Louise O'Neill - Almost Love - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784298876
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2018
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784298869
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787473065
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2018

Almost Love

By Louise O'Neill

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

If it doesn't hurt, it's not love: the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of Asking for It. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult

'A bold, uncompromising depiction of obsessive love' MARIAN KEYES

'O'Neill is a vital and necessary presence in contemporary literature and we are lucky to have her' SARAH PERRY

'A real, raw story . . . Louise O'Neill will once again connect to the secret, intimate places of readers' minds and lives' CECELIA AHERN

When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.

So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him.

Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.

But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew.

And love is supposed to hurt.

Isn't it?

Biographical Notes

Louise O'Neill is the feminist powerhouse and outspoken voice for change whose novels Only Ever Yours and Asking for It helped to start important conversations about body image and consent. Asking for It won Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015 and stayed in the Irish Top Ten fiction chart for over a year. Only Ever Yours won Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards and the Bookseller YA Prize. Film/TV rights have been optioned on both books. Louise lives and works in West Cork, Ireland. She contributes regularly to Irish TV and radio, and has a weekly column in the Irish Examiner.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784298852
  • Publication date: 01 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: riverrun
With a pen sharp as needles, the author unpicks the kind of obsessive love to which nobody is immune: I would challenge any reader to turn the final page without having flushed, at least once, in recognition. Her gaze is unflinching but never cruel; we are invited to examine, but never judge. O'Neill is a vital and necessary presence in contemporary literature, and we are lucky to have her. — Sarah Perry
A bold, uncompromising depiction of obsessive love. Reinvents the template for the female protagonist. — Marian Keyes
A real, raw story of how a woman's yearning for a potent relationship can poison happiness but help her discover the shadowy parts of herself. Louise O'Neill will once again connect to the secret, intimate places of readers' minds and lives — Cecelia Ahern