Hilary Boyd

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

What would it take for you to give up on the man you love, the man you thought was the perfect husband? Thought-provoking, emotional women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK.

What would it take for you to give up on the man you love, the man you thought was the perfect husband - until you discovered just how much he was hiding from you?

Lily and Freddy have a wonderful relationship: passionate and fun. Freddy taught her to love again after the death of her father. But then Freddy becomes tense, snappy and distracted. Is he having an affair? The truth turns out to be much worse...

Freddy is addicted to gambling. He owes hundreds of thousands of pounds to loan companies; he's been helping himself to money from his own company, which has now gone bust; and worst of all, his wife's money - given to him to invest - is gone. Devastated, Lily leaves him, and moves to stay with her sister in Oxford. There, among the dreaming spires, she will clear her head of Freddy and try to figure out how to move on.

But being away from Freddy is far harder than she'd thought. He promises to get help, but can he really ever be cured of his addiction? How can Lily trust him again - surely, after the heartache he's caused her, she would be far better off walking away and starting again? The truth is, she is as addicted to Freddy as he is to gambling - and she's not sure she even wants to be free.

Biographical Notes

Hilary Boyd trained as a nurse at Great Ormond Street Hospital, then as a marriage guidance counselor. After a degree in English Literature at London University in her thirties, she moved into health journalism, writing a Mind, Body, Spirit column for the Daily Express. She published six non-fiction books on health-related subjects before turning to fiction and writing a string of bestsellers, starting with Thursdays in the Park. Hilary is married to film director/producer Don Boyd.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784294175
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Quercus
A warm-hearted story of families, trust and second-chance love — Sunday Mirror on The Lavender House
Hilary Boyd in her inimitable fashion has told the story yet again of mature love which, like an excellent vintage wine, is just waiting to burst out of its barrels, freed from the constraint of convention and the inevitable signs of ageing — My Weekly on The Lavender House
Warm-hearted and with a beady eye, Boyd gets under the skin of her characters to show that falling in love isn't limited to the young — Sunday Express
riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew
Quercus

The Daughters of Belle-Ile

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

The seventh novel from the bestselling author of The Villa and The Little Theatre by the Sea.

Quercus

The Architecture of Heaven

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave

MacLehose Press

A People without a Past

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross

The second part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer The year is 1563, and by any account Balthasar Russow can be said to have risen in the world. Fresh from his studies in the German town of Stetten, he has assumed the role as pastor of Tallinn's Holy Ghost Church. Moreover, he is betrothed to a maiden of the town - much to the chagrin of her father, who has no wish to welcome peasant stock to the family when there is no shortage of upstanding young German men - and is poised to begin the chronicle that will ensure his everlasting fame.But tribulations still await the now not-quite-young Pastor - Livonia is still plagued by foreign powers, with Tallinn braced to withstand a prolonged Muscovite siege. And he will discover that marriage is a often a battlefield in itself.Translated from the Estonian by Merike Beecher

MacLehose Press

Madame Bovary of the Suburbs

Sophie Divry
Authors:
Sophie Divry
MacLehose Press

Nevada Days

Bernardo Atxaga
Authors:
Bernardo Atxaga
riverrun

This Is 64

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

THE NEW NOVEL FROM THE BOLLINGER SHORTLISTED AUTHOR OF ENGLAND'S LANE.'Connolly unfolds a rich and compelling drama of life that is anything but everyday' Daily Mail'It is Connolly's skill to get the reader to laugh at what should make you cry or at least wince' Times Literary SupplementGeorge is a fashion mad Beatles fan, selfish and cruel. Why his girlfriend Dorothy loves him is a mystery to her and to his best friend Sammy. When George callously chucks her he cannot anticipate that his life, post 1964, will never be the same. And forty-four years later, when George is sixty-four, rich and successful, his past will catch up with him and his family.

