Elly Griffiths - A Dying Fall - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

A Dying Fall

A spooky, gripping read for Halloween (Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries 5)

By Elly Griffiths

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

WINNER OF THE 2016 CWA DAGGER IN THE LIBRARY. When murder strikes close to home, Dr Ruth Galloway is determined to find justice - without ending up in the firing line herself. A nailbiting new adventure for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves.

WINNER OF THE 2016 CWA DAGGER IN THE LIBRARY. When murder strikes close to home, Dr Ruth Galloway is determined to find justice - without ending up in the firing line herself. A nailbiting new adventure for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves.

'One of the most cinematic finales in recent crime fiction' Daily Telegraph

Dr Ruth Galloway, forensic archaeologist, spends a lot of time looking at death. But now death has found her, with the news that her long-time friend and ex-colleague Dan Golding has been killed in a house fire.

Ruth's grief soon turns to suspicion of arson when she receives a desperate letter from Dan, sent the day before he died. He had made a ground-breaking discovery that he was sure would change archaeology forever - and was petrified of the consequences.

Ruth feels compelled to travel north to investigate further, alongside DCI Harry Nelson who is also drawn into the case. But where Ruth goes, so does her young daughter, Kate. This time, the risks are even higher.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786482150
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 2016
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Quercus
A memorable, breathless race against time...One of the most cinematic finales in recent British crime novels — Daily Telegraph
Griffiths weaves superstition and myth into her crime novels, skilfully treading a line between credulity and modern methods of detection — Sunday Times
An admirably gutsy heroine — The Times
Ruth Galloway is one of the most interesting new characters on the crime fiction scene — Good Book Guide
All will enjoy Ruth's largely self-aware sardonic perspective on life, death, and relationships. — Publishers Weekly
Once again, Griffiths does a great job of drawing us in to the chaotic, fractured world of Ruth Galloway, her unconventional, loveable heroine — CurledUp
Quercus

The Stone Circle

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia
MacLehose Press

A Summer of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
MacLehose Press

The Lizard Strategy

Valerio Varesi
Authors:
Valerio Varesi
Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan

Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey and Gillian Flynn'Mesmerizing . . . murder, betrayal, and secret lives . . . Everything you need in a great thriller' Lisa Gardner'Really slick . . . A proper page-turner' Jo Spain'A writer you will read with your breath held' Jess KiddTOO SOON TO SEEPolished. Professional. Perfect. Dead. Respected scientist Dr Eleanor Costello is found hanged in her immaculate home: the scene the very picture of a suicide.TOO LATE TO HIDEDCS Frankie Sheehan is handed the case, and almost immediately spots foul play. Sheehan, a trained profiler, is seeking a murderer with a talent for death.TOO CLOSE TO BREATHEAs Frankie strives to paint a picture of the killer, and their victim, she starts to sense they are part of a larger, darker canvas, on which the lines between the two blur.Olivia Kiernan's debut is a bold, brilliant thriller that will keep you guessing and leave you breathless.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'My favourite current crime series' Val McDermidDr Ruth Galloway is flattered when she receives a letter from Italian archaeologist Dr Angelo Morelli, asking for her help. He's discovered a group of bones in a tiny hilltop village near Rome but doesn't know what to make of them. It's years since Ruth has had a holiday, and even a working holiday to Italy is very welcome!So Ruth travels to Castello degli Angeli, accompanied by her daughter Kate and friend Shona. In the town she finds a baffling Roman mystery and a dark secret involving the war years and the Resistance. To her amazement she also soon finds Harry Nelson, with Cathbad in tow. But there is no time to overcome their mutual shock - the ancient bones spark a modern murder, and Ruth must discover what secrets there are in Castello degli Angeli that someone would kill to protect

riverrun

Three Minutes

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström

INFILTRATOROne-time Swedish government agent Piet Hoffmann is on the run from the life prison sentence he escaped: living under a false identity with his family in Calí, Colombia.INFORMANTWhen Hoffmann is offered employment by a Colombian drug mafia, and is simultaneously approached by the US DEA to infiltrate the same cartel, he says yes to both.IN TOO DEEPHowever, when America settles on an enemy for their next War on Terror, Colombia, the US government and the cartel are faced with the same problem. Piet Hoffmann.Hoffmann is marked. Yet help will come from unlikely quarters: DCI Ewert Grens - the enemy who Hoffmann once tricked - will now become the only ally he can trust.

riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

** AUTHOR OF CAST IRON, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE **** OVER 4 MILLION COPIES SOLD **** AN EXPLOSIVE NEW THRILLER SET IN THE OUTER HEBRIDES **WHATEVER HAPPENSNiamh and Ruairidh Macfarlane co-own the Hebridean company Ranish Tweed. On a business trip to Paris to promote their luxury brand, Niamh learns of Ruairidh's affair, and then looks on as he and his lover are killed by a car bomb. She returns home to Lewis, bereft.I'LL ALWAYS BE THERE FOR YOUNiamh begins to look back on her life with Ruairidh, desperate to identify anyone who may have held a grudge against him. The French police, meanwhile, have ruled out terrorism, and ruled in murder - and sent Detective Sylvie Braque to shadow their prime suspect: Niamh.I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE, NO MATTER WHATAs one woman works back through her memories, and the other moves forward with her investigation, the two draw ever closer to a deadly enemy with their own, murderous, designs.'Peter May is a writer I would follow to the ends of the earth' New York Times

Quercus

The Vanishing Box

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
riverrun

Dr. Knox

Peter Spiegelman
Authors:
Peter Spiegelman
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
Quercus

The Chalk Pit

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

'My favourite current crime series . . . a pleasure from start to finish' Val McDermidBoiled human bones have been found in Norwich's web of underground tunnels. When forensic archaeologist Dr Ruth Galloway discovers the bones aren't as old as originally thought, it's time for DCI Nelson to launch a murder inquiry. What was initially just a medieval curiosity has taken a much more sinister nature...Meanwhile, DS Judy Johnson is investigating the disappearance of a local rough sleeper. The only trace of her is the rumour that she's gone 'underground'. This might be a figure of speech, but with the discovery of the bones and the stories both Ruth and the police have heard of a vast community of rough sleepers living in the old chalk-mining tunnels under Norwich, the clues point in only one direction. Local academic Martin Kellerman knows all about the tunnels and their history - but can his assertions of cannibalism and ritual killing possibly be true?As the weather gets hotter, tensions rise. A local woman goes missing and the police are under attack. Ruth and Nelson must unravel the dark secrets of The Underground and discover just what gruesome secrets lurk at its heart - before it claims another victim.DON'T MISS THE TENTH GRIPPING DR RUTH GALLOWAY MYSTERY: THE DARK ANGEL, NOW AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER IN PRINT AND EBOOK

Quercus

Fatal Pursuit

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Quercus

The Girl Before

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERA NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERTHE SUNDAY TIMES THRILLER OF THE MONTHEnter the world of One Folgate Street and discover perfection . . . but can you pay the price?Jane stumbles on the rental opportunity of a lifetime: the chance to live in a beautiful ultra-minimalist house designed by an enigmatic architect, on condition she abides by a long list of exacting rules. After moving in, she discovers that a previous tenant, Emma, met a mysterious death there - and starts to wonder if her own story will be a re-run of the girl before. As twist after twist catches the reader off guard, Emma's past and Jane's present become inexorably entwined in this tense, page-turning portrayal of psychological obsession.For all fans of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl comes this spellbinding Hitchcockian thriller which takes psychological suspense to the next level

riverrun

Blacklight Blue

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE THIRD COLD-CASE INVESTIGATION FOR ENZO MACLEOD, FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE RICHARD AND JUDY MEGASELLER THE BLACKHOUSE.FRANCE. A death sentence.Diagnosed with a terminal illness, Enzo Macleod is running out of time to crack the most confounding of unsolved French murders. A death threat.His daughter is nearly killed, Enzo is mugged - and then he is arrested. Someone is trying to destroy his character. Someone is framing him for murder. A deathly enemy.Killers from the past will stop at nothing to halt Enzo, who must use all his forensic skills to solve the case - before they succeed.