Jane Housham - The Apprentice of Split Crow Lane - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786481603
    • Publication date:24 Aug 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786481597
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786482891
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2016

The Apprentice of Split Crow Lane

The Story of the Carr's Hill Murder

By Jane Housham

  • Hardback
  • £20.00

The investigation into a Gateshead child murder reveals the Victorians - their classes, their justice and their scandals - as never before

A Victorian Murder. A Victorian Madman. A Modern Judgement.

Gateshead, April 1866

Five-year-old Sarah Melvin was walking along Split Crow Lane looking for her father when she disappeared. Later that night a couple walking home from the pub tripped over her body.

Sarah was the child of Irish immigrants who had been drawn to the North-east in search of work. Poor, perceived with prejudice, they quickly came under suspicion of killing their own child.

The true murderer was a misfit whose social awkwardness stopped him ever rising above apprentice. He would eventually make clear exactly why he killed Sarah - and the reason would scandalise the whole country, yet to him had a dreadful logic.

Told here for the first time, this is an extraordinary story of sexual deviance and murder, offering a chance to reassess a most unexpected judgement with new insight. In lively, empathic prose, Jane Housham explores psychiatry, the justice system and the media in mid-Victorian England to reveal a surprisingly modern state of affairs.

Biographical Notes

Jane Housham grew up in Richmond, Yorkshire and is proud of her North East heritage. She is the publisher at University of Hertfordshire Press and also reviews books for the Guardian.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786481580
  • Publication date: 03 Nov 2016
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: riverrun
Gripping - reveals a society in moral turmoil — William Shaw
Well-written and excellently researched, this chilling tale of a Victorian sex murder opens out into an investigation into the workings of the lunatic mind and the asylums which treat it — Julie Peakman
This was a fascinating read, particularly for those who are interested in Victorian provision of the criminally insane . . . She also gives us a flavour of the population of the time, of the haves and the have-nots and really conjures up details of the place where the crime was committed in astonishing detail . . . enlightening and clear-sighted — Cleopatra Loves Books
Housham is a dogged researcher and evocative writer. She sheds a powerful light on the era, skilfully describing the febrile, lawless atmosphere of 1860s Gateshead — Jenny McCartney, Mail on Sunday
Quercus

The Man on the Street

Trevor Wood
Authors:
Trevor Wood
Quercus

The Boy Who Fell

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

A story about love, family secrets, and a little piece of heaven . . .In the beautiful village of Vernazza, the Mazzone family have transformed an old convent overlooking the glamorous Italian Riviera into the elegant Lemon Tree Hotel. For Chiara, her daughter Elene and her granddaughter Isabella, the running of their hotel is the driving force in their lives. One day, two unexpected guests check in. The first, Dante, is a face from Chiara's past, but what exactly happened between them all those years ago, Elene wonders. Meanwhile, Isabella is preoccupied with the second guest, a mysterious young man who seems to know a lot about the history of the old convent and the people who live there. Isabella is determined to find out his true intentions and discover the secret past of the Lemon Tree Hotel.

Quercus

To See Clearly

Suzanne Fagence Cooper
Authors:
Suzanne Fagence Cooper

'To see clearly is poetry, prophecy, religion, all in one'John Ruskin - born 200 years ago, in February 1819 - was the greatest critic of his age: a critic not only of art and architecture but of society and life. But his writings - on beauty and truth, on work and leisure, on commerce and capitalism, on life and how to live it - can teach us more than ever about how to see the world around us clearly and how to live it.Dr Suzanne Fagence Cooper delves into Ruskin's writings and uncovers the dizzying beauty and clarity of his vision. Whether he was examining the exquisite carvings of a medieval cathedral or the mass-produced wares of Victorian industry, chronicling the beauties of Venice and Florence or his own descent into old age and infirmity, Ruskin saw vividly the glories and the contradictions of life, and taught us how to see them as well.

riverrun

Parkland

Dave Cullen
Authors:
Dave Cullen
Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

