Laurie Graham - The Early Birds - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784297930
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784297954
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018

The Early Birds

By Laurie Graham

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A poignant follow-up to The Future Homemakers of America - warm-hearted and sparklingly witty women's fiction for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, Fannie Flagg and Anne Tyler

'Why is Laurie Graham not carried on people's shoulders through cheering crowds? Her books are brilliant!' MARIAN KEYES

The Early Birds is the feel-good and funny follow-up to The Future Homemakers of America that proves that no matter what life throws at you, great friends and regular cocktails will always see you through.

Peggy, the southern belle. Kath, the pragmatist with the only Norfolk accent in New York state. Gayle, the preacher with healing hands. Mrs Colonel Audrey Rudman, forever keeping up the standards of the Officers' Wives Club. Lois, who's never had a thought she didn't voice. Loudly.

Their menfolk may be long retired, but once a US Air Force wife, always an Air Force wife, and the bonds of friendship forged in base after military base are still going strong fifty years later. Time is rendering its Accounts Payable for all of them now: hip replacements, eye problems, forgetfulness and departures.

In this hymn to lifelong female friendship, Peggy soldiers on through new upheavals, including her ex-husband Vern's Alzheimer's diagnosis, the death of one of her nearest and dearest, a life-changing house move and the world-shattering events of 9/11 with the help of her sharp-tongued, often eccentric, but always loyal group of friends.

Biographical Notes

Laurie Graham is a former Daily Telegraph columnist and contributing editor of She magazine. The author of several acclaimed novels, most recently The Grand Duchess of Nowhere and The Night in Question (2015), Laurie lives in Dublin. Visit her website at www.lauriegraham.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784297947
  • Publication date: 18 May 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
This wonderful book about friendship is full of warmth, wit and winning characters — Daily Mail
Please do me a personal favour and buy (and read!) both these books [Early Birds and Future Homemakers of America]. You will not regret it — Sarra Manning, Red magazine
Quercus

The Norse Myths

Dr Tom Birkett
Authors:
Dr Tom Birkett
MacLehose Press

Homeland or Death

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska

Amid the turbulence of 20th century Lviv, meet four generations of women from the same fractious family, living beneath one roof and each striving to find their way across the decades of upheaval in an ever-shifting city. First there is Great-Granma, tiny and terrifying, shaped by a life of exile, hardship and doomed love, now fighting to keep her iron grip on the lives of her daughter, granddaughter and great-granddaughter. Then there is Aba, arthritic but devoted; cowed and despised by her mother, her one chance of happiness thwarted and her hopes of studying painting crushed. Thirdly, Marianna, the brilliant opera star: bold, beautiful and a fearless crusader for Ukrainian independence, who is shot during a demonstration and whose life and martyrdom casts a shadow upon the young life of the fourth and final woman, her daughter.More important even than these four women though is the character of the city of Lviv (or Lwów, or Lvov, depending on the point in history). A city of markets and monuments, streets and spires, where history and the present collide, civilisations clash and stories rise up on every corner. Translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones

Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

Anyone for Seconds?

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
MacLehose Press

Zen and the Art of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris

Calexa Rose Dunhill died once, just for a moment - but now someone wants her dead permanentlyThe shocking conclusion to Cemetery Girl by Charlaine Harris, no. 1 bestselling creator of Sookie Stackhouse, and Christopher Golden, bestselling co-creator of Baltimore.They call her the Ghost of Dunhill Cemetery, but most people think 'the Cemetery Girl' is just a story. In some ways, that's true. Her chosen name is Calexa Rose Dunhill, but she doesn't know her real name. When she first arrived here, all she knew was that someone had tried to murder her: they'd dumped her body and left her for dead. Calexa has been hiding out here, afraid to seek out her true identity for fear that her would-be murderer would find her and finish the job. And someone is searching for her . . . a man named Salazar, who holds the key that will unlock the secrets of Calexa's past.Calexa has new secrets as well, including the fact that she was murdered: she did die, if only for a moment - but in that moment, something changed inside her. Now, if someone dies near her, their spirit is drawn to Calexa, drawn into her. It has happened twice before, but now, as her worst fears come true and the killers have found her trail, the third ghost to take up residence in Calexa's soul will change everything.The Cemetery Girl's story is about to reach a shocking conclusion!

Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor
Quercus

Blood Feud

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

They came for her family. Now she's coming for them. This nail-biting thriller introduces Glasgow's newest gangland mistress, Kerry Casey - a gripping read perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.Kerry Casey thought she'd made a life away from the dirty dealings of her gangster family. Her father wanted to make them legit - her brother Mickey had other ideas, and now it's got him killed. When Mickey's funeral turns into a bloodbath at the hands of a group of anonymous shooters and Kerry's mother is killed in the crossfire, Kerry finds herself at the head of the Casey family, and desperate for revenge.Running a crime empire is not a job she ever asked for, and not one she wants, but Kerry is determined to fulfil her father's wishes and make the Caseys go straight. First, though, she will find the men who murdered her mother, and she will take them down, no matter what it takes.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

Poems for a world gone to sh*t

Quercus Poetry
Authors:
Quercus Poetry
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
Quercus

Darwin Comes to Town

Menno Schilthuizen
Authors:
Menno Schilthuizen

See your city through fresh eyesWe are marching towards a future in which three-quarters of humans live in cities, and a large portion of the planet's landmass is urbanized. With much of the rest covered by human-shaped farms, pasture, and plantations, where can nature still go? To the cities -- is Menno Schilthuizen's answer in this remarkable book. And with more and more wildlife carving out new niches among humans, evolution takes a surprising turn. Urban animals evolve to become more cheeky and resourceful, city pigeons develop detox-plumage, and weeds growing from cracks in the pavement get a new type of seeds. City blackbirds are even on their way of becoming an entirely new species, which we could name Turdus urbanicus.Thanks to evolutionary adaptation taking place at unprecedented speeds, plants and animals are coming up with new ways of living in the seemingly hostile environments of asphalt and steel that we humans have created. We are on the verge of a new chapter in the history of life, Schilthuizen says -- a chapter in which much old biodiversity is, sadly, disappearing, but also one in which a new and exciting set of life forms is being born.Menno Schilthuizen shows us that evolution in cities can happen far more rapidly, and strangely, than Darwin had dared dream.

riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Jo Fletcher Books

Stained Light

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle
riverrun

The Runner

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE PENULTIMATE NOVEL IN THE CHINA SERIES, FROM THE RICHARD AND JUDY MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OFTHE BLACKHOUSE.THE SUFFERERA prodigious Chinese swimmer kills himself on the eve of the Beijing Olympics. Days later, a champion weightlifter suffers a fatal heart attack prior to competition.THE LISTENERDetective Li Yan senses a conspiracy surrounding the fatalities, and finds a female athlete willing to talk. But she will only trust one person: Li's fiancée, Margaret Campbell.THE RUNNERWhen Campbell's contact herself vanishes, the gun is fired on a race against time. And Li must now outrun, and outwit, an enemy bent on pushing him beyond endurance.(P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

Jo Fletcher Books

The Doctor Thomas Bond Omnibus

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
Quercus

Complete Guide to Digital Photography

Ian Farrell
Authors:
Ian Farrell