Daisy Bell - The Christmas Guest - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786484413
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2016
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786481726
    • Publication date:16 Nov 2017

The Christmas Guest

A Puppy for Christmas, A Friend for Life

By Daisy Bell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'A heart-melting Christmas story about the sweetest little dog bringing happiness to a family who needs him as much as he needs them' Amazon reviewer. Meet Teddy: the homeless puppy with a huge heart who healed a family.

The heartwarming tale of a homeless puppy with a huge heart
When Teddy runs away from home a week before Christmas, he is confronted by a cold, scary and oh, so big world. Then he finds the Woods family. With their kind hearts and cosy cottage, Teddy forms a special bond with Claire and Ben, but it's in little Emily that he finds the best friend he needs. But Emily is ill, and raising a puppy is hardly a priority for her stressed parents. If only he can prove to them how much happier he can make them all, Teddy might just find his forever home this Christmas...

'A heart-melting Christmas story about the sweetest little dog bringing happiness to a family' Amazon reviewer.

Biographical Notes

Daisy Bell lives in London. She loves baking gingerbread and decorating the Christmas tree, but always leaves the gift-wrapping until the last possible moment!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786481733
  • Publication date: 20 Oct 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
An uplifting novel that captures the Christmas spirit - making it the perfect holiday read — Your Dog
This story is a delight to read, a heart-melting Christmas story about the sweetest little dog bringing healing and happiness to a family who needs him as much as he needs them — Kitty Loves Books
There's more to this story than simply the cute dog on the cover (though of course he is a delight) - through Emily and her family's story, there are parts of this book that bring out a range of emotions and have you fighting back the tears — Reviewed the Book
If you are in need of an upbeat, feel good story then this really is the book for you. I would definitely give this book 5* out of 5*- in fact I would give this book more stars if I could as I enjoyed it that much — Ginger Book Geek
I truly loved it! This might not be your usual read but I promise you, if you take a chance on this sweet, festive and heart-warming story you really will not be disappointed! I loved it, and hope you will too! — Chloe's Chick Lit Reviews
MacLehose Press

Tropic of Violence

Nathacha Appanah
Authors:
Nathacha Appanah
Quercus

Harry Price III

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Quercus

An Autumn Hunting

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim
Quercus

A Summer Revenge

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Quercus

Stories for Boys Who Dare to be Different

Ben Brooks
Authors:
Ben Brooks
Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe
Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris

Calexa Rose Dunhill died once, just for a moment - but now someone wants her dead permanentlyThe shocking conclusion to Cemetery Girl by Charlaine Harris, no. 1 bestselling creator of Sookie Stackhouse, and Christopher Golden, bestselling co-creator of Baltimore.They call her the Ghost of Dunhill Cemetery, but most people think 'the Cemetery Girl' is just a story. In some ways, that's true. Her chosen name is Calexa Rose Dunhill, but she doesn't know her real name. When she first arrived here, all she knew was that someone had tried to murder her: they'd dumped her body and left her for dead. Calexa has been hiding out here, afraid to seek out her true identity for fear that her would-be murderer would find her and finish the job. And someone is searching for her . . . a man named Salazar, who holds the key that will unlock the secrets of Calexa's past.Calexa has new secrets as well, including the fact that she was murdered: she did die, if only for a moment - but in that moment, something changed inside her. Now, if someone dies near her, their spirit is drawn to Calexa, drawn into her. It has happened twice before, but now, as her worst fears come true and the killers have found her trail, the third ghost to take up residence in Calexa's soul will change everything.The Cemetery Girl's story is about to reach a shocking conclusion!

Quercus

A Handful of Happiness

Massimo Vacchetta
Authors:
Massimo Vacchetta
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
Quercus

Blood Feud

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

They came for her family. Now she's coming for them. This nail-biting thriller introduces Glasgow's newest gangland mistress, Kerry Casey - a gripping read perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.Kerry Casey thought she'd made a life away from the dirty dealings of her gangster family. Her father wanted to make them legit - her brother Mickey had other ideas, and now it's got him killed. When Mickey's funeral turns into a bloodbath at the hands of a group of anonymous shooters and Kerry's mother is killed in the crossfire, Kerry finds herself at the head of the Casey family, and desperate for revenge.Running a crime empire is not a job she ever asked for, and not one she wants, but Kerry is determined to fulfil her father's wishes and make the Caseys go straight. First, though, she will find the men who murdered her mother, and she will take them down, no matter what it takes.

