Jo Spain - The Darkest Place - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786483973
    • Publication date:20 Sep 2018
Books in this series

The Darkest Place

By Jo Spain

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the bestselling author of With Our Blessing and Sleeping Beauties comes a gripping new mystery

From the bestselling author of With Our Blessing and Sleeping Beauties comes a gripping new mystery

'Island of the Lost was the isle's name long before the hospital was built. In winter, they say the fog falls so heavy there that you can't see your hand in front of your face. Storms rage so forcefully you can be blown from the cliffs. Once St. Christina's was built, the name took on a new meaning. Very few who went into that place ever left.'

Christmas day, and DCI Tom Reynolds receives an alarming call. A mass grave has been discovered on Oileán na Caillte, the island which housed the controversial psychiatric institution St. Christina's. The hospital has been closed for decades and onsite graves were tragically common. Reynolds thinks his adversarial boss is handing him a cold case to sideline him.

But then it transpires another body has been discovered amongst the dead - one of the doctors who went missing from the hospital in mysterious circumstances forty years ago. He appears to have been brutally murdered.

Biographical Notes

Jo Spain has worked as a party advisor on the economy in the Irish parliament. Her first novel, With Our Blessing, was one of seven books shortlisted in the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition and went on to be a top-ten bestseller in Ireland. Joanne lives in Dublin with her husband and their four young children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786483980
  • Publication date: 20 Sep 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Deft plotting and expert handling of tension make for an intelligent mystery — The Guardian
Absolutely my comfort reading — Ann Cleeves
Packed with fascinating details . . . this is a satisfying mystery — Irish Independent
Atmospheric and compelling — Sinéad Crowley
Jo Spain's vivid thriller explores the dark secrets from Ireland's past that continue to haunt Irish society today — Martin Sixsmith, author of Philomena
In a very strong year for Irish crime-fiction debuts, Jo Spain's With Our Blessing is among the most assured . . . With Our Blessing picks at the scabs of recent Irish history to reveal raw and gaping wounds — Irish Times
Spain's vivid thriller explores the dark secrets of Ireland's past — Irish Country Living
Brilliant! Fast paced, well researched and sensitive. Jo Spain is a sparkling new talent — Irish Examiner
Fiendishly clever . . . and a big fat twist is lobbed into the ending like a hand grenade — Irish Sunday Independent
Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
MacLehose Press

The Acid Test

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza

Egdar "Lefty" Mendieta investigates the death of a notorious stripper in this second sweltering "Narco-lit" noir from the Godfather of Mexican crime fictionAn intelligent, atmospheric police procedural series for fans of John Le Carré and Mick HeronWhen the mutilated body of Mayra Cabral de Melo is found in a dusty field, Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta has personal reasons for bringing the culprit to justice. Mayra, a well-known stripper, had no shortage of ardent, deluded and downright dangerous admirers, and Lefty himself is haunted by the night he spent in her company.As Mexico's drug war ramps up, Lefty's pursuit of a gallery of jealous and powerful suspects, all with a murderous glint in their eye, leads him to Samantha Valdés, the godfather's daughter, who is battling to retain her father's empire. And as the mystery deepens, the bodycount rises.

Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

One Bad Turn

Sinéad Crowley
Authors:
Sinéad Crowley

'A corker of a book, compellingly readable, intriguing and hugely enjoyable' Liz Nugent'A perfectly engineered crime novel . . . Crowley is brilliant at creating gripping scenarios' Jane CaseyI lost my child because of you, my only child. Eileen and Heather have always looked out for each other. But two years ago Eileen lost her son and she blames Heather and her family for the tragic loss.And I want you to know how that feels.Now she wants Heather and her daughter to suffer in the same way.Sergeant Claire Boyle is caught in the crossfire - but she has her own child to think about now.

Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Flesh and Blood

Nigel McCrery
Authors:
Nigel McCrery
Quercus

Sleeping Beauties

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley
Authors:
Debra Daley
riverrun

The Killing Room

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE THIRD CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED CHINA THRILLER, FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF THE RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER THE BLACKHOUSE.THE NEW CASEWhen a mass grave containing eighteen mutilated female corpses is discovered in Shanghai, detective Li Yan is sent from Beijing to establish if the bodies are linked to an unsolved murder in the capital. Here, Li will be working with Mei Ling, deputy head of Shanghai's serious crime squad. THE NEW COLLEAGUEMei Ling is a formidable woman: a fact that is not lost on Li's on-off lover, forensic pathologist Margaret Campbell. But when Campbell, vulnerable and still grieving the loss of her father, learns that the victims were subjected to 'live' autopsies, she knows the case is bigger than her pride.THE KILLING ROOMLi, Campbell and Mei Ling are now entering the arena of a sickening nemesis, and opening a door behind which lies each of their very worst nightmares.

Quercus

Beneath the Surface

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From top-ten Irish bestselling author Jo Spain comes the second novel in the Inspector Tom Reynolds seriesDid I know it would come to this? That I was playing Russian Roulette? I would give anything to turn back time and to be with my girls. There is no shot at redemption. I am going to die. The gun is in my eye-line as the second bullet is fired. That's the one that kills me.Late at night, two powerful men meet in a secret location to discuss a long nurtured plan about to come to fruition. One is desperate to know there is nothing standing in their way - the other assures him everything is taken care of. Hours later, a high-ranking government official called Ryan Finnegan is brutally slain in the most secure building in Ireland - Leinster House, the seat of parliament. Inspector Tom Reynolds and his team are called in to uncover the truth behind the murder.At first, all the evidence hints at a politically motivated crime, until a surprise discovery takes the investigation in a dramatically different direction. Suddenly the motive for murder has got a lot more personal. . . but who benefits the most from Ryan's death?

Quercus

The Woman In Blue

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Outcast Dead

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

A Dying Fall

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

WINNER OF THE 2016 CWA DAGGER IN THE LIBRARY. When murder strikes close to home, Dr Ruth Galloway is determined to find justice - without ending up in the firing line herself. A nailbiting new adventure for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves.'One of the most cinematic finales in recent crime fiction' Daily TelegraphDr Ruth Galloway, forensic archaeologist, spends a lot of time looking at death. But now death has found her, with the news that her long-time friend and ex-colleague Dan Golding has been killed in a house fire.Ruth's grief soon turns to suspicion of arson when she receives a desperate letter from Dan, sent the day before he died. He had made a ground-breaking discovery that he was sure would change archaeology forever - and was petrified of the consequences. Ruth feels compelled to travel north to investigate further, alongside DCI Harry Nelson who is also drawn into the case. But where Ruth goes, so does her young daughter, Kate. This time, the risks are even higher.

Quercus

The Ghost Fields

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

With Our Blessing

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

THE TOP TEN BESTSELLERSHORTLISTED FOR THE RICHARD AND JUDY SEARCH FOR A BESTSELLER COMPETITION'After a dramatic and brutal opening, Jo Spain's amazing debut, With Our Blessing, settles into a very satisfying murder mystery steeped in recent Irish history' Amazon ReviewerIt's true what they say . . . revenge is sweet. 1975A baby, minutes old, is forcibly taken from its devastated mother. 2010The body of an elderly woman is found in a Dublin public park in the depths of winter.Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds is on the case. He's convinced the murder is linked to historical events that took place in the notorious Magdalene Laundries. Reynolds and his team follow the trail to an isolated convent in the Irish countryside. But once inside, it becomes disturbingly clear that the killer is amongst them . . . and is determined to exact further vengeance for the sins of the past.Discover more DI Tom Reynolds with the next instalments of the acclaimed series, Beneath the Surface (book 2) and Sleeping Beauties (book 3).

Quercus

Betrayed

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

You don't mess with Rosie Gilmour and get away with it. Crime reporter Rosie Gilmour is back at The Post, bruised and battered from her last investigation but determined to find missing barmaid Wendy Graham. Convinced that Wendy is the key to an explosive new story, Rosie's search leads her deep into the dangerous world of Glasgow's Ulster Volunteer Force. This time, Rosie will find herself at the mercy of the most vicious gangsters she's ever encountered. Has she met her match?(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd

Quercus

Until Thy Wrath Be Past

Åsa Larsson
Authors:
Åsa Larsson
MacLehose Press

Alex

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
MacLehose Press

The Black Path

Åsa Larsson
Authors:
Åsa Larsson

The novels that inspired Rebecka Martinsson: Arctic Murders - the major TV series "Rebecka Martinsson: the new Scandi-noir heroine to rival Saga Noren and Sarah Lund" iNews "In a television world now awash in female coppers, there aren't many as interesting and human as Rebecka" Wall Street JournalThe frozen body of a woman is found in a fishing ark on the ice near Torneträsk in northern Sweden. She has been brutally tortured, but the killing blow was clumsy, almost amateur. The body is quickly identified, raising hopes of an open-and-shut solution. But when a six-month-old suicide is disinterred, Rebecka Martinsson and Anna-Maria Mella find themselves investigating shocking corruption at the heart of one of Sweden's most successful mining companies. One that has powerful enemies of its own.