Daisy Bell - The Christmas Guest - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786481719
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2016
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786481726
    • Publication date:16 Nov 2017

The Christmas Guest

A heartwarming tale you won't want to put down

By Daisy Bell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'A heart-melting Christmas story about the sweetest little dog bringing happiness to a family who needs him as much as he needs them' Amazon reviewer. Meet Teddy: the homeless puppy with a huge heart who healed a family.

The heartwarming tale of a homeless puppy with a huge heart
When Teddy runs away from home a week before Christmas, he is confronted by a cold, scary and oh, so big world. Then he finds the Woods family. With their kind hearts and cosy cottage, Teddy forms a special bond with Claire and Ben, but it's in little Emily that he finds the best friend he needs. But Emily is ill, and raising a puppy is hardly a priority for her stressed parents. If only he can prove to them how much happier he can make them all, Teddy might just find his forever home this Christmas...

'A heart-melting Christmas story about the sweetest little dog bringing happiness to a family' Amazon reviewer.

Biographical Notes

Daisy Bell lives in London. She loves baking gingerbread and decorating the Christmas tree, but always leaves the gift-wrapping until the last possible moment!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786481733
  • Publication date: 20 Oct 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
An uplifting novel that captures the Christmas spirit - making it the perfect holiday read — Your Dog
This story is a delight to read, a heart-melting Christmas story about the sweetest little dog bringing healing and happiness to a family who needs him as much as he needs them — Kitty Loves Books
There's more to this story than simply the cute dog on the cover (though of course he is a delight) - through Emily and her family's story, there are parts of this book that bring out a range of emotions and have you fighting back the tears — Reviewed the Book
If you are in need of an upbeat, feel good story then this really is the book for you. I would definitely give this book 5* out of 5*- in fact I would give this book more stars if I could as I enjoyed it that much — Ginger Book Geek
I truly loved it! This might not be your usual read but I promise you, if you take a chance on this sweet, festive and heart-warming story you really will not be disappointed! I loved it, and hope you will too! — Chloe's Chick Lit Reviews
MacLehose Press

The Slaughterman's Daughter

Yaniv Iczkovits
Authors:
Yaniv Iczkovits

riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony
riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava

"Ambitious, affecting, intelligent, plangent, comic, kooky and impassioned. I've read a lot of novels this year, between judging the Man Booker prize and the Granta Best of Young British Novelists, and I've yearned for this kind of exuberant, precise fiction" Stuart Kelly, Guardian on A Naked SingularityIt would take something huge to put Paterson, New Jersey on the map.But Nina Gill is determined to do just that. She is the daughter of the ageing owner of the Dallas Cowboys and the well-kept secret to their success. Shocked when her brother inherits the team, leaving her with the Paterson Pork, New Jersey's only Indoor Football League franchise, she vows to take on the N.F.L. and make her new team the pigskin kings of America.Meanwhile, Nuno DeAngeles - a brilliant criminal mastermind - contrives to be thrown into Rikers Island prison to commit one of the most audacious crimes of all time. Now he's on the inside, he has two good reasons to get out. But how does a person of culture go about breaking out of the penal system when the whole of the land of the free is addicted to keeping him in it?Without knowing it, or ever having met, Nina and Nuno have already had a profound effect on each other's lives. As his bid for freedom and her bid for sporting immortality reach crisis point, their stories converge in the countdown to an epic conclusion. Thrilling, touching, insightful and shockingly hilarious, De La Pava's extraordinary novel gets under the skin and into the minds of a vast cast of characters from the fringes of society - immigrants, exiles and outsiders.

riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor

You can control want, but desire controls youA smart, sexy, witty novel about love and desire, and how losing everything can sometimes be the best thing that ever happened to youAnna is a writer whose small but perfectly formed novels sell zip. When she falls on hard times and tries her hand at erotic fiction, she faces an uncomfortable truth. Though she's a wife and mother of two, her stories fail to fly because she's never experienced true sexual desire. Even her Sicilian grandmother - wearer of diamante sunglasses and knock-off Louis Vuitton - knows more than she does about true passion. A romance-writing workshop doesn't help, so Anna turns to her friends for inspiration. As secrets and desires are revealed, Anna discovers more about the people close to her than she ever knew. When Cordelia, a romance-writing classmate, suggests she borrows an alter ego to banish her inhibitions, a new world opens up to Anna and The Love Factory - a group of writers penning ever more successful sexy stories - is born. And yet Anna knows that she can't rely on borrowed passion and an alter ego forever. For her tales to truly sizzle, she needs to find a proper love of her own.