Quercus

Killer Women

Nigel Cawthorne
Authors:
Nigel Cawthorne
riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani

'Guglani is the real deal' Michel Faber'Profound . . . Poetic . . . Humane' Gabriel Weston'Shows rare skill . . . Power and fear and morality' Sarah Moss, author of The Tidal Zone'Tender . . . designed to break your heart, mend it, then break it all over again' Rory Gleeson, author of Rockadoon ShoreHistories is a hypnotic portrait of life in one hospital, over one week. In the corridors and consulting rooms, by the bedside, through the open curtain, we witness charged encounters within the emotional and physical world of medicine. Old insecurities surface as junior doctors try to save a man from dying; an enraged chaplain picks a fight with a consultant; a porter waxes lyrical on his invisibility. These are only some of the stories that so seamlessly connect, collide and create an unforgettable panorama of being. Sam Guglani's vivid prose has the raw intensity of poetry that pulls the reader in on every page.

Quercus

The Little Book of Ikigai

Ken Mogi
Authors:
Ken Mogi

'FORGET HYGGE. IT'S ALL ABOUT IKIGAI (THAT'S JAPANESE FOR A HAPPY LIFE)' The TimesFind out how to live a long and happy life thanks to the ikigai miracle, a Japanese philosophy that helps you find fulfilment, joy and mindfulness in everything you do.It is extraordinary that Japanese men's longevity ranks 4th in the world, while Japanese women's ranks 2nd. But perhaps this comes as no surprise when you know that the Japanese understanding of ikigai is embedded in their daily life and in absolutely everything that they do. In their professional careers, in their relationships with family members, in the hobbies they cultivate so meticulously. Ken Mogi identifies five key pillars to ikigai:Pillar 1: Starting smallPillar 2: Releasing yourselfPillar 3:Harmony and sustainabilityPillar 4:The joy of little thingsPillar 5:Being in the here and nowThe Japanese talk about ikigai as 'a reason to get up in the morning'. It is something that keeps one's enthusiasm for life going, whether you are a cleaner of the famous Shinkansen bullet train, the mother of a newborn child or a Michelin-starred sushi chef. The Five Pillars at the heart of everything they do.But how do you find your own ikigai? How does ikigai contribute to happiness? Neuroscientist and bestselling Japanese writer Ken Mogi provides an absorbing insight into this way of life, incorporating scientific research and first-hand experience, and providing a colourful narrative of Japanese culture and history along the way.

MacLehose Press

A People without a Past

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross
MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting
Quercus

The Italian Quarter

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa

Sophie is only a quarter Italian. But that quarter is her charismatic grandfather Cesare, and he has instilled in her a great love of her Italian heritage. So when a journalist starts to investigate Cesare's war record, Sophie reluctantly questions just how proud she should really be. She embarks upon a journey into the past which takes her from nineteenth-century Naples to London's Italian quarter and one of the war's forgotten tragedies. And along the way she also learns something very important about herself...

Quercus

Relish

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith

The eye-opening story of one woman's incredible appetite for life: Prue Leith, judge of C4's GREAT BRITISH BAKE OFF and former judge of BBC2's GREAT BRITISH MENU.'What a terrific tale it is - of a South African girl who could stand the heat and made the kitchen into a remarkable career' TelegraphPrue Leith describes herself as greedy in all senses of the word. Cook, caterer, restaurateur, food writer, journalist, novelist, businesswoman, teacher, television presenter, charity worker, lover, wife and mother, she has certainly been greedy for life. Prue came to London in the early 1960s and, not long afterwards, opened Leith's Restaurant. By the mid-seventies she was a food columnist on the Daily Mail, had published several cookbooks and opened Leith's School of Food and Wine. But it wasn't all work. Prue writes with honesty of her affairs, her longing for children, the birth of her son, the adoption of her daughter and many other things besides. Prue's down-to-earth attitude is an inspiration.