Philip Kerr - Prussian Blue - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784296483
    • Publication date:04 Apr 2017
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786487148
    • Publication date:03 Oct 2017

Prussian Blue

Bernie Gunther Thriller 12

By Philip Kerr

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784296490
  • Publication date: 04 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Quercus
Once again Kerr leads us through the fact of history and the vagaries of human nature — Tom Hanks
Bernie Gunther - sly, subversive, sardonic, and occasionally hilarious - is one of the greatest anti-heroes ever written, and as always he lights up this tough and unflinching novel. We're in good hands here — Lee Child
In Prussian Blue, Philip Kerr once more shows himself one of the greatest master story-tellers in English. The narrative is swift and adept, and so well-grounded in the history and custom of the period that the reader is totally immersed — Alan Furst
The twelfth Bernie Gunther mystery is as brisk and agile as its German police detective protagonist — Washington Post
Gunther offers a wry view of several real figures, notably Heydrich and Bormann, and a pithy up-close analysis of the whole Nazi machine. Thrilling — Sunday Times Crime Club
Bernie Gunther is as insubordinate, combative, interesting and entertaining as ever . . . yet another Kerr triumph — Sunday Times
riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry
Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Quercus

SAS Ghost Patrol

Damien Lewis
Authors:
Damien Lewis

Quercus

Greeks Bearing Gifts

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO LIVES ON. Lisbeth Salander is an unstoppable force:Sentenced to two months in Flodberga women's prison for saving a young boy's life by any means necessary, Salander refuses to say anything in her own defence. She has more important things on her mind.Mikael Blomkvist makes the long trip to visit every week - and receives a lead to follow for his pains. For him, it looks to be an important expose for Millennium. For her, it could unlock the facts of her childhood.Even from a corrupt prison system run largely by the inmates, Salander will stand up for what she believes in, whatever the cost. And she will seek the truth that is somehow connected with her childhood memory, of a woman with a blazing birthmark on her neck - that looked as if it had been burned by a dragon's fire . . . The tension, power and unstoppable force of The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye are inspired by Stieg Larsson's Millennium trilogy, as Salander and Blomkvist continue the fight for justice that has thrilled millions of readers across the world.Translated from the Swedish by George Goulding

Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

'Kristjansson takes the reader along at a breakneck speed, and it doesn't let up until the final very end' Historical Novel SocietyFirst came Scandi-crime and Nordic Noir - now it's time for Viking Crime! Make way, Lisbeth Salander and Sarah Lund, for Helga Finnsdottir. Lies. Manipulation. Murder. There's nothing quite like family . . .Everyone loves a family reunion . . .It is the summer of 970. Adopted daughter Helga awaits the arrival of Unnthor Reginsson's children, who are coming for the regular family gathering at their remote family farm. Unnthor, once a fearsome Viking warlord, now prosperous farmer and chieftain of his and neighbouring valleys, is not the only one doing well. Karl, his oldest son, has also settled down to farming after a successful career raiding and plundering, and middle son Bjorn is a respected horse farmer on the Swedish border. Aslak, the youngest, works closer to home, and daughter Jorunn is married to a Swedish chieftain's son.As the siblings gather, bad blood simmers and old feuds resurface as Unnthor's heirs make their moves on the old man's estate - until Karl is found dead and the bloodied knife is discovered in Bjorn's son's bed.For all his size and strength, Helga's not convinced Volund Bjornsson has it in him to kill anyone - but if she's to save the boy from the axe, she must uncover the truth . . . before the killer strikes again.Lies. Manipulation. Murder. There's nothing quite like family. . .

Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR, THE 10TH DR RUTH GALLOWAY MYSTERY - CELEBRATING 10 YEARS OF RUTH'My favourite current crime series' Val McDermidDr Ruth Galloway is flattered when she receives a letter from Italian archaeologist Dr Angelo Morelli, asking for her help. He's discovered a group of bones in a tiny hilltop village but doesn't know what to make of them. It's years since Ruth has had a holiday, and even a working holiday to Italy is very welcome!So Ruth travels to Fontana Liri, accompanied by her daughter Kate and friend Shona. In the town she finds a medieval shrine and a dark secret involving the war years and the Resistance. To her amazement she also finds Harry Nelson, who is enduring a terrible holiday at a resort nearby. But there is no time to overcome their mutual shock - the ancient bones spark a modern murder, and Ruth must discover what secrets there are in Fontana Liri that someone would kill to protect

Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
MacLehose Press

Zen and the Art of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

Quercus

Flesh and Blood

Nigel McCrery
Authors:
Nigel McCrery

From the creator of BBC drama Silent Witness, comes the gripping fifth instalment in the acclaimed DCI Mark Lapslie series.Josie could see a faint light seeping down from the top of the stairs. She rang the bell again and knocked sharply. Still nothing. 'Brenda, it's me! Josie Dall-'. Her last word was cut-off and muffled as a hand from behind clamped a piece of cloth hard over her mouth. She tried to swivel around, but the grip was too tight, and then the smell of the chloroform overwhelmed her sinuses and she sank into darkness. . . During the murder investigation of a teenage boy, DCI Mark Lapslie's methods come under fire and, as a result, his prime suspect walks free. Meanwhile another body is discovered and Lapslie and his team quickly find themselves on the trail of a voracious serial killer. One year earlier, dedicated young journalist, Josie Dallyn has stumbled over a chain of very similar cases. Whilst she is digging deeper and deeper into the truth behind the mysterious deaths, she is getting herself into more danger than she could have ever anticipated and her life is being threatened by some very dark forces.

Quercus

The Girls from the Local

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

Gosport, 1943, and even in the middle of war the local pub provides a warm welcome, thanks to its trio of barmaids. A heartwarming saga for fans of Sheila Newberry and Daisy Styles.Ruby has been living and working at the Point of No Return pub since her parents were killed by a bomb. She loves the bustle of the pub; it helps take her mind off worrying about her fiance, Joe, away fighting in France.The only thing Ruby doesn't like about the Point is Sylvie. This singing siren may have a beautiful voice, but she's out for all she can get, including Joe.Finally, there's Marge, a true party girl. She's a great friend to Ruby and makes sure they have fun, going out to dances and flirting with all and sundry, but she's not as fond of her other role as a mother to two young children.The three of them face many obstacles to fulfilling their dreams, but the bonds of friendship and camaraderie that hold the Point together will keep them going through the darkest of times.

riverrun

The Secret of Vesalius

Jordi Llobregat
Authors:
Jordi Llobregat
MacLehose Press

Rosy & John

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Quercus

The Vanishing Box

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting

By Norway's bestselling novelist and the author of NORWEGIAN WOOD, a family story of epic scale. Edvard grows up on a remote mountain farmstead in Norway with his taciturn grandfather, Sverre. The death of his parents, when he was three years old, has always been shrouded in mystery - he has never been told how or where it took place and has only a distant memory of his mother. But he knows that the fate of his grandfather's brother, Einar, is somehow bound up with this mystery. One day a coffin is delivered for his grandfather long before his death - a meticulous, beautiful piece of craftsmanship. Perhaps Einar is not dead after all. Edvard's desperate quest to unlock the family's tragic secrets takes him on a long journey - from Norway to the Shetlands, and to the battlefields of France - to the discovery of a very unusual inheritance. The Sixteen Trees of the Somme is about the love of wood and finding your own self, a beautifully intricate and moving tale that spans an entire century.Translated from the Norwegian by Paul Russell Garrett

riverrun

Three Minutes

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
riverrun

Cast Iron

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE NEW THRILLER FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSETHE GIRL IN THE LAKEIn 1989, a killer dumped the body of twenty-year-old Lucie Martin into a picturesque lake in the West of France. Fourteen years later, during a summer heatwave, a drought exposed her remains - bleached bones amid the scorched mud and slime.THE MAN ON THE CASENo one was ever convicted of her murder. But now, forensic expert Enzo Macleod is reviewing this stone-cold case - the toughest of those he has been challenged to solve.THE SKELETON IN THE CLOSETYet when Enzo finds a flaw in the original evidence surrounding Lucie's murder, he opens a Pandora's box that not only raises old ghosts but endangers his entire family.

Quercus

The Special Girls

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey
Jo Fletcher Books

The Hidden People

Alison Littlewood
Authors:
Alison Littlewood

'A timeless story that equally delights and disturbs' Upcoming4.meThe bestselling author of Richard & Judy Book Club hit The Cold Season returns with a chilling mystery - where superstition and myth bleed into real life with tragic consequencesPretty Lizzie Higgs is gone, burned to death on her own hearth - but was she really a changeling, as her husband insists? Albie Mirralls met his cousin only once, in 1851, within the grand glass arches of the Crystal Palace, but unable to countenance the rumours that surround her murder, he leaves his young wife in London and travels to Halfoak, a village steeped in superstition.Albie begins to look into Lizzie's death, but in this place where the old tales hold sway and the 'Hidden People' supposedly roam, answers are slippery and further tragedy is just a step away . . .