Hilary Boyd - Thursdays in the Park - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857385543
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2011
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782067535
    • Publication date:31 Jan 2013

Thursdays in the Park

By Hilary Boyd

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The bestselling debut novel exploring love and passion in later life, for fans of Erica James and Veronica Henry

"A WARM AND WELL-WRITTEN CASE FOR LOVE AFFAIRS IN LATER LIFE" (DAILY TELEGRAPH) - A ROMANTIC TALE OF NEW ATTRACTION AND OLD LOYALTIES FROM #1 KINDLE BESTSELLING NOVELIST HILARY BOYD. If you like Erica James, Harriet Evans and Veronica Henry, you'll love Hilary Boyd.

SPECIAL 5TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION OF THE EBOOK PHENOMENON. Includes reading group questions and the first chapter of Hilary's beautiful new book, The Lavender House.

Jeanie has been married for thirty years, but her husband George has become so cold and distant she may as well be alone. Surely, at just sixty, a loveless marriage can't be the only thing left on the horizon? Then, one Thursday in autumn, Jeanie meets Ray in the park, and a chance meeting blossoms into a friendship.

They talk, laugh, share hopes and secrets and heartbreaks.

They offer each other a second chance at life and love.

But will they have the courage to take it?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786481306
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Quercus
I found myself instantly gripped — The Times
Thoroughly enjoyable read . . . a real page turner — Good Housekeeping
MacLehose Press

All the Lives We Never Lived

Anuradha Roy
Authors:
Anuradha Roy
Jo Fletcher Books

Wyntertide

Andrew Caldecott
Authors:
Andrew Caldecott
riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland

'Biting, funny, brilliantly subversive' Louise O'Neill'Highly-polished satire . . . Hilarious' Sunday Times'Funny, fierce, feminist' RedCat Ono, feminist powerhouse and high-flying editor at RAGE magazine, knows the price of fashion. Her friend - found dead in her office - just paid it. Everyone thinks Hillary dieted to death, but Cat suspects if beauty kills, it'd take more than that. She's sure she can match the investigating skills of the smart (and conveniently hot) Detective Mark Hutton, solve the case and achieve sartorial perfection.But when Cat goes undercover, she gets in over her head. Soon she's snared in a very stylish web of drugs, sex, lies and moisturizer that will change her look - and outlook - forever.

MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
MacLehose Press

About the Size of the Universe

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson

A modern saga spanning the whole of the 20th century, by one of Iceland's most celebrated writers.At the beginning of this story there is death, and yet it is a celebration of life ? the lives of many generations of Ari's family ? of the passion between a man and a woman, forbidden love, violence, sorrow, betrayal. Happiness and misfortune are passed down from one generation to the next ? the sorrow over what was and what might have been weighs heavily on the characters ? and at the end of this chain, for now, stands Ari, on his way to his dying father, with a score still to be settled. The raw beauty of life is written into the dramatic Icelandic landscape, and into a society that has undergone great transformation within a century. In language both archaic and lyrical, and yet entirely contemporary and refreshingly full of humour, Jón Kalman Stefánsson proves himself to be one of the finest European writers of his generation.A companion volume to Fish Have No Feet (longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize 2017).Translated from the Icelandic by Philip Roughton

riverrun

The Blackhouse

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong

China. The year is 1200. The Song Empire has been defeated in the north by invading Jurchen forces. Pushed further south, the empire is in danger of collapse and the Chinese population is furious. Now it falls to lone patriots trained in the martial arts to save China. Guo Jing's father was one such hero, killed in defence of his country. His mother was forced to flee to the edges of the empire, where Guo Jing was brought up fighting with Genghis Khan. Yang Kang, Guo Jing's sworn brother since birth, grew up to a different fate among the enemy. Enter Qiu Chuji, a Taoist priest famed for his martial prowess and burning patriotism. Enlisting the help of the eccentric band of martial artists known as the Seven Freaks of the South, he must find the two young men and train them in a way befitting the memory of their fathers, to take back China.Translated from the Chinese by Anna Holmwood

Quercus

Before We Were Yours

Lisa Wingate
Authors:
Lisa Wingate
riverrun

The Secret of Vesalius

Jordi Llobregat
Authors:
Jordi Llobregat
Quercus

Things I Wish I'd Known

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

A Forbidden Love, A Devastating Secret...When Claire discovers the list she wrote as a teenager entitled '20 Years From Now', she realises how far removed her life is from the one she'd imagined. Divorced, stuck in a dead-end job and dating a man who is desperate to settle down to a future she doesn't want, she decides it's time to put her life back on track.'A really emotional twist which I was in no way expecting!' Amazon reader. From the bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed comes a poignant novel about what could have been...

Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
MacLehose Press

The Gravity of Love

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg

A dazzlingly inventive and acclaimed novel set in a Stockholm psychiatric hospital - by one of Sweden's most exciting literary talents"I'll put my head in the oven so you know where I am," he whispers, kissing her neck.Jim - charming, captivating, much loved by his women friends - has attempted suicide several times. Over his period of incarceration at the Beckomberga hospital for the mentally unstable, he voices his determination to succeed. Some day soon, he tells his daughter - as he has earlier told his mother and his wife - he will swallow sixty tablets, help them down with a bottle of whisky, and swim impossibly far out into the Atlantic.Will he, really? This question plagues Jim's daughter, the narrator of this powerful novel, who is as addicted to the hospital as her father is to alcohol. Through her subtle observations we understand the emotional needs of diehard alcoholics, the rationally uxoricidal, and other seemingly normal inhabitants of a psychiatric unit in the process of shutting down, depriving them of the only place they have known as home.A Magic Mountain for our times, for readers of Eimear McBride and Alexander Masters.Translated from the Swedish by Deborah Bragan-Turner

Quercus

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri
Quercus

Beneath the Surface

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
MacLehose Press

The Ropewalker

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross
Quercus

Last Dance in Havana

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Quercus

What She Never Told Me

Kate McQuaile
Authors:
Kate McQuaile
Quercus

Meet Me on the Beach

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
Quercus

With Our Blessing

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

THE TOP TEN IRISH BESTSELLER. Shortlisted for the 2015 Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition. Discover more DI Tom Reynolds with the next book in the series, Beneath the Surface.It's true what they say . . . revenge is sweet.1975. A baby, minutes old, is forcibly taken from its devastated mother.2010. The body of an elderly woman is found in a Dublin public park in the depths of winter.Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds is working the case. He's convinced the murder is linked to historical events that took place in the notorious Magdalene Laundries. Reynolds and his team follow the trail to an isolated convent in the Irish countryside. But once inside, it becomes disturbingly clear that the killer is amongst them . . . and is determined to exact further vengeance for the sins of the past.