Operation Playboy

Kathryn Bonella
Authors:
Kathryn Bonella
Quercus

Blackberry and Wild Rose

Sonia Velton
Authors:
Sonia Velton

'Sumptuous and moving. Velton weaves her tale with the threads of betrayal, thwarted dreams and good intentions gone awry' Laura Purcell'A richly imagined and brilliantly twisty tale' Anna Mazzola'A plot as finely detailed as Spitalfields silk' Stacey HallsWHEN ESTHER THOREL, the wife of a Huguenot silk-weaver, rescues Sara Kemp from a brothel she thinks she is doing God's will. Sara is not convinced being a maid is better than being a whore, but the chance to escape her grasping 'madam' is too good to refuse.INSIDE THE THORELS' tall house in Spitalfields, where the strange cadence of the looms fills the attic, the two women forge an uneasy relationship. The physical intimacies of washing and dressing belie the reality: Sara despises her mistress's blindness to the hypocrisy of her household, while Esther is too wrapped up in her own secrets to see Sara as anything more than another charitable cause.IT IS SILK that has Esther so distracted. For years she has painted her own designs, dreaming that one day her husband will weave them into reality. When he laughs at her ambition, she unwittingly sets in motion events that will change the fate of the whole Thorel household and set the scene for a devastating day of reckoning between her and Sara.THE PRICE OF a piece of silk may prove more than either is able to pay.

Quercus

Winter Without You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good

'This book is perfect for a winter afternoon when you need something to cheer you up. It's cozy, heartwarming, and enjoyable' Anna, NetGalley reviewerA cosy winter romance to warm you heart, perfect for fans of Heidi Swain and Lucy Diamond After the death of her boyfriend, Hannah Clitheroe is hiding away from the world. But when she discovers she's inherited a house in Cornwall, she makes the move to the small, cosy town of Pethporro.Her estranged grandmother lived in Kernow House for years, but Hannah soon realises someone else thinks it's rightfully theirs: Raphael Tregar, a difficult yet incredibly handsome man who quickly gets under her skin.As winter sets in, there's one thing for certain: she won't be spending this Christmas alone... See what REAL READERS are saying about Winter Without You: 'If you want a quality romance with a difference this is it.' Michelle, NetGalley reviewer'One of my favourite authors - a warm hug of a book, perfect for those cold winter days, it is heartwarming, funny in places, with hints of romance ... I would have happily read this in one sitting, and was sorely tempted to' - Rachel Gilbey, Rachel's Random Reads'Charming, poignant and absolutely magical' Julie, NetGalley reviewer'It's a warm and comforting hug of a book and I loved it' Jo, NetGalley reviewer'Filled with all of the magic and sparkle of the festive season. This is a Christmas book not to be missed.' Karen, NetGalley reviewer

Quercus

Killer Women

Nigel Cawthorne
Authors:
Nigel Cawthorne
Quercus

The Oddest Little Cornish Tea Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

The Oddest Little Chocolate Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Oddest Little Book Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Oddest Little Beach Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
riverrun

City of Devils

Paul French
Authors:
Paul French
Quercus

Killing Goldfinger

Wensley Clarkson
Authors:
Wensley Clarkson

The inside story of the life and death of Britain's criminal kingpin and the empire he builtKILLING GOLDFINGER charts the extraordinary rise and spectacular bullet-riddled fall of John Palmer, the richest, most powerful criminal ever to have emerged from the modern British underworld. During the late 1990s, Palmer was rated as rich as The Queen by the Sunday Times Rich List.Palmer earned his nickname Goldfinger after smelting (in his back garden) tens of millions of pounds worth of stolen gold bullion from the 20th century's most lucrative heist; the Brink's-Mat robbery. Palmer then used his share of the millions to become the vicious overlord of a vast illegal timeshare property empire in Tenerife. At the same time,Goldfinger financed huge international drugs shipments as well as some of the most notorious UK robberies of the past 30 years, including the £50m Securitas heist in Kent in 2006 and, many believe, the Hatton Garden heist in 2015.Palmer vowed to hunt down all his underworld enemies. But in the end it was those same criminals who decided to bring his life to an end. Murdered in June 2015, with charges of fraud, money laundering and worse pending, this book tells his murky story for the first time.As outrageous and bullet-riddled as the hit Netflix series Narcos, Killing Goldfinger tells the true story of Britain's underworld kingpin, who turned the sunshine holiday island of Tenerife into his very own Crime Incorporated and then paid the ultimate price.

riverrun

Out of Thin Air

Anthony Adeane
Authors:
Anthony Adeane
Quercus

The Little Theatre by the Sea

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley