Tracy Rees - Darling Blue - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats

Darling Blue

By Tracy Rees

  • Hardback
  • £20.99

The fourth novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller Amy Snow. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.

Blue lives a charmed life. From her family's townhouse in Richmond, she lives a life of luxury and couldn't want for anything - well, on the surface at least.

Then on the night of her twenty-first birthday her father makes a startling toast: he will give his daughter's hand to whichever man can capture her heart best in the form of a love letter. But Blue has other ideas and, unwilling to play at her father's bewildering games, she sets out on her own path to find her own destiny...

Biographical Notes

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786486691
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 576
  • Imprint: Quercus
The gorgeous, evocative cover promises much, the rich narrative within delivers more. Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters. With this, her third novel, her reputation as a writer who never disappoints, is sealed — Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter
I loved the evocative atmosphere of the 20's, the lovely characters and gorgeous descriptions of nature/turning of the seasons — Lucinda Riley, bestselling author of The Pearl Sister
Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction — Lucinda Riley, bestselling author
Atmospheric and elegantly written, The Hourglass is an evocative story of 1950's Wales, filled with the in-depth historical detail that has become Tracy Rees's trademark — Lucinda Riley
Tracy's meticulous research and lavish prose provide the reader with the complete experience. From the intriguing premise, I was caught up in the lives of these three women and invested in their stories. Tracy's depiction of life in Richmond in the twenties was spot on and added depth to this glorious novel — Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter
Florence is such a strong, intriguing character and the plot is so clever, real and truthful. The whole book feels so very wise, as if it contains half the answers to life — Joanna Courtney, author of The Chosen Queen
A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery. It made me want to visit Tenby. — Rachel Hore
I love Tracy's writing; it's full of colour and atmosphere, with sparkly dialogue and just the right pace to keep you turning the pages — Gill Paul, author of Another Woman's Husband
The Hourglass is a beautifully-crafted tale of the ebb and flow of love and friendship. Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down — Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas at Tiffany's
Darling Blue is a clever book that's a joy to read ... the drama rises by subtle, tiny increments until, at its climax, you have to remind yourself to breathe. These three women will stay with you for a long, long time — Claire Dyer, author of The Last Day
An enjoyable and intriguing read — Trisha Ashley
Completely delightful, I loved it and the 1920s setting is sublime — Rosanna Ley, author of Her Mother's Secret
A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page — Richard and Judy on Amy Snow
Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place — Leah Fleming
Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic — Rosanna Ley
Tracy Rees describes brilliantly the feeling of being on the cusp between childhood and adulthood, with all its confusions and curiosity. I loved the strong sense of place, as well as the description of the way emotional damage can be passed down through the generations. It's an engrossing read that makes you want to rush to the nearest beach, drink hot chocolate and eat a lot of cake! — Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife
I can honestly say The Hourglass is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I've been thinking about it ever since! Tracy writes so very beautifully and lyrically, conjuring up such a strong atmosphere and sense of place. Her characters have wonderful depth and richness, and the whole story felt so wise, poignant and uplifting. I loved it! A beautiful story, so atmospheric and vivid, elegantly told — Nicola Cornick
I absolutely loved The Hourglass. With its wonderful characters, moving storyline, and gorgeous, evocative setting in coastal Wales, it bursts with warmth on every page. It's the perfect, lose-yourself and curl up for hours read. I felt bereft when I finished! — Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky
This moving tale has warmth and wisdom galore, and shows it's never too late for new beginnings — Psychologies
The characters are so evocative and the descriptions of Tenby give it the starring role — Woman
[Tracy Rees] has a wonderful way of making you feel that you're 'there' in her writing, whether 'there' is a desolate moor in the 1700s or a sunny beach in 1950s — One More Page
Descriptive, mysterious and romantic — My Weekly
Once again I found myself drawn in to Tracy Rees's wonderful story telling so that I set aside daily life until I'd devoured every word — Linda's Book Bag
[Tracy Rees] has a gift for creating powerful and distinct character voices...Well plotted and well written, The Hourglass will make a wonderful summer read for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rosanna Ley, Rachel Hore or Jojo Moyes — Historical Novel Reviews
Rees is an elegant and intelligent writer with the gift to imbue her enchanting novels with vivid, well-drawn characters, rich historical detail, emotional wisdom and a wonderfully authentic sense of time and place — Chorley Guardian
Be prepared to lose yourself in this evocative tale — Candis