Annabelle Thorpe - The People We Were Before - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784299514
    • Publication date:21 Apr 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784299040
    • Publication date:21 Apr 2016

The People We Were Before

By Annabelle Thorpe

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

A bold, dark, romantic debut set in war-torn 1990s Croatia, for fans of Victoria Hislop and Louis de Bernieres.

If war is madness, how can love survive?

Yugoslavia, summer 1979. A new village. A new life. But eight-year-old Miro knows the real reason why his family moved from the inland city of Knin to the sunkissed village of Ljeta on the Dalmatian Coast, a tragedy he tries desperately to forget.

The Ljeta years are happy ones, though, and when he marries his childhood sweetheart, and they have a baby daughter, it seems as though life is perfect. However, storm clouds are gathering above Yugoslavia.

War breaks out, and one split-second decision destroys the life Miro has managed to build. Driven by anger and grief, he flees to Dubrovnik, plunging himself into the hard-bitten world of international war reporters.

There begins a journey that will take him ever deeper into danger: from Dubrovnik, to Sarajevo, to the worst atrocities of war-torn Bosnia, Miro realises that even if he survives, there can be no way back to his earlier life. The war will change him, and everyone he loves, forever.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784299484
  • Publication date: 21 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Quercus
I loved the way the author merges the compelling personal stories of this family against the dramatic background of the troubles of Yugoslavia in the 1980s. Miro is strong but flawed - an utterly realistic character - and when he is flung into the war his life is changed forever. How he copes with what he witnesses; with loss, disillusion and guilt, makes for a fascinating story which is told with integrity and authenticity — Rosanna Ley
Tender, truthful, moving and at times painful — Sunday Mirror
A rattlingly good read, pacily plotted and ambitious in scope — Wendy Holden, Daily Mail
Thorpe's moving, powerful tale examines how easy it is for us to lose humanity in the face of evil — Daily Express
An important chronicle of one of the most disgraceful conflicts of the late 20th century . . . and quite apart from the history lesson, it's a fascinating read — Irish Independent on Sunday
MacLehose Press

The Slaughterman's Daughter

Yaniv Iczkovits
Authors:
Yaniv Iczkovits
riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony
riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor

A smart, sexy, witty novel about love and desire, and how losing everything can sometimes be the best thing that ever happened to youAnna is a writer whose small but perfectly formed novels sell zip. When she falls on hard times and tries her hand at erotic fiction, she faces an uncomfortable truth. Though she's a wife and mother of two, her stories fail to fly because she's never experienced true sexual desire. Even her Sicilian grandmother - wearer of diamante sunglasses and knock-off Louis Vuitton - knows more than she does about true passion. A romance-writing workshop doesn't help, so Anna turns to her friends for inspiration. As secrets and desires are revealed, Anna discovers more about the people close to her than she ever knew. When Cordelia, a romance-writing classmate, suggests she borrows an alter ego to banish her inhibitions, a new world opens up to Anna and The Love Factory - a group of writers penning ever more successful sexy stories - is born. And yet Anna knows that she can't rely on borrowed passion and an alter ego forever. For her tales to truly sizzle, she needs to find a proper love of her own.

MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew
Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe

An intense, claustrophobic psychological novel about the dark side of expat life, and what being out of your comfort zone can do to you, set in the vibrant souks and ancient riads of MarrakechA unique friendship, built on a lieFreya, Paul and Hamad. Three friends from two different worlds; a seemingly unshakeable bond, suddenly under threat.A move that would change all their lives.The trio have stayed close since university despite Freya and Paul's marriage and Hamad's wealthy lifestyle - so different from their own. Then an incredible job offer from Hamad sees Paul and Freya move to Morocco.A city where nothing is as it seemsMarrakech soon proves a perplexing place to live. Instead of reinvigorating their marriage, Freya finds the move is driving them apart. Revelations about their shared past force her to acknowledge that neither Paul nor Hamad is quite the man she thought. When a shocking crime is committed, Freya finds herself cast adrift in the dark corners of a bewildering city, unsure who to trust or to believe.

MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
Quercus

Relight My Fire

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri

Phoebe and Oliver are stuck in a rut.With a five year old daughter and demanding jobs, it's not hard to see why the spark has gone.Not one for giving up, Phoebe creates a sexy wishlist: a jar where they can ask the other for anything they've ever wanted in bed - or out of it. But with distractions aplenty - such as, why do all her past lovers think now is a good time to make a reappearance? And, she may be wrong, but is Oli keeping something from her? - will they be able to relight the fire in the bedroom? From mix tapes to 'sex jars', this is the naughtiest rom com you will ever read. From the bestselling author of The List.

Jo Fletcher Books

City of Miracles

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett
Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

'Tackles a difficult subject with a light touch to keep you turning the pages' VERONICA HENRYA perfect husbandTo their friends, Lily and Freddy have a great marriage. He taught her to love again after the death of her first husband. But when Freddy becomes tense and distracted, a life-changing truth is revealed.A terrible shockFreddy has built up massive gambling debts that threaten to destroy not only his life but Lily's as well.Should she go forward - or back?Her friends and family urge her to forget him and move on - easier said than done. Is her willingness to give him a second chance just down to loyalty? Or is the truth something altogether darker? 'Boyd is terrific at cutting to the quick of modern relationships' WOMAN & HOME

riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Quercus

The Little Lady Collection

Hester Browne
Authors:
Hester Browne

'If you like the Shopaholic series, you'll love the Little Lady' amazon reviewerTHE LITTLE LADY AGENCYIt's the last thing she expected from an innocent interview, but before she knows it, sweet, naïve Melissa has just accepted a job for an escort agency! Well, she needs the cash, and you can't deny that it sounds like a lot of fun. And what harm can providing lonely men with stimulating conversation over dinner do? You'll be surprised!!LITTLE LADY, BIG APPLEReluctantly leaving the agency in the hands of her tactless best mate and terrifying sister, Mel flies out to America... Before she knows it, she's agreed to polish the talented but rude rising star Ric Spencer, who just so happens to be an ex, while having to juggle new new guy, his manipulative ex-wife, a wilful terrier, and escalating crises back in England. Can Melissa put the manners back into Manhattan? WHAT THE LADY WANTSWhen Mel's grandmother asks her to take on the case of a lifetime - improving Prince Nicolas of Hollenberg, Europe's most playboy of princes - has she bitten off more than she can chew? Despite his good breeding, Nicolas is completely set on leading Melissa astray. Can Mel rise to the challenge? And has her own fairy-tale ending been there all along?What readers are saying about Hester Browne: 'What a delicious, witty story, I loved it!' Sophie Kinsella'Deliciously addictive, feel-good comedy - perfect for lazy days on the beach' Cosmopolitan 'Funny and flirty, we guarantee you'll devour this book in one sitting' Glamour

Quercus

The Reading Group

Della Parker
Authors:
Della Parker
Quercus

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley
Authors:
Debra Daley
Quercus

Amelia Grey's Fireside Dream

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements
Quercus

Killing Range

Phil Campion
Authors:
Phil Campion
MacLehose Press

The Voyage

Murray Bail
Authors:
Murray Bail

Eva Rice

Eva Rice has written three novels and one non-fiction book. She is married to a musician and has three children. She lives in London.