Annabelle Thorpe - The People We Were Before - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784299514
    • Publication date:21 Apr 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784299040
    • Publication date:21 Apr 2016

The People We Were Before

By Annabelle Thorpe

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

A bold, dark, romantic debut set in war-torn 1990s Croatia, for fans of Victoria Hislop and Louis de Bernieres.

If war is madness, how can love survive?

Yugoslavia, summer 1979. A new village. A new life. But eight-year-old Miro knows the real reason why his family moved from the inland city of Knin to the sunkissed village of Ljeta on the Dalmatian Coast, a tragedy he tries desperately to forget.

The Ljeta years are happy ones, though, and when he marries his childhood sweetheart, and they have a baby daughter, it seems as though life is perfect. However, storm clouds are gathering above Yugoslavia.

War breaks out, and one split-second decision destroys the life Miro has managed to build. Driven by anger and grief, he flees to Dubrovnik, plunging himself into the hard-bitten world of international war reporters.

There begins a journey that will take him ever deeper into danger: from Dubrovnik, to Sarajevo, to the worst atrocities of war-torn Bosnia, Miro realises that even if he survives, there can be no way back to his earlier life. The war will change him, and everyone he loves, forever.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784299484
  • Publication date: 21 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Quercus
I loved the way the author merges the compelling personal stories of this family against the dramatic background of the troubles of Yugoslavia in the 1980s. Miro is strong but flawed - an utterly realistic character - and when he is flung into the war his life is changed forever. How he copes with what he witnesses; with loss, disillusion and guilt, makes for a fascinating story which is told with integrity and authenticity — Rosanna Ley
Tender, truthful, moving and at times painful — Sunday Mirror
A rattlingly good read, pacily plotted and ambitious in scope — Wendy Holden, Daily Mail
Thorpe's moving, powerful tale examines how easy it is for us to lose humanity in the face of evil — Daily Express
An important chronicle of one of the most disgraceful conflicts of the late 20th century . . . and quite apart from the history lesson, it's a fascinating read — Irish Independent on Sunday
Quercus

The Book of Wonders

Julien Sandrel
Authors:
Julien Sandrel
Quercus

The Night Tiger

Yangsze Choo
Authors:
Yangsze Choo

A captivating and magical story set in 1930s Malaysia about a dancehall girl and an orphan boy who are brought together by a series of unexplained deaths and an old Chinese superstition about men who turn into tigers.They say a tiger that devours too many humans can take the form of a man and walk amongst us... In 1930s colonial Malaya, a dissolute British doctor receives a surprise gift of an eleven-year-old Chinese houseboy. Sent as a bequest from an old friend, young Ren has a mission: to find his dead master's severed finger and reunite it with his body. Ren has forty-nine days, or else his master's soul will roam the earth forever. Ji Lin, an apprentice dressmaker, moonlights as a dancehall girl to pay her mother's debts. One night, Ji Lin's dance partner leaves her with a gruesome souvenir that leads her on a crooked, dark trail. As time runs out for Ren's mission, a series of unexplained deaths occur amid rumours of tigers who turn into men. In their journey to keep a promise and discover the truth, Ren and Ji Lin's paths will cross in ways they will never forget.Captivating and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores the rich world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and unexpected love. Woven through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order.

riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony

Two women.Two stories.One hundred years of secrets. A sweeping novel of love, loss, family and history for readers who love Maggie O'Farrell, John Boyne and Donal Ryan 1919Hannah is nineteen years old and living on her family's farm in West Cork. Her peaceful world is shattered forever by the eruption of the War of Independence, Ireland's bid for freedom from Britain. Hannah's family hide rebel soldiers in their attic, putting them in great danger from the Black and Tans who roam the countryside. An immediate connection between Hannah and O'Riada, the leader of this band of rebels, will change her life and that of her family forever.2019Ellen is at a crossroads in her life: her marriage is in trouble, her career is over and she's grieving the loss of a baby. After years in London, she decides to come home to Ireland to face the past she has always tried to escape. Her journey centres on an old house in the countryside, a house that used to belong to her family. Reaching into the past, she feels a connection to her aunt, the mysterious Hannah O'Donovan. But why won't anyone in her family talk about Hannah? And how can this journey help Ellen put her life back together?

MacLehose Press

Tropic of Violence

Nathacha Appanah
Authors:
Nathacha Appanah
MacLehose Press

My Name is Adam

Elias Khoury
Authors:
Elias Khoury

"Khoury is one of the greatest writers of our times and perhaps the greatest Arabic-language writer of this generation, definite Nobel Prize material" Avraham Burg, HaaretzWho is Adam Dannoun?Until a few months before his death in a fire in his New York apartment - a consequence of smoking in bed - he thought he knew.But an encounter with Blind Mahmoud, a father figure from his childhood, changed all that. From Mahmoud he learned the terrible truth behind his birth, a truth withheld from him for fifty-seven years by the woman he thought was his mother.This discovery leads Adam to investigate what exactly happened in 1948 in Palestine in the city of Lydda where he was born: the massacre, the forced march into the wilderness and the corralling of those citizens who did not flee into what the Israeli soldiers and their Palestinian captives came to refer to as the Ghetto.The stories he collects speak of bravery, ingenuity and resolve in the face of unimaginable hardship. Saved from the flames that claimed him, they are his lasting and crucial testament.Translated from the Arabic by Humphrey Davies

MacLehose Press

The Oblique Place

Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Authors:
Caterina Pascual Söderbaum

"Caterina Pascual Söderbaum has left a major European literary work of art as her legacy" STEVE SEM-SANDBERG, author of Emperor of LiesThe Oblique Place is a captivating journey of the imagination, a prize-winning novel that probes the ruinous legacies of Fascist Europe in the twentieth century.The discovery of photographs in an album ­- of her Spanish grandfather who joined Hitler's Wehrmacht and her father in the uniform of Franco's army- leads Caterina Pascual Söderbaum to explore her family's links to some of the most abhorrent passages of twentieth-century history. Her mother turns out to be related to Kristina Söderbaum, a celebrated Swedish film star of the Third Reich, adored by Goebbels.She travels with husband and child to the shores of the idyllic Attersee in Austria, where the officers of the extermination camps spent their holidays. The journey continues from Schloss Hartheim, where the staff of the Nazi euthanasia programme forgot, with the help of alcohol and sex, the horrors that took place there, to the Villa Saint-Jean, where malnourished children from France's internment camps were sent to recover. This imaginative rediscovery of her own family's disturbing history is fused with vividly captured episodes from other lives and times, and the threads of evil that she lays bare are described in language so beautiful, so subtle and painterly, that her odyssey is at once shattering and mesmerising.Translated from the Swedish by Frank Perry

Quercus

Last Dance in Havana

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

The Oddest Little Romance Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good

'I love Beth Good's quirky style!' - Katie Fforde Izzie has the perfect plan for a perfect life. Work hard, get married, settle down, start a family. But when a mysterious Valentine's day card arrives, asking in a bold scrawl, 'Will you marry me?', it upends everything.Because Izzie thought she'd found Mr Right - and the card isn't from him.Puzzled, she sets out to discover the identity of her secret admirer . . . and is shocked by the truth. Torn in two directions, Izzie doesn't know what to do.Should she stick to the plan, or is it time to take life in a bold new direction?Another quirky, charming novella in the 'Oddest Little Shop' series from popular romantic comedy writer Beth Good.

Quercus

A World on Fire

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage
Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Quercus

The Oddest Little Book Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good

Escape to the gorgeous seaside resort of Port Pol, where love and laughter overflow in the Cornish sunshine.'I love Beth Good's quirky style!' - bestselling author, Katie FfordeAfter ten long years away, television star Daisy Diamond is finally going home.She's not back at the gorgeous seaside resort of Port Pol in sunny Cornwall five minutes before she realises the mistake she's made. Her childhood sweetheart Nick Old - affectionately known as 'Devil' - is still living there, running the local bookshop, and he is determined to rekindle their flame.Daisy is no longer the dewy-eyed romantic of her school days. Her life may not have gone according to plan, but she's not afraid to show Nick how much she's grown since he famously dumped her at the school leavers' disco. Even if it means bending her heart out of shape a little . . . A charming summer novella from popular romantic comedy writer Beth Good and another entry in her quirky 'Oddest Little Shop' series.

Quercus

The Oddest Little Beach Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good

'I love Beth Good's quirky style!' - bestselling author Katie FfordeFrom the first day of Annie's arrival in the sleepy Cornish resort of Polzel, next-door neighbour Gabriel seems determined to make her life difficult.Despite his sexy looks and angelic name, Gabriel behaves like an ogre to everyone, and has apparently been that way since losing his wife in a surfing accident. Annie would do far better, her friend Claudia urges her, to focus her attentions on Jamie instead. Jamie's the hottest lifeguard in the village - and her co-worker in the Polzel beach shop.But when Polzel's famous annual pie-rolling contest sees Annie and Gabriel forced together, it turns out Annie might have a thing for big Cornish ogres after all . . .A feel-good summer novella from popular romantic comedy writer Beth Good and another quirky entry in her 'Oddest Little Shop' series.

Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim
Quercus

Relight My Fire

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe
Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor
Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley