Andrew Caldecott - Rotherweird - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784297626
    • Publication date:25 Apr 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786489906
    • Publication date:22 Jun 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784297633
    • Publication date:03 May 2018
Books in this series

Rotherweird

By Andrew Caldecott
Illustrated by Sasha Laika

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

'A history-tragic-comedy all rolled into one,' says WOLF HALL author Hilary Mantel, 'An enthralling puzzle-picture of a book' (M.R. Carey), perfect for fans of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell and Gormenghast with a dash of Neil Gaiman and The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.

'Intricate and crisp, witty and solemn: a book with special and dangerous properties' Hilary Mantel

A twisted, arcane murder-mystery with shades of Hope Mirrlees, Ben Aaronovitch, Mervyn Peake and Edward Gorey at their disturbing best.

The town of Rotherweird stands alone - there are no guidebooks, despite the fascinating and diverse architectural styles cramming the narrow streets, the avant garde science and offbeat customs. Cast adrift from the rest of England by Elizabeth I, Rotherweird's independence is subject to one disturbing condition: nobody, but nobody, studies the town or its history.

For beneath the enchanting surface lurks a secret so dark that it must never be rediscovered, still less reused.

But secrets have a way of leaking out.

Two inquisitive outsiders have arrived: Jonah Oblong, to teach modern history at Rotherweird School (nothing local and nothing before 1800), and the sinister billionaire Sir Veronal Slickstone, who has somehow got permission to renovate the town's long-derelict Manor House.

Slickstone and Oblong, though driven by conflicting motives, both strive to connect past and present, until they and their allies are drawn into a race against time - and each other. The consequences will be lethal and apocalyptic.

Welcome to Rotherweird!


'Baroque, Byzantine and beautiful - not to mention bold' M.R. Carey

'Compelling . . . the love child of Gormenghast and Hogwarts' Guardian

Biographical Notes

Andrew Caldecott (Author)
Andrew Caldecott was seized by the notion of a city-state hiding a cataclysmic secret while studying history at New College Oxford. After graduating, he went on to become one of the country's top QCs specialising in media, defamation and libel law. He represented the BBC in the Hutton Inquiry (into the death of biological warfare expert and UN weapons inspector David Kelly), the Guardian in the Leveson Inquiry (into the British press following the phone-hacking scandal), and supermodel Naomi Campbell in her landmark privacy case, among many others. This hasn't left him much time for writing, but the rich, layered world of Rotherweird has been nagging in the background of his mind for many years, and has at last burst into blossom, at once of-the-moment, historic and timeless. Rotherweird is followed by a sequel, Wyntertide, both published by Jo Fletcher Books.

Sasha Laika (Illustrator)
Sasha Laika studied figurative art in Moscow, followed by a degree in Graphic Design and Illustration in the UK. A London-based artist for the last 10 years, Sasha creates highly intricate works that draw on imagery from mythology, folklore and religious iconography. Her works are inhabited by mystical creatures that morph between human and animal, and exist in transition somewhere between the worlds of fantasy and reality. She considers Rotherweird the perfect subject for her début work as a book illustrator.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784297619
  • Publication date: 18 May 2017
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
A history-tragic-comedy all rolled into one, Rotherweird is intricate and crisp, witty and solemn: a book not unlike other books, but with special and dangerous properties. Line by line, silent and adroit, it opens a series of trap-doors in the reader's imagination — Hilary Mantel, two-time Man Booker prize winner
Baroque, Byzantine and beautiful - not to mention bold. An enthralling puzzle picture of a book — M R Carey, author of the bestselling The Girl With All The Gifts
Compelling . . . the love child of Gormenghast and Hogwarts. — the Guardian
Sublime . . . Call me greedy, but I'm already itching to return to Caldecott's universe. — The Irish Times
One of this year's most anticipated debut novels — SFX
This novel is a remarkable achievement. It's also extremely funny, in a typically British sort of way . . . a delightful Harry Potter for grown ups — Sunday Independent
Truly, sinisterly magical. 10/10 — Starburst
A great introduction to its strange and mesmerising world, and a feat of imagination, packed with ideas and extraordinary people. It's well worth the visit. — SciFiNow
This is a twisty, hilarious, magical story crammed full of intricate characters and nefarious plots — The Little Squid
I LOVED this book. It just did something to me. I was utterly immersed from page one . . . This is a novel of magnificence and detail, of science and nature — Fantastical Library
Assured and ambitious . . . deeply impressive debut — Nick Curtis, Evening Standard on Higher than Babel
Vivid and absorbing and grapples with big ideas without being dry, difficult or patronising — Sarah Hemming, Financial Times on Higher than Babel
What an enjoyable read! So vividly written, I could visualise every winding street and twisting chimney of Rotherweird . . . If you like Ben Aaronovitch, Neil Gaiman or Susanna Clarke, this book is for you! — Book Geek Girl
If J. K. Rowling had given Jasper Fforde permission to document a decade of derring-do in Diagon Alley, the result would read rather like Rotherweird — Tor.com
A quirky portal fantasy peppered with singular names . . . Top marks for inventiveness — Speculative Herald
This is an immensely enjoyable, Gothic(ish) / steampunk/ Gormanghast-esque romp with Dickensian overtones. Rotherweird itself is a great imaginative creation . . . A fun, often funny, exciting and highly readable story. Get it now — Blue Balloon
Highly recommended, I think this novel will eventually be viewed as a modern classic — The Eloquent Page
One of the most appealing and fascinating books I've read in some time now. There is darkness and humour here together with invention and originality. For me there are echoes of the work of both Mervyn Peake and Neil Gaiman here — Books and More Books
This is quite possibly the best fantasy novel I have read this year. — Silvia Kay on YouTube
The writing is a true pleasure . . . an airy, yet incisive quality; a purposeful dreaminess; images that stick with me, yet prose that does not labor to describe — Strange Horizons
A highly unusual book, a kind of portal fantasy/historical fantasy/contemporary urban fantasy blend. It reminds me most of Robert Holdstock or Charles de Lint, though less ominous in tone than either — The Review Curmudgeon
Unusual, mannered, quirky — Library Thing
A fun blend of absurdist humour, creepy peril and fecund magic to be found here — Press Reader
History, fantasy, tragedy and comedy collide in new and unusual ways, to create a novel that is full of intrigue and mystery — The Book Muse
Rotherweird definitely delivered. The flippant way to describe it would be as a Midsomer Murders episode as told by Jeff VanderMeer with a touch of Agatha Christie. That doesn't do it justice though because joking aside it's a very good book. — Stefen’s Books
I loved the blend of past, present and other worlds. I loved the characters, the intricate plotting and the playfulness with words, English and Latin — Boffins Books
The kind of book that is so glorious you'll want to talk to your friends about it for days afterwards ... often extremely funny, and so richly textured with characters so expertly drawn you'll being to wonder if a real town called Rotherweird might not actually exist ... Truly, sinisterly magical. — Starburst
Sublime . . . Call me greedy, but I'm already itching to return to Caldecott's universe. — The Irish Times
A mystical tale of suspense and adventure, mixed in with the macabre and Tudor England. Andrew Caldecott's ability to create and shape worlds and the characters in them, draws the reader into an intense narrative of plot and subtext that keeps you guessing. Enchanting and beautifully written — lifehasafunnywayofsneakinguponyou.wordpress.com
Hugely entertaining . . . this novel is a remarkable achievement. It's also extremely funny, in a typically British sort of way — Independent.ie