Hilary Boyd - Thursdays in the Park - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857385543
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2011
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782067535
    • Publication date:31 Jan 2013

Thursdays in the Park

By Hilary Boyd

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The bestselling debut novel exploring love and passion in later life, for fans of Erica James and Veronica Henry

"A WARM AND WELL-WRITTEN CASE FOR LOVE AFFAIRS IN LATER LIFE" (DAILY TELEGRAPH) - A ROMANTIC TALE OF NEW ATTRACTION AND OLD LOYALTIES FROM #1 KINDLE BESTSELLING NOVELIST HILARY BOYD. If you like Erica James, Harriet Evans and Veronica Henry, you'll love Hilary Boyd.

SPECIAL 5TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION OF THE EBOOK PHENOMENON. Includes reading group questions and the first chapter of Hilary's beautiful new book, The Lavender House.

Jeanie has been married for thirty years, but her husband George has become so cold and distant she may as well be alone. Surely, at just sixty, a loveless marriage can't be the only thing left on the horizon? Then, one Thursday in autumn, Jeanie meets Ray in the park, and a chance meeting blossoms into a friendship.

They talk, laugh, share hopes and secrets and heartbreaks.

They offer each other a second chance at life and love.

But will they have the courage to take it?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786481306
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Quercus
I found myself instantly gripped — The Times
Thoroughly enjoyable read . . . a real page turner — Good Housekeeping
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Alain Delambre is a 57-year-old former HR executive, drained by four years of hopeless unemployment.All he is offered are small, demoralizing jobs. He has reached his very lowest ebb, and can see no way out.So when a major company finally invites him to an interview, Alain Delambre is ready to do anything, borrow money, shame his wife and his daughters and even participate in the ultimate recruitment test: a role-playing game that involves hostage-taking.Alain Delambre commits body and soul in this struggle to regain his dignity.But if he suddenly realised that the dice had been loaded against him from the start, his fury would be limitless.And what began as a role-play game could quickly become a bloodbath.

Quercus

Anyone for Seconds?

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham

'Why is Laurie Graham not carried on people's shoulders through cheering crowds? Her books are brilliant!' MARIAN KEYESThe laugh-out-loud sequel to Perfect Meringues - can former queen of the TV cooks Lizzie Partridge claw her way back into the nation's hearts?Life has been going downhill for ex-TV chef Lizzie Partridge ever since she spectacularly ended her television career by throwing a chocolate mousse at the host of Midlands This Morning. Her partner Tom has left her, Nigella and Jamie have got the cookery world sewn up, and now her restaurant reviewing column - her last bit of work - has been axed. Surely the only way is up from here?In a desperate bid for sympathy and attention she runs away, from the gas bill and the mouse under the sink, and in wet and wintry Aberystwyth she experiences a brush with her past and a glimmer of new prospects. And when her nephew - now a TV producer - has the bright idea to reunite her with her former nemesis and target of the mousse attack in a new show, it seems like things could be going Lizzie's way again after all!

Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim
riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani

'Guglani is the real deal' Michel Faber'Profound . . . Poetic . . . Humane' Gabriel Weston'Shows rare skill . . . Power and fear and morality' Sarah Moss, author of The Tidal Zone'Tender . . . designed to break your heart, mend it, then break it all over again' Rory Gleeson, author of Rockadoon ShoreHistories is a hypnotic portrait of life in one hospital, over one week. In the corridors and consulting rooms, by the bedside, through the open curtain, we witness charged encounters within the emotional and physical world of medicine. Old insecurities surface as junior doctors try to save a man from dying; an enraged chaplain picks a fight with a consultant; a porter waxes lyrical on his invisibility. These are only some of the stories that so seamlessly connect, collide and create an unforgettable panorama of being. Sam Guglani's vivid prose has the raw intensity of poetry that pulls the reader in on every page.

Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

'A real page-turner, with a fast, credible plot and interesting characters' 5* reader review. What would it take for you to give up on the perfect husband? Thought-provoking, emotional women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK.Lily and Freddy have a wonderful relationship: passionate and fun. Freddy taught her to love again after the death of her father. But then Freddy becomes tense, snappy and distracted. Is he having an affair? The truth turns out to be much worse...Freddy is addicted to gambling. He owes hundreds of thousands of pounds to loan companies; he's been helping himself to money from his own company, which has now gone bust; and worst of all, his wife's money - given to him to invest - is gone. Devastated, Lily leaves him, and moves to stay with her sister in Oxford. There, among the dreaming spires, she will clear her head of Freddy and try to figure out how to move on.But being away from Freddy is far harder than she'd thought. He promises to get help, but can he really ever be cured of his addiction? How can Lily trust him again - surely, after the heartache he's caused her, she would be far better off walking away and starting again? The truth is, she is as addicted to Freddy as he is to gambling - and she's not sure she even wants to be free.

MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
Jo Fletcher Books

City of Miracles

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett
Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?(P)2016 WF Howes

Quercus

While My Eyes Were Closed

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

THE #1 BESTSELLER: a nail-biting psychological drama for fans of Liane Moriarty and CL Taylor.One, two, three . . . Lisa Dale shuts her eyes and counts to one hundred during a game of hide-and-seek. When she opens them, her four-year-old daughter Ella is gone. Disappeared without a trace. The police, the media and Lisa's family all think they know who snatched Ella. But what if the person who took her isn't a stranger? What if they are convinced they are doing the right thing? And what if Lisa's little girl is in danger of disappearing forever?

Quercus

The Canary Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

Meet Me on the Beach

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Where do you run when your heart's breaking all the rules?When pillar-of-the-community Harry Stewart dies of a sudden heart attack, the whole village is devastated - except for his wife Karen, the only one who really knew the abusive alcoholic Harry had become. Suddenly freed from this oppressive marriage, Karen is nonetheless wracked with guilt about the circumstances of her husband's death, and sees the presence of her spoiled step-daughter, Sophie, as a suitable purgatory. Her only comfort in her grief and isolation is William, the sympathetic local vicar. As Karen shares her secret, William's listening ear soon becomes a shoulder to cry on, and before long Karen realises she is falling in love. But William has a wife and teenaged daughter, not to mention a parish to watch over - and be watched by. As the pressure becomes too much to bear, Karen flees to the seaside and to Mike Best's beach café. But when William suddenly turns up again in her life, can they persuade each other to take one final leap of faith together?

Quercus

The Beach Cafe

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
Quercus

The Other Child

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins
Quercus

The Saffron Trail

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
riverrun

Land Where I Flee

Prajwal Parajuly
Authors:
Prajwal Parajuly
Quercus

A Most Desirable Marriage

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

MacLehose Press

A Naked Singularity

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
Quercus

Loss of Innocence

Davi Patterson, Richard North Patterson
Authors:
Davi Patterson, Richard North Patterson

MacLehose Press

Brief Loves That Live Forever

Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine