Daryl Gregory - Spoonbenders - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786482785
    • Publication date:27 Jun 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786488640
    • Publication date:27 Jun 2017

Spoonbenders

A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Choice - the perfect summer read!

By Daryl Gregory

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Meet the Amazing Telemachus Family! - The BBC Radio 2 Book Club choice

*** The BBC Radio 2 Book Club choice ***
*** Bought for TV by Paramount ***

'Funny and charming . . . tailor-made for summer . . . magical' New York Times Book Review
'Hilarious, freewheeling' Guardian
'Gloriously imaginative' Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney


They were the Amazing Telemachus Family, who in the mid-1970s achieved widespread fame for their magic and mind reading act. That is, until the magic decided to disappear one night, live on national television.

We encounter this long-forgotten family two decades on, when grandson Matty, born long after the public fall from grace, discovers powers in himself and realises his hugely deflated, heavily indebted family truly are amazing.

Spoonbenders is the legacy and legend of a dysfunctional, normal, entirely unique family across three generations of big personalities and socially inept recluses - each cursed with the potential of being something special.

Biographical Notes

Daryl Gregory grew up in Chicago and has lived in various other cities within a few miles of the continent-spanning highway, Interstate 80, including his current home, Oakland, California. He's been a high school teacher, a technical writer, and a programmer, and now writes full time, occasionally dabbling in comics and videogame scripts.

His short novel We Are All Completely Fine won the World Fantasy Award and the Shirley Jackson award, and was a finalist for the Nebula, Sturgeon, and Locus awards. The novel Afterparty was a National Public Radio and Kirkus Best Fiction book of the year. Spoonbenders is his first work of literary fiction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786482778
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2018
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: riverrun
MacLehose Press

The King's Fool

Mahi Binebine
Authors:
Mahi Binebine
Quercus

Unfollow Me

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth

You Can't Stop Watching Her.Violet Young is a hugely popular journalist-turned-mummy-vlogger, with three young children, a successful husband and a million subscribers on YouTube who tune in daily to watch her everyday life unfold.Until the day she's no longer there.But one day she disappears from the online world - her entire social media presence deleted overnight, with no explanation. Has she simply decided that baring her life to all online is no longer a good idea, or has something more sinister happened to her?But do you really know who Violet is?Told from the perspectives of her biggest fan and her biggest troll, obsessed with finding out the truth, their search quickly reveals a web of lies, betrayal, and shocking consequences...

MacLehose Press

A Book of Falsehoods

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross

The third part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer 1578. A ship from Rostock arrives in Tallinn loaded with printed copies of Balthasar Russow's Chronicle - the culmination of our hero's life's work. But though it is an instant success, as it was in Rostock and numerous German cities, not everyone is happy to see it published. A group of local gentry denounce it to the town council as "a book of heinous falsehoods", and lobby for Balthasar to relieved as pastor of Holy Ghost Church.But all is not lost. Balthasar may call on a powerful ally - if he is willing to pay the price. In this final volume, fierce storms, along with famine, war and plague, continue to be loosed upon Livonia. Balthasar's personal life, too, is fraught with turbulence and loss, much of it stemming from his own jealousy and suspicion.

MacLehose Press

The Archipelago of Another Life

Andreï Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine

On the far eastern borders of the Soviet Union, in the sunset of Stalin's reign, soldiers are training for a war that could end all wars, for in the atomic age man has sown the seeds of his own destruction. Among them is Pavel Gartsev, a reservist. Orphaned, scarred by the last great war and unlucky in love, he is an instant victim for the apparatchiks and ambitious careerists who thrive within the Red Army's ranks. Assigned to a search party composed of regulars and reservists, charged with the recapture of an escaped prisoner from a nearby gulag, Gartsev finds himself one of an unlikely quintet of cynics, sadists and heroes, embarked on a challenging manhunt through the Siberian taiga. But the fugitive, capable, cunning and evidently at home in the depths of these vast forests, proves no easy prey. As the pursuit goes on, and the pursuers are struck by a shattering discovery, Gartsev confronts both the worst within himself and the tantalising prospect of another, totally different life.Translated from the French by Geoffrey Strachan

MacLehose Press

Madeleine

Euan Cameron
Authors:
Euan Cameron
MacLehose Press

Perfect Light

Marcello Fois
Authors:
Marcello Fois
MacLehose Press

The Carrier

Mattias Berg
Authors:
Mattias Berg
Quercus

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary
Authors:
Beth O'Leary

riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

White Shadow

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
Quercus

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew

'Raw, passionate, hallucinatory' Rachel Holmes'Extraordinary, beautiful and wild allegory for our times' Katharine Norbury'Hypnotic and powerful' Fanny Blake, Daily MailA woman on the edge of the sea finds a girl on the edge of life. On the flooded coast of Cornwall, Ia Pendilly ekes out a fierce life in a childless marriage, as rough and stubborn as the sea. When a strange young girl washes up on the beach, Ia's rescue is only the beginning of a dangerous journey ­- one that will take them downriver, into the fringes of a collapsing society and for Ia, towards something she hopes might be love.A vision of the near-future and an odyssey of motherhood, All Rivers Run Free is a true original from a powerful new voice..

MacLehose Press

A Bond Undone

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony

Two women. Two stories. One hundred years of secrets. A sweeping novel of love, loss, family and history for readers who love Maggie O'Farrell, John Boyne and Donal Ryan 1919Ireland is about to be torn apart by the War of Independence.Hannah O'Donovan helps her father hide rebel soldiers in the attic, putting her family in great danger from the British soldiers who roam the countryside. An immediate connection between Hannah and O'Riada, the leader of this hidden band of rebels, will change her life and that of her family forever . . . 2019Ellen is at a crossroads: her marriage is in trouble, her career is over and she's grieving the loss of a baby. After years in London, she decides to come home to Ireland to face the things she's tried so hard to escape. Reaching into the past, she feels a connection to her aunt, the mysterious Hannah O'Donovan. But why won't anyone in her family talk about Hannah? And how can this journey help Ellen put her life back together?'A gripping novel about two women, their desires and frustrations, about the wars they find themselves fighting . . . a thrill to discover' Belinda McKeon 'A fierce, beautifully written story' Louise O'Neill

riverrun

A Different Drummer

William Melvin Kelley
Authors:
William Melvin Kelley

'An astounding achievement' Sunday Times'The lost giant of American literature' New YorkerIn 1962, aged just 24, William Melvin Kelley's debut novel A Different Drummer earned him critical comparisons to James Baldwin and William Faulkner. Fifty-five years later, author and journalist Kathryn Schulz happened upon the novel serendipitously and was inspired to write the New Yorker article 'The Lost Giant of American Literature', included as a foreword to this edition.June, 1957. One afternoon, in the backwater town of Sutton, a young black farmer by the name of Tucker Caliban matter-of-factly throws salt on his field, shoots his horse and livestock, sets fire to his house and departs the southern state. And thereafter, the entire African-American population leave with him.The reaction that follows is told across a dozen chapters, each from the perspective of a different white townsperson. These are boys, girls, men and women; either liberal or conservative, bigoted or sympathetic - yet all of whom are grappling with this spontaneous, collective rejection of subordination.A lost masterpiece republished for 2018, A Different Drummer is for readers who have been waiting for the next rediscovered classic.

Quercus

Winter Without You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Jo Fletcher Books

Our Child of the Stars

Stephen Cox
Authors:
Stephen Cox
riverrun

Friday Black

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Authors:
Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
MacLehose Press

Tropic of Violence

Nathacha Appanah
Authors:
Nathacha Appanah