MacLehose Press

The President's Gardens

Muhsin Al-Ramli
Authors:
Muhsin Al-Ramli

One Hundred Years of Solitude meets The Kite-Runner in Saddam Hussein's Iraq"A contemporary tragedy of epic proportions. No author is better placed than Muhsin Al-Ramli, already a star in the Arabic literary scene, to tell this story. I read it in one sitting"Hassan Blasim, winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize for The Iraqi ChristOn the third day of Ramadan, the village wakes to find the severed heads of nine of its sons stacked in banana crates by the bus stop.One of them belonged to one of the most wanted men in Iraq, known to his friends as Ibrahim the Fated.How did this good and humble man earn the enmity of so many? What did he do to deserve such a death?The answer lies in his lifelong friendship with Abdullah Kafka and Tariq the Befuddled, who each have their own remarkable stories to tell.It lies on the scarred, irradiated battlefields of the Gulf War and in the ashes of a revolution strangled in its cradle.It lies in the steadfast love of his wife and the festering scorn of his daughter.And, above all, it lies behind the locked gates of The President's Gardens, buried alongside the countless victims of a pitiless reign of terror.Translated from the Arabic by Luke Leafgren

MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat

riverrun

Larchfield

Polly Clark
Authors:
Polly Clark
Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans. 'Boyd is as canny as Joanna Trollope at observing family life - and better than Trollope at jokes' Daily MailNancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

MacLehose Press

Belladonna

Daša Drndic
Authors:
Daša Drndic

Andreas Ban is a writer and a psychologist, an intellectual proper, full of empathy, but his world has been falling apart for years. When he retires with a miserable pension and finds out that he is ill, he gains a new perspective on the debris of his life and the lives of his friends. In defying illness and old age, Andreas Ban is cynical and powerful, and in his investigations into his own past, he learns stories told by the disempowered, hunted down and helpless, stories that uncompromisingly lay bare a gamut of taboos.In Belladonna, Dasa Drndic pushes to the limit the issues about illness and the (im)possibility of living (and dying) in contemporary, utterly dehumanised world where old age and illness are the scarlet letters of shame thrown in the face of the advertised eternal youth and beauty. Belladonna brings together fiction and reality, and Andreas Ban stands for a true hero of our times; he is a castaway intellectual of a society which subdues every critical thought under the disguise of political correctness.

Quercus

The Christmas Guest

Daisy Bell
Authors:
Daisy Bell
Quercus

The Prodigal Daughter

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith
MacLehose Press

The Unseen

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
MacLehose Press

Cry, Mother Spain

Lydie Salvayre
Authors:
Lydie Salvayre
MacLehose Press

The Bickford Fuse

Andrey Kurkov
Authors:
Andrey Kurkov
Quercus

Outstanding

Kathryn Flett
Authors:
Kathryn Flett

Eve Sturridge, a high-flying divorcee and mother of two girls, is head teacher of Ivy House, an Ofsted 'Outstanding' prep school in Sussex. Eve is passionate about her school and its pupils. When Danish power couple, Stefan and Anette Sorensen, jet in and choose Ivy House over other schools, Eve is justifiably proud. The Sorensons are A-listers who bring an aura of style and power to Ivy House. Zoe is Eve's pretty seventeen-year-old daughter. Unlike her mother, Zoe's not so keen on school. She prefers sending nude selfies to her boyfriend.When glamorous Stefan Sorensen proposes that Zoe interns at his company and invites her to accompany him to New York, Zoe is over the moon with excitement, while Eve is too focused on Ivy House to smell danger . . .

Quercus

The Foxglove Tree

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Meet Me on the Beach

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

When pillar-of-the-community Harry Stewart dies of a sudden heart attack, the whole village is devastated - except for his maligned wife Karen, the only one who really knew the abusive alcoholic Harry had become.Suddenly freed from this oppressive marriage, Karen is nonetheless wracked with guilt about her final argument with her husband, and sees the presence of her spoiled step-daughter, Sophia, as a suitable purgatory. Her only comfort in her grief and isolation is William, the sympathetic local vicar.As Karen shares her burdens, William's listening ear soon becomes a shoulder to cry on, and before long Karen realises she is falling in love. But William has a wife and young children, not to mention a parish to watch over - and be watched by.As the pressure becomes too much to bear, Karen flees to the seaside. But when a chance encounter brings William back into her life, can they persuade each other to take one final leap of faith?(P)2015 WF Howes Ltd