Elizabeth Gill - Nobody's Child - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784298968
    • Publication date:25 Aug 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784298975
    • Publication date:25 Aug 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786483522
    • Publication date:25 Aug 2016

Nobody's Child

An orphan girl must keep hope alive

By Elizabeth Gill

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

'A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns' Sheila Newberry. A perfect tearjearker for fans of Maggie Hope and Dilly Court.

'The two sisters slept in the same bed, hugging one another for comfort and warmth.
"It'll be so cold on the road," Ella said.
"Anything has to be better than staying here," Kath pointed out. She thought of a town far away her mother had told her about. Their friends would be gathered as they did most winters, but it was a very long way from here. She tried not to dwell on that problem as they set off.'

When their mother dies and their father, in his grief, burns down their wagon and runs away, Kath and Ella - gypsy sisters - suddenly become orphans. With no one to turn to for help, they face hardship and prejudice at every turn. Will the bond between the two sisters be enough to see them safely through?

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a heartwarming tale of family and overcoming adversity.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784299378
  • Publication date: 03 Nov 2016
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Quercus
A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns. I couldn't put it down. It has a feisty young heroine, two contrasting leading men and a great supporting cast of characters — Sheila Newberry, author of Bicycles and Blackberries
Original and evocative - a born storyteller — Trisha Ashley on Miss Appleby's Academy
Drama and intrigue worthy of Call the Midwife — Big Issue on Miss Appleby's Academy
An enthralling and satisfying novel that will leave you wanting more — Catherine King on Miss Appleby's Academy
Gill, a born storyteller, is on fine form as she transports us back to an age of poverty and hardship leavened by the warmth, humanity and loyalty of a tight-knit community and the family ties and friendships that bind them together. An enchanting read for all true romantics — Lancashire Evening Post on Elizabeth Gill
Elizabeth Gill writes with a masterful grasp of conflicts and passions hidden among men and women of the wild North Country — Leah Fleming on Miss Appleby's Academy