Rob Lofthouse - Trouble at Zero Hour - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786482549
    • Publication date:27 Jul 2017
  • Hardback £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784293512
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2017
Books in this series

Trouble at Zero Hour

Complete Zero Hour Trilogy

By Rob Lofthouse

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Three operations to retake Europe; two drops into occupied territory; one hell of an adventure

Written by a retired British soldier, Trouble at Zero Hour is a breathless and vivid story, dramatizing three of the key Allied operations that turned the tide of the Second World War.

6 June, 1944, somewhere over the Normandy coastline: Robbie Stokes sits in a glider, his Bren resting on the floor between his outstretched legs. The nose lowers and the glider descends rapidly: ten minutes of stomach-churning twists and turns until suddenly the call goes up to 'BRACE'. The belly makes contact with the ground and the first Allied troops tumble out into occupied Europe.

For new recruit Robbie Stokes it is the beginning of ten months of brutal and relentless conflict that take him from D-Day, via Operation Market Garden and the battle for Arnhem Bridge, to the Rhine Crossing and the final push for victory. Three operations that change the course of the war and test Robbie Stokes and his band of brothers to their limits. If they fail, then the Allied invasion fails. They must succeed through their longest days.

Biographical Notes

Robert Lofthouse was born in Twickenham and joined his local county infantry regiment (1 PWRR) straight from school at the age of sixteen. After serving 20 years, having served in Poland, Germany, Kenya, Canada, Falkland Islands, Iraq, Northern Ireland, and Kosovo, he retired in the rank of Sergeant.
He now works as a defence consultant and lives in Portsmouth with his wife and three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784299347
  • Publication date: 11 Aug 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Heron Books
Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

'Linda Green is bloody brilliant!' Amanda Prowse, number one bestselling author Some secrets have the power to tear a family apart . . . Moments before she dies, Nicola's grandmother Betty whispers to her that there are babies at the bottom of the garden. Nicola reassures her that it is two statues of fairies she has in the garden, but Betty insists there are babies. Nicola's mother Irene claims Betty was talking nonsense, but Nicola is not so sure. And when, after the funeral, her daughter Maisie finds a bone while playing by the fairy statues, Nicola knows that something sinister has taken place. But will unearthing painful family secrets end up tearing Nicola's family apart?

Quercus

Destroying Angel

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
MacLehose Press

The Time in Between

Marcello Fois
Authors:
Marcello Fois
Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

Before We Were Yours

Lisa Wingate
Authors:
Lisa Wingate

'Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation's history and weaves a tale of enduring power' Paula McLainMemphis, 1939Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge, until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents ? but they quickly realize the dark truth...Aiken, South Carolina, present dayBorn into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals, in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country, Before We Were Yours is a riveting, wrenching and ultimately uplifting tale.(P)2017 Random House Audio

riverrun

The Secret of Vesalius

Jordi Llobregat
Authors:
Jordi Llobregat
MacLehose Press

A People without a Past

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross
Quercus

Trouble Ahead

Rob Lofthouse
Authors:
Rob Lofthouse
Quercus

By Blood Divided

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage

'Wonderful history, adventure and a heart-breaking love story are brought thrillingly to life' - Kate Mosse 'A dramatic read from the very outset' - Simon Scarrow Destiny, inheritance, the world shifting from east to west. This is an epic novel set in an age of dramatic change.Siward, scion of a great dynasty, commands the Varangian Guard and has vowed to defend the Roman Empire to the last. Makkim, renowned general to Ottoman rule, has vowed to destroy it.They are enemies in war, but unknown to them, they are also rivals to inherit one of Europe's greatest fortunes. Even worse, they are competing for the love of the same woman.Their vast inheritance lies in Venice, as does the famous courtesan they both love. She is the reason they will find themselves fighting on the walls of Constantinople, in one of the most dramatic sieges in history.(P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

Jo Fletcher Books

Rotherweird

Andrew Caldecott, Sasha Laika
Contributors:
Andrew Caldecott, Sasha Laika
riverrun

Larchfield

Polly Clark
Authors:
Polly Clark
Quercus

The Black Friar

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
Heron Books

Dodger of the Revolution

James Benmore
Authors:
James Benmore
MacLehose Press

The Ropewalker

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross
Heron Books

Well Past Trouble

Rob Lofthouse
Authors:
Rob Lofthouse
Heron Books

The Harrowing

James Aitcheson
Authors:
James Aitcheson
Jo Fletcher Books

Path of Gods

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

Last Dance in Havana

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Heron Books

Conspiracy

Iain Gale
Authors:
Iain Gale

'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. British Intelligence maverick James Keane goes undercover in Napoleon's Paris for his most daring espionage mission yet. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.It's 1812, and one man is on the top of the world. Napoleon Bonaparte has enjoyed victories all over Europe and is rebuilding the glorious city of Paris. Meanwhile, his enemies struggle to keep alive the embers of rebellion that still burn at the city's heart. To aid this noble cause, a few British intelligence officers have been smuggled in, and James Keane is one of them.Keane finds himself at once adrift in a world of gambling houses and derelict cemeteries - of ex-Jacobites, disaffected French royalists, Irishmen and Americans, all of them voicing dissension. If Keane is to succeed, a means must be discovered by which to persuade these miscreants to rise against Napoleon's rule, without alerting the endless spies and informers that surround them. Forging alliances between unlikely collaborators proves especially difficult for Keane, whose honourable nature objects so strongly to this double-dealing. But he must persevere, or else lose the golden opportunity to aid in the defeat of the tyrannical French Emperor once and for all.

Heron Books

Double Trouble

Rob Lofthouse
Authors:
Rob Lofthouse

Double Trouble is the sensational, breathless sequel to Deep Trouble and tells the story of one of the most famous operations of the Second World War: 50,000 airborne troops, nine days of fierce fighting, one bridge too far.September, 1944 - Just three months after D-Day and the Allied invasion is getting bogged down in France. The commanders need a change of tactics. Cue Operation Market Garden - the largest and most audacious airborne raid of the war. Fresh from D-Day, Robbie Stokes finds himself drafted into an airborne division and landing in occupied Netherlands. Greeted by a hail of German flak and bullets it quickly becomes clear that the operation is not the surprise it should be. Battle-hardened in Normandy, Robbie finds himself forced to take a leading role as he and his platoon try and break through to Arnhem Bridge.