Tracy Rees - The Hourglass - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784296261
    • Publication date:04 May 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784296254
    • Publication date:04 May 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786487278
    • Publication date:04 May 2017

The Hourglass

By Tracy Rees

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

'Atmospheric and elegantly written' Lucinda Riley. The powerful third novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller Amy Snow.

'Atmospheric and elegantly written' Lucinda Riley. A moving novel about about finding love even after it seems too late and the healing power of a magical place by the sea.

2014. Sensible Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby, a place she's only been once before. Together with a local girl she rents a beautiful townhouse and slowly begins to settle in to her new life. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.

1950. Teenager Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.

The Hourglass is a moving novel about finding love even after it seems too late and the healing power of a magical place by the sea.

Biographical Notes

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784296223
  • Publication date: 04 May 2017
  • Page count: 544
  • Imprint: Quercus
The gorgeous, evocative cover promises much, the rich narrative within delivers more. Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters. With this, her third novel, her reputation as a writer who never disappoints, is sealed — Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter
Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction — Lucinda Riley, bestselling author
Atmospheric and elegantly written, The Hourglass is an evocative story of 1950's Wales, filled with the in-depth historical detail that has become Tracy Rees's trademark — Lucinda Riley
The Hourglass is a beautifully-crafted tale of the ebb and flow of love and friendship. Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down — Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas at Tiffany's
An enjoyable and intriguing read — Trisha Ashley
A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page — Richard and Judy on Amy Snow
Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place — Leah Fleming
Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic — Rosanna Ley
Tracy Rees describes brilliantly the feeling of being on the cusp between childhood and adulthood, with all its confusions and curiosity. I loved the strong sense of place, as well as the description of the way emotional damage can be passed down through the generations. It's an engrossing read that makes you want to rush to the nearest beach, drink hot chocolate and eat a lot of cake! — Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife
I can honestly say The Hourglass is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I've been thinking about it ever since! Tracy writes so very beautifully and lyrically, conjuring up such a strong atmosphere and sense of place. Her characters have wonderful depth and richness, and the whole story felt so wise, poignant and uplifting. I loved it! A beautiful story, so atmospheric and vivid, elegantly told — Nicola Cornick
I absolutely loved The Hourglass. With its wonderful characters, moving storyline, and gorgeous, evocative setting in coastal Wales, it bursts with warmth on every page. It's the perfect, lose-yourself and curl up for hours read. I felt bereft when I finished! — Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky
This moving tale has warmth and wisdom galore, and shows it's never too late for new beginnings — Psychologies
The characters are so evocative and the descriptions of Tenby give it the starring role — Woman
[Tracy Rees] has a wonderful way of making you feel that you're 'there' in her writing, whether 'there' is a desolate moor in the 1700s or a sunny beach in 1950s — One More Page
Descriptive, mysterious and romantic — My Weekly
Once again I found myself drawn in to Tracy Rees's wonderful story telling so that I set aside daily life until I'd devoured every word — Linda's Book Bag
[Tracy Rees] has a gift for creating powerful and distinct character voices...Well plotted and well written, The Hourglass will make a wonderful summer read for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rosanna Ley, Rachel Hore or Jojo Moyes — Historical Novel Reviews
Rees is an elegant and intelligent writer with the gift to imbue her enchanting novels with vivid, well-drawn characters, rich historical detail, emotional wisdom and a wonderfully authentic sense of time and place — Chorley Guardian
Be prepared to lose yourself in this evocative tale — Candis