Della Parker - The Reading Group: December - Quercus

The Reading Group: December

a FREE short story

By Della Parker

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A scrumptious free first taste of a fabulous, feel-good new series! Perfect for fans of The Lemon Tree Cafe and The Vets at Hope Green.

A FREE teaser to the wonderful THE READING GROUP, coming soon in November 2018.
Read it here first!

Grace knows that the holiday season is going to be different this year. No turkey, no tinsel, no gorgeously wrapped gifts under the tree . . . how on earth is she going to break it to her little boys that Christmas is effectively cancelled? And can she bear to tell anyone her embarrassing secret? Enter the Reading Group: Grace's life might have turned upside down but there's no problem they can't solve.

Meet the Reading Group: No topic is off-limits: books, family, love and loss . . . and don't forget the glass of red!

'Brims with laughs, love, family and friendship. You will love this heartwarming read!' Trisha Ashley.

Biographical Notes

Della Parker lives in a Dorset village with her two large hounds. Under the name Della Galton, she has been published in every major UK women's magazine - including Bella, Candis, My Weekly, Take A Break,The Lady, Woman's Weeklyand Yours - and has sold more than 1,500 of her short stories to date!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786483997
  • Publication date: 01 Dec 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
A delightful, heartwarming series which promises plenty of love, laughter and tears — Lancashire Evening Post
Della's writing is stylish, moving, original and fun: a wonderfully satisfying journey to a destination you can eagerly anticipate without ever guessing — My Weekly
Della's a real favourite with our readers - her stories are beautifully crafted, with real characters, believable situations and observant dialogue that always rings true — The People's Friend
Della is one of our best writers — Gaynor Davies, Woman's Weekly
The perfect introduction to the series. I loved how in just a few pages, the author had me engrossed in the story, caring for a few of the characters already and picking up on some hints of where things will go for some of them in later novellas . . .This was a truly heart-warming read. — Reviewed the Book
Della is always worth reading! — Take A Break
I love serialised novels; they give me quick bursts of a story that I can fit in when I don't have time to sit down and get engrossed in a full book and I'm delighted to have discovered a new author in Della Parker — One More Page
Della has created wonderful characters that you can identify with and her writing totally immerses you into each individual story. While they include serious issues for each character, Della adds humour throughout that makes each story more enjoyable — Bloomin' Brilliant Books
Each story is entertaining and uplifting, full of laughs and romance and characters who feel more like friends than strangers — Reviewed the Book
Quercus

The Saffron Trail

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

An exotic tale of lost family secrets from the #1 Kindle Bestseller'The perfect holiday companion' - Heat'The ultimate feel-good read' - Candis'Sun-soaked escapism' - Best**********After the death of her beloved mother, Nell travels from rural Cornwall to the colour and chaos of Marrakech. Her marriage may be on the rocks, but exploring the heady delights of Moroccan cuisine could help her fulfil her dream of opening her own restaurant. It's there she meets Amy - a young photographer trying to unravel the story behind her family's involvement in the Vietnam War. The two women develop a close friendship and discover a surprising connection between their own pasts. This connection will take Nell and Amy on a journey to find their own 'saffron trail' - from the labyrinthine medina and bustle of Moroccan bazaars all the way back home to Cornwall and to the heart of their families' origins.********SEE WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT ROSANNA LEY:'An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end' - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter 'Loved it from start to finish. A brilliant holiday read' - Amazon reviewer 'Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Leah Fleming' - Candis 'On so many levels a fantastic read' - Amazon reviewer'A fascinating story with engaging themes' - Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife 'Warm, enthralling, one of my favourite authors' - Amazon reviewer

Quercus

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Quercus

More Than a Feeling

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods

'From the very start I was laughing out loud' Amazon reviewer The old Annie Taylor knew who she was.She had bags of confidence and spent her evenings impersonating her idol Barbra Streisand, looking flawless in exuberant turbans and winged eyeliner.But nowadays she has more roles than she can count - mother, girlfriend, best friend, photographer, sister - and she doesn't feel like she's doing any of them justice.So when, unexpectedly, life propels her back to being the glamorous Barb, she finally has the chance to find herself once more...Equal parts moving and hilarious, More Than a Feeling delightfully questions whether we want to 'have it all' or just be happy in our own skin. Perfect for fans of Holly Bourne and Lucy Vine.What amazon reviewers are saying about More Than a Feeling:'A rarity - laugh out loud funny and gripping with it!''Light romcom at its best, has a Bridget Jones meets Jilly Cooper vibe''Thoroughly recommend for holiday or losing yourself on plane journey.'

