Naomi Foyle - The Blood of the Hoopoe - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782069225
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782069249
    • Publication date:14 Dec 2017
Books in this series

The Blood of the Hoopoe

The Gaia Chronicles Book 3

By Naomi Foyle

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Astra Ordott is the long-prophesied icon of unification for the peoples of Is-Land and Non-Land - but is she ready to accept her destiny? This gripping SF novel is 'for Hunger Games fans of all ages' says Library Journal. Perfect for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and Joyce Carol Oates.

Is Astra ready to accept her destiny? A gripping novel for 'Hunger Games fans of all ages' says Library Journal.

War is breaking out in Kadingir. Still struggling to accept her role as a long prophesied icon of unification between Is-Land and Non-Land, Astra Ordott is on a journey across the wind sands to join her father and his people - the mystics of Shiimti, who claim to hold the secret of truly healing the damaged relationship between human beings and the Earth.

Astra's desperate to get there quickly, but when her guide and companion, the shepherd Muzi, leads her off course into the path of a vicious sandstorm, she is forced to confront what the gods of their devastated world might be telling her: that there will be no refuge from her destiny.

Biographical Notes

Naomi Foyle was born in London, grew up in Hong Kong, Liverpool and Canada, and currently lives in Brighton. She spent three years in Korea, teaching English, writing travel journalism and acting in Korean educational television. She is a highly regarded poet and performer.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784299712
  • Publication date: 05 May 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
Foyle has built a fascinating portrait, often reminiscent of Ursula K. Le Guin in its layered complexity, and threaded it into a fascinating coming of age story. Gripping — Love Reading on Rook Song
This is excellent Science Fiction and I heartily recommend it ... reminiscent of LeGuin — Birmingham SF Group on Astra
Naomi Foyle has a mastery of plotting and a way with words that's truly remarkable — Over The Effing Rainbow
Rook Song is brave and unexpected . . . if you like your SF intelligent and stimulating do yourself a favour and pick up both Astra and Rook Song. You won't regret it — Upcoming4me
MacLehose Press

Tropic of Violence

Nathacha Appanah
Authors:
Nathacha Appanah
Quercus

Harry Price III

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

Quercus

An Autumn Hunting

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim
Quercus

A Summer Revenge

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan

'Even better than Child 44. Akyl Borubaev is a terrific creation' Anthony Horowitz'Just keeps getting better . . . buy the whole series right away' Peter Robinson, No.1 bestselling author of Sleeping in the GroundIN THE BURNING HEAT OF THE SUN, MURDER IS DEADLY COLD.Having resigned from Bishkek Murder Squad, Akyl Borubaev is a lone wolf with blood on his hands. Then the Minister of State Security promises Akyl his old life back . . . if Akyl finds his vanished mistress. The beautiful Natasha Sulonbekova has disappeared in Dubai with information that could destroy the Minister's career.But when Borubaev arrives in Dubai - straight into a scene of horrific carnage - he learns that what Natasha is carrying is worth far more than a damaged reputation. Discovering the truth plunges him into a deadly game that means he might never return to Kyrgyzstan . . . at least, not alive.'Storytelling of the highest quality . . . Callaghan is a new voice to be welcomed' Daily Mail

Quercus

Stories for Boys Who Dare to be Different

Ben Brooks
Authors:
Ben Brooks

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls successfully addressed the huge gender imbalance in children's books in the representation of girls. But boys need to know that prince charmings and brave hunters are not the only role-models either. In fact, a whole lot of them out there don't identify with the idea of being a strong, independent, competitive saviour who never cries. As a boy, there is an assumption that you will conform to this stereotypical idea of masculinity, but what if you're the introvert kind, what if you prefer to pick up a book rather than a sword, what if you're very sensitive, what if you like the idea of wearing a dress?As statistics keep showing that there is an ongoing crisis with regards to young men and mental health, with unhelpful gender stereotypes contributing to this malaise, Stories for Boys Who Dare To Be Different offers a welcome alternative narrative. It is an extraordinary compilation of 100 stories of famous and not-so-famous men from the past to the present day, every single one of them a rule-breaker and innovator in his own way, and all going on to achieve extraordinary things. Entries include Frank Ocean, Salvador Dali, Rimbaud, Beethoven, Barack Obama, Ai Weiwei and Jesse Owens - different sorts of heroes from all walks of life and from all over the world.A beautiful and transporting book packed with stories of adventure and wonderment, it will appeal to those who need the courage to reject peer pressure and go against the grain. It will educate and entertain, while also encourage and inspire.

Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe
Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris

Calexa Rose Dunhill died once, just for a moment - but now someone wants her dead permanentlyThe shocking conclusion to Cemetery Girl by Charlaine Harris, no. 1 bestselling creator of Sookie Stackhouse, and Christopher Golden, bestselling co-creator of Baltimore.They call her the Ghost of Dunhill Cemetery, but most people think 'the Cemetery Girl' is just a story. In some ways, that's true. Her chosen name is Calexa Rose Dunhill, but she doesn't know her real name. When she first arrived here, all she knew was that someone had tried to murder her: they'd dumped her body and left her for dead. Calexa has been hiding out here, afraid to seek out her true identity for fear that her would-be murderer would find her and finish the job. And someone is searching for her . . . a man named Salazar, who holds the key that will unlock the secrets of Calexa's past.Calexa has new secrets as well, including the fact that she was murdered: she did die, if only for a moment - but in that moment, something changed inside her. Now, if someone dies near her, their spirit is drawn to Calexa, drawn into her. It has happened twice before, but now, as her worst fears come true and the killers have found her trail, the third ghost to take up residence in Calexa's soul will change everything.The Cemetery Girl's story is about to reach a shocking conclusion!

Quercus

A Handful of Happiness

Massimo Vacchetta
Authors:
Massimo Vacchetta
Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
Quercus

Killer Women

Nigel Cawthorne
Authors:
Nigel Cawthorne

Jo Fletcher Books

Stained Light

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle
riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani
Quercus

The Little Book of Ikigai

Ken Mogi
Authors:
Ken Mogi

'FORGET HYGGE. IT'S ALL ABOUT IKIGAI (THAT'S JAPANESE FOR A HAPPY LIFE)' The TimesFind out how to live a long and happy life thanks to the ikigai miracle, a Japanese philosophy that helps you find fulfilment, joy and mindfulness in everything you do.It is extraordinary that Japanese men's longevity ranks 4th in the world, while Japanese women's ranks 2nd. But perhaps this comes as no surprise when you know that the Japanese understanding of ikigai is embedded in their daily life and in absolutely everything that they do. In their professional careers, in their relationships with family members, in the hobbies they cultivate so meticulously. Ken Mogi identifies five key pillars to ikigai:Pillar 1: Starting smallPillar 2: Releasing yourselfPillar 3:Harmony and sustainabilityPillar 4:The joy of little thingsPillar 5:Being in the here and nowThe Japanese talk about ikigai as 'a reason to get up in the morning'. It is something that keeps one's enthusiasm for life going, whether you are a cleaner of the famous Shinkansen bullet train, the mother of a newborn child or a Michelin-starred sushi chef. The Five Pillars at the heart of everything they do.But how do you find your own ikigai? How does ikigai contribute to happiness? Neuroscientist and bestselling Japanese writer Ken Mogi provides an absorbing insight into this way of life, incorporating scientific research and first-hand experience, and providing a colourful narrative of Japanese culture and history along the way.

MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting
Quercus

The Templars' Last Secret

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Quercus

The Italian Quarter

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa

Sophie is only a quarter Italian. But that quarter is her charismatic grandfather Cesare, and he has instilled in her a great love of her Italian heritage. So when a journalist starts to investigate Cesare's war record, Sophie reluctantly questions just how proud she should really be. She embarks upon a journey into the past which takes her from nineteenth-century Naples to London's Italian quarter and one of the war's forgotten tragedies. And along the way she also learns something very important about herself...

Quercus

Relish

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith

The eye-opening story of one woman's incredible appetite for life: Prue Leith, judge of C4's GREAT BRITISH BAKE OFF and former judge of BBC2's GREAT BRITISH MENU.'What a terrific tale it is - of a South African girl who could stand the heat and made the kitchen into a remarkable career' TelegraphPrue Leith describes herself as greedy in all senses of the word. Cook, caterer, restaurateur, food writer, journalist, novelist, businesswoman, teacher, television presenter, charity worker, lover, wife and mother, she has certainly been greedy for life. Prue came to London in the early 1960s and, not long afterwards, opened Leith's Restaurant. By the mid-seventies she was a food columnist on the Daily Mail, had published several cookbooks and opened Leith's School of Food and Wine. But it wasn't all work. Prue writes with honesty of her affairs, her longing for children, the birth of her son, the adoption of her daughter and many other things besides. Prue's down-to-earth attitude is an inspiration.