Jo Fletcher Books

City of Miracles

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett

Sigrud je Harkvaldsson is back, and this time he's out for vengeance. Shara Komayd, once Prime Minister of Saypur, has been assassinated. News travels fast and far, even to a remote logging town somewhere northwest of Bulikov, where the silent Dreyling worker 'Bjorn' picks up the newspaper and walks out. He is shocked and grieved and furious; he's been waiting thirteen years for Shara, his closest friend, to tell him to come home. Now he has no one else in his life, and nothing to live for - except to find the people who did this. Sigrud wasn't there for the death of his daughter, and he wasn't there when Shara was murdered. Now 'Bjorn' is dead and Sigrud is back. And he will find answers, for Shara, and for himself. He's made a promise . . .The awesome climax to the fantasy thrillers City of Stairs and City of Blades.

Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF SIX FOUR: A TENSE INVESTIGATION IN THE AFTERMATH OF AN AIR DISASTER.'He's a master' New York Times Book Review'Very different . . . to almost anything out there' Observer1985. Kazumasa Yuuki, a seasoned reporter at the North Kanto Times, runs a daily gauntlet against the power struggles and office politics that plague its newsroom. But when an air disaster of unprecedented scale occurs on the paper's doorstep, its staff are united by an unimaginable horror, and a once-in-a-lifetime scoop.2002. Seventeen years later, Yuuki remembers the adrenaline-fuelled, emotionally charged seven days that changed his and his colleagues' lives. He does so while making good on a promise he made that fateful week - one that holds the key to its last unsolved mystery, and represents Yuuki's final, unconquered fear.'Seventeen is a brilliant novel on any level - it's a gripping page turner, while remaining moving and complex. It's a deeply satisfying read and it will be a while before I read anything as good' William Ryan'An astringent, unforgiving picture of modern Japanese society' Guardian

Quercus

Fabulous Finn

Dave Wardell
Authors:
Dave Wardell
Quercus

Before We Were Yours

Lisa Wingate
Authors:
Lisa Wingate
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
Quercus

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley
Authors:
Debra Daley

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn.London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for sale - including entrée into the ruling class. Making their way in this buccaneering society are Carey Ravine, a spirited young woman of enigmatic background, and her husband, the charming, endlessly enterprising Oliver Nash. Carey and Nash share a historic connection to India and a desperate ambition to better themselves. But as Nash's plans draw them into a restless association of gamblers and secret societies, Carey begins to question what's really hidden behind the seedy glamour of their lives. Her unease grows with the appearance of a mysterious man whose appearance unearths a troubling secret from the past. Carey finds herself forced to investigate the truth behind the stranger's claims­­ - and to confront her own illusions about herself.

Quercus

Amelia Grey's Fireside Dream

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements

MacLehose Press

The Voyage

Murray Bail
Authors:
Murray Bail

Elizabeth Heathcote

Elizabeth Heathcote has worked as a feature writer and editor on newspapers and magazines for many years. Her jobs have included women's editor and deputy features editor at the Independent on Sunday, as well as freelance feature writing for publications such as the Independent, Observer, Guardian, Marie Claire and Red. She is presently associate editor at Psychologies magazine. Elizabeth's home is southeast London, where she lives with her partner and two children.

Euan Cameron

Euan Cameron's translations include works by Julien Green, Simone de Beauvoir and Paul Morand, and biographies of Marcel Proust and Irène Némirovsky.

Eva Rice

Eva Rice has written three novels and one non-fiction book. She is married to a musician and has three children. She lives in London.

Ida Simons

Ida Simons (1911-1960) was a writer and a pianist, whose successful career came to an end with the German invasion. She was deported to Westerbork and Theresienstadt, along with her family. After the war, she gave more concerts, and then began to write. A Foolish Virgin was first published in 1959, and was highly regarded at the time. Unfortunately, her work sank into oblivion after her untimely death, but since its rediscovery in 2014 it has been translated into twenty-two languages and published widely.