Quercus

I Did a Bad Thing

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

'Utterly compulsive' Amazon reviewer. From the #1 bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed.Sarah Roberts used to be good. Then she did something bad. Very bad. Now, years later, she's living a good life. She works as a local newspaper reporter and lives with her saintly boyfriend Jonathan. She has no reason to think her guilty past will ever catch up with her. Until Nick, the man she was prepared to risk everything for, walks back into her life. And suddenly, what's good and bad aren't so clear to Sarah any more . . .

Quercus

Younger

Pamela Redmond Satran
Authors:
Pamela Redmond Satran
Quercus

The Oddest Little Romance Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Oddest Little Cornish Tea Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Oddest Little Chocolate Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Little Lady Agency

Hester Browne
Authors:
Hester Browne
Quercus

Little Lady, Big Apple

Hester Browne
Authors:
Hester Browne

A witty romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas and Lucy Diamond!As her alter ego, Honey, Melissa is the go-to woman for improving men's dating lives But when her American boyfriend Jonathan invites her to New York for a holiday, he has one condition: the blonde wig stays at home. This is easier said than done, and before long Mel finds herself juggling a rude rising star who just happens to be an ex, Jonathan's manipulative ex-wife, an unruly terrier and escalating crises back at the agency. Can Melissa put the manners back into Manhattan? Or is this a challenge only the Little Lady Agency can handle?'Deliciously addictive' Cosmopolitan

Quercus

What the Lady Wants

Hester Browne
Authors:
Hester Browne
Quercus

The Finishing Touches

Hester Browne
Authors:
Hester Browne
Quercus

The Oddest Little Book Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Oddest Little Beach Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

'A beautifully written story of loss and love, Her Mother's Secret is Rosanna Ley at her best' My WeeklyEscape to the heart of enchanting Brittany with the bestselling author of The Villa and The Little Theatre by the Sea. The perfect treat for fans of Santa Montefiore and Veronica Henry.For many years Colette has avoided returning to her homeland - the magical island of Belle-Île-en-Mer in Southern Brittany - afraid to confront the painful memories she left behind. She is living on the Cornish coast when she hears about her mother Thea's failing health and realises that the time has come for her to go home. But can Colette ever forgive Thea for what she has done? Despite Colette's wariness, romantic Belle-Île still fascinates her. She takes on the running of her mother's flower shop and makes friends with Élodie from the Old Lighthouse where Thea once worked as a nanny and with the enigmatic Étienne who shares Colette's mixed feelings about the island. As Thea opens up to her for the first time, Colette finds herself softening and being drawn back into the landscape of her past. But can Belle-Île also be a part of her future?The ghosts of that past still linger. What happened all those years ago and how did it cause the rift between mother and daughter? It becomes clear that the beauty of Belle-Île hides a devastating family secret - one that Colette is determined to unravel at any cost.

Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave
Quercus

The Reading Group

Della Parker
Authors:
Della Parker
Quercus

The Little Lady Collection

Hester Browne
Authors:
Hester Browne
Quercus

Ten Reasons Not to Fall In Love

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

Things I Wish I'd Known

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

'A really emotional twist which I was in no way expecting!' Amazon reader. When Claire discovers the list she wrote as a teenager entitled '20 Years From Now', she realises how far removed her life is from the one she'd imagined. Divorced, stuck in a dead-end job and dating a man who is desperate to settle down to a future she doesn't want, she decides it's time to put her life back on track.From the bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed comes a poignant novel about what could have been...Also available from Linda Green:After I've GoneAnd Then It HappenedWhile My Eyes Were ClosedI Did a Bad ThingTen Reasons Not to Fall in LoveThe Last Thing She Told Me