Peter May - Chinese Whispers - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782065548
    • Publication date:15 Nov 2012
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787471269
    • Publication date:01 Jul 2019
Books in this series

Chinese Whispers

China Thriller 6

By Peter May

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The Beijing Ripper makes a personal vendetta against Detective Li Yan in the thrilling final episode of the series

GRUESOME MURDERS

His victims are young, beautiful and coldly mutilated. He calls himself the Beijing Ripper. Li Yan, head of Beijing's serious crime squad, must stop him.

FEARSOME LETTERS

Just as pathologist Margaret Campbell finds an insight into the killer's cruel signature, Li receives a letter from the killer, betraying his cruel intentions.

CHINESE WHISPERS

There's no way Li can misinterpret the Ripper's motives: he wants to tear Li and Campbell's lives apart, and write the darkest chapter in Beijing's history.

Biographical Notes

Peter May is the author of The Blackhouse, The Lewis Man and The Chessmen. Chinese Whispers is the sixth of his China thrillers. Peter was an award-winning journalist at the age of just twenty-one. He left newspapers for television and screenwriting, creating three prime-time British drama series and accruing more than 1,000 television credits. He now lives in France.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784295349
  • Publication date: 16 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: riverrun
MacLehose Press

Millennium 6

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

The sixth in Stieg Larsson's DRAGON TATTOO series - more than 90 million copies sold worldwide - the crime fiction phenomenon featuring Lisbeth Salander.Book four in the series, THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB, is a major film from Sony Pictures starring Claire Foy - out in Autumn 2018."Rest easy, Lisbeth Salander fans - our punk hacker is in good hands" Patrick Ryan, U.S.A. Today"Salander and Blomkvist are just as compelling as ever" Michiko Kakutani, New York Times "Not only do the matter-of-fact style and intricate plotting and sexy, chilling atmosphere feel very true to the original novels, but Lagercrantz transcends the source material" Benjamin Percy, Esquire"Elegantly paced, slickly executed, and properly thrilling" Alison Flood, Observer

Quercus

Unfollow Me

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

The Boy Who Fell

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From the bestselling author of With Our Blessing and The Confession comes a gripping new mystery featuring DCI Tom Reynolds.Kids can be so cruel. They'll call you names. Hurt your feelings.Push you to your death. In the garden of an abandoned house, Luke Connolly lies broken, dead. The night before, he and his friends partied inside. Nobody fought, everybody else went home safely. And yet, Luke was raped and pushed to his death. His alleged attacker is now in custody. DCI Tom Reynolds is receiving the biggest promotion of his career when a colleague asks him to look at the Connolly case, believing it's not as cut and dried as local investigators have made out. And as Tom begins to examine the world Connolly and his upper class friends inhabited, the privilege and protection afforded to them, he too realises something.In this place, people cover up for each other. Even when it comes to murder.

riverrun

Fake Like Me

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland
riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan

Murder convict Sean Hennessy is released from prison to return to a seaside community in Dublin. He has always professed his innocence. But within months of his release, two bodies appear in the peaceful suburb of Clontarf.With a TV documentary pushing the public's sympathies in Hennessy's direction, the original evidence against him is called into question and Detective Frankie Sheehan finds herself doubting her original analysis of the case.But when another, fresh victim connects the two cases and the threat closes in around her family, Sheehan must look deep within herself in order to spot the killer who hides in plain sight.

Quercus

Metropolis

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr

Berlin detective Bernie Gunther bows out at last in the 14th and final book of the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of John le Carre and Robert Harris.'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILD'One of the greatest master story-tellers in English' ALAN FURSTBerlin, 1928, the dying days of the Weimar Republic shortly before Hitler and the Nazis came to power. It was a period of decadence and excess as Berliners - after the terrible slaughter of WWI and the hardships that followed - are enjoying their own version of Babylon. Bernie is a young detective working in Vice when he gets a summons from Bernard Weiss, Chief of Berlin's Criminal Police. He invites Bernie to join KIA - Criminal Inspection A - the supervisory body for all homicide investigation in Kripo. Bernie's first task is to investigate the Silesian Station killings - four prostitutes murdered in as many weeks. All of them have been hit over the head with a hammer and then scalped with a sharp knife. Bernie hardly has time to acquaint himself with the case files before another prostitute is murdered. Until now, no one has shown much interest in these victims - there are plenty in Berlin who'd like the streets washed clean of such degenerates. But this time the girl's father runs Berlin's foremost criminal ring, and he's prepared to go to extreme lengths to find his daughter's killer. Then a second series of murders begins - of crippled wartime veterans who beg in the city's streets. It seems that someone is determined to clean up Berlin of anyone less than perfect. The voice of Nazism is becoming a roar that threatens to drown out all others. But not Bernie Gunther's ...

riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Jo Fletcher Books

Hearts of Ice

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair

Summer is gone, and the world is turning to ice.The Rondian Empress Lyra has lost her husband, her army is defeated and the deadly Masked Cabal have seized the Holy City. Her allies have abandoned her and her empire is spiralling into chaos - and her only weapon is a forbidden magic she dare not use. She can't survive alone - but who can she still trust?'Vibrant, memorable characters' - SciFi NowThe Eastern conqueror Sultan Rashid is victorious on the battlefield, but now he faces an enemy more deadly than Rondian knights: the winter. Unless he captures a major city to shelter his huge armies, his plans to overthrow the West face ruin in the snow. But standing between his men and safety is the remnants of a defeated army led by a general who knows all about fighting for survival.'An epic journey of ordinary people destined to change the course of history . . . alluring . . . gripping' - BoHoMind.comThere are no easy options left. Lyra and her fellow dwymancers must master their deadly magic, whatever the cost. Even those who believe themselves to be fighting for good must grasp the reins of power with cold-hearted determination, and use even the most terrible weapon, if they are to stop the world from falling apart . . . for ever.

Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward
Quercus

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

A story about love, family secrets, and a little piece of heaven . . .In the beautiful village of Vernazza, the Mazzone family have transformed an old convent overlooking the glamorous Italian Riviera into the elegant Lemon Tree Hotel. For Chiara, her daughter Elene and her granddaughter Isabella, the running of their hotel is the driving force in their lives. One day, two unexpected guests check in. The first, Dante, is a face from Chiara's past, but what exactly happened between them all those years ago, Elene wonders. Meanwhile, Isabella is preoccupied with the second guest, a mysterious young man who seems to know a lot about the history of the old convent and the people who live there. Isabella is determined to find out his true intentions and discover the secret past of the Lemon Tree Hotel.

Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

To Kill the Truth

Sam Bourne
Authors:
Sam Bourne
Quercus

The Stone Circle

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Will he ever find the life he longs for?Born to a mother who died in childbirth and an uninterested father, Niall McAndrew grows up a solitary child, without a home to call his own. His only friend is Bridget, a young girl forced prematurely into womanhood.Niall has brains, spirit and ambition, as well as being blessed with handsome good looks. But his loveless childhood has left its mark. Can he ever find the happiness he yearns for? A moving and uplifting tale of a young boy with big dreams...From the bestselling author of Far From My Father's House and Miss Appleby's Academy comes a rags-to-riches tale of one man's determination to succeed. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.

Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker

'THE MAIGRET OF THE DORDOGNE' ANTONY BEEVORBruno, now Chief of Police for the whole Vézère valley, has an unusual challenge to rise to: teaching at his friend Pamela's new cookery school. It is a daunting prospect - the disappearance of one of the school's pupils almost serves as a welcome distraction.When the woman's body is discovered in one half of a double homicide, the evidence points to something far out of the ordinary. The other murder victim is a man, covered in combat scars and with a false passport. Investigations reveal a list of enemies as long as Bruno's arm. Any one of them would have had good reason to kill him - but which group managed it? And how did they find him?As more of their mystery man's previous life is revealed, Bruno realizes that there may be more intended victims in the vicinity. Now he must conduct the biggest manhunt in St Denis' history to find the killers before they strike again.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

riverrun

Salt Lane

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

'For Vikings done right, come to Snorri Kristjansson' - Mark Lawrence'Truly entertaining' - Yrsa Sigurðardóttir'A dark mystery in a dark age brought vividly to life' - Robert FabbriEveryone loves a family reunion. 970: For the first time since Helga was adopted, her family will be gathered in one place. But her siblings are coming with darkness in their hearts. Everyone knows their father, the Viking warlord Unnthor Reginsson, has a great chest of gold hidden somewhere on his land - and each of his heirs is determined to find it. Then one morning Helga is awakened by screams. Blood has been shed. Kin has been slain. All the clues point to one person - who cannot possibly be the murderer, at least in Helga's eyes. But if she's going to save an innocent from the axe, she's got to solve the mystery - fast . . . Lies. Manipulation. Murder. There's nothing quite like family . . .