Jussi Adler-Olsen - The Scarred Woman - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784295967
    • Publication date:19 Sep 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784295981
    • Publication date:19 Sep 2017
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784295998
    • Publication date:19 Sep 2017

The Scarred Woman

Department Q 7

By Jussi Adler-Olsen

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The master of the Nordic thriller returns with the seventh instalment of the gripping Department Q series.

The international no. 1 bestseller returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.

Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After a breakdown, their colleague Rose is struggling to deal with the ghosts of her past - a past seemingly connected to one of the division's most sinister case-files. It is up to Carl, Assad and Gordon to unearth the dark and violent truth plaguing Rose before it is too late.

Biographical Notes

Jussi Adler-Olsen is Denmark's number one crime writer and a New York Times bestseller. His books routinely top the bestseller lists in Europe and have sold more than sixteen million copies around the world. His many prestigious Nordic crime-writing awards include the Glass Key Award, also won by Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø and Stieg Larsson.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786486806
  • Publication date: 19 Sep 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
The new "it" boy of Nordic Noir — Times
Gripping story-telling — Guardian
Adler-Olsen's prose is superior to Larsson's, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humour — Booklist on Mercy
[A] sordid tale . . . inspired by actual events during a dark period of Danish history. Ah, but there is more, so much more in this frenzied thriller — New York Times on Guilt
Mesmerising writing . . . with an added level of mystery — Independent