Bruno Vincent - Five at the Office Christmas Party - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786487674
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017

Five at the Office Christmas Party

By Bruno Vincent

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A brand new Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups, especially for the festive season!

Enid Blyton's books are beloved the world over and The Famous Five have been the perennial favourite of her fans. Now, in this new series of Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups, George, Dick, Anne, Julian and Timmy are given the task of organizing the Christmas party for cousin Rupert's failing company.

Join the Five as they set out to give the best office Christmas party ever, in the most traditional of fashions. Of course, true to form, things don't go quite according to plan . . .

Biographical Notes

Bruno Vincent is the author of several humour titles including (with Jon Butler) the bestselling Do Ants Have Arseholes?, a Christmas No.1 back in the more innocent days of Myspace and News of the World. He has also written two volumes of gothic horror stories for children which were adapted for the stage.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786487667
  • Publication date: 05 Oct 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Jo Fletcher Books

The Pyramid Wish

Tom Fletcher
Authors:
Tom Fletcher

riverrun

In Mid-Air

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik

'Engaging, witty, thoughtful, clever, casual, ebullient, erudite and thoroughly modern' Spectator'A dazzling talent - hilarious, winning and deft' Malcolm Gladwell In Mid-Air is a collection of short essays by the acclaimed writer and speaker, Adam Gopnik. Known for his ability to perceive 'the whole world in a grain of sand', he uses this format to take a dizzying range of subjects and intricately explore their meaning to our lives - as people, as citizens and as families. From how he works so that his daughter can have holes in her clothes, to why appropriation is more empowering than oppressing; from French sex to binge-watching TV, from the secret of a happy marriage to why we should mention the war ­­- each topic is illuminated by his erudition and wit. As in their original form on the radio, Gopnik's essays - each one a pleasure garden of wry confessions, self-deprecating asides, wordplay and striking insights - feel like the most intimate of conversations between writer and reader; yet at the same time they capture a public forum of pithy debate and tender persuasion. Above all, In Mid-Air initiates a sense of wonder in the ordinary that yearns to be shared.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

'Neil Spring is Agatha Christie meets James Herbert' STEPHEN VOLK It was a victimless crime... Estate Agent Clara is struggling to make a sale. With her abusive ex-husband on the brink of finding where she's hiding, she needs to make a commission soon or lose her chance to escape. Boleskine House on the shores of Loch Ness has remained unsold for years, and Clara is sure that an 'innocent' fire will force the price down. But the perfect crime soon turns into the perfect nightmare: there was a witness, a stranger in the village, and he's not going to let Clara get away with it that easily...(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

MacLehose Press

The Carrier

Mattias Berg
Authors:
Mattias Berg

The man with the nuclear briefcase has gone rogue - Mission Impossible meets the Hunt for Red October in an explosive new thriller for fans of James Swallow and Tom Clancy"I don't think I have read such a philosophical, knowledge-studded and realistic adventure novel since Umberto Eco's The Name of the Rose" Göteborgs-PostenErasmus Levine has a job like no other. He travels with the President of the United States at all times, and holds in his hands the power to obliterate life as we know it. He is the man with the nuclear briefcase, part of a crack team of top-secret operatives established after 9/11 and led by a man codenamed Edelweiss. But even Edelweiss does not know the identity of their ultimate authority, known only as Sysboss.Levine has a secret.For twelve years he has been receiving cryptic messages from Sysboss - an elaborate communication that began with the words We two against the world. Slowly but surely, Levine begins thinking of escape. His chance comes during an official visit to Sweden, when the alarm sounds in Stockholm's Grand Hotel.But Sysboss has other plans for him. From their first meeting in a network of tunnels and bunkers beneath the city, Levine is drawn into a plan to eliminate the world's nuclear arsenals. But how can he be sure that controlled demolition is the endgame? Could he be working towards a controlled apocalypse, a doomsday plot to wipe humanity from the face of the earth?Translated from the Swedish by George Goulding

Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
MacLehose Press

Balco Atlantico

Jérôme Ferrari
Authors:
Jérôme Ferrari

In a village square in Corsica lies the body of ardent nationalist, Stéphane Campana, shot down at close range. And over his body weeps Virginie, the young woman who has venerated Stéphane all her life - a veneration that has led her to abandon herself to him and his twisted desires completely.Meanwhile, brother and sister Khaled and Hayet, who once gazed out to sea from the shoreline path known as "Balco Atlantico" and dreamed of a better future, are now stranded in Corsica. As Ferrari traces the history of Stéphane and Virginie that leads to the shooting in the village square, we encounter the story of Khaled and Hayet and see through their story and the stories of many others in this one Corsican square how a relentless pursuit of happiness and fulfilment can bring us perilously close to despair and disillusionment.

MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker

Fresh from the staggering success of The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair, Marcus Goldman is struggling to write his third novel. A chance encounter in Florida throws him some inspiration from a surprising source: Alexandra Neville, the beautiful, phenomenally successful singer and Marcus's first love. All at once, memories of his childhood come flooding back. Memories of a family torn apart by tragedy, and a once glorious legacy reduced to shame and ruin.The Baltimore Boys. The Goldman Gang. That was what they called Marcus, and his cousins Hillel and Woody. Three brilliant young men with their whole lives ahead of them, before their kingdom crumbled beneath the weight of lies, jealousy and betrayal. For years, Marcus has struggled with the burdens of his past, but now, he must attempt to banish his demons and tell the real story of the Baltimore Boys.Translated from the French by Alison Anderson

Jo Fletcher Books

The Doctor Thomas Bond Omnibus

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
Quercus

The Invisible Cross

Andrew Davidson
Authors:
Andrew Davidson

The unseen letters of the only British officer to spend three years in the trenches throughout the First World WarColonel Graham Chaplin, commander of the Cameron Highlanders, wrote letters from the trenches almost daily to the wife he had married just before the war began. Even if he had no time to write, he would at least send a postcard to reassure her he was 'Quite well'. These personal and loving letters give a rare insight into the mind of a serving officer, his worries about his men and his family back home, his concern for the progress of the war (however cautiously phrased) and his comments on the growing list of friends dead or wounded.Having once refused what he considered unacceptably dangerous orders to send his troops over the top during the Battle of Loos, Chaplin wasn't promoted out of the trenches until 1917. Respected and trusted by his men, he was, even so, the only officer to whom this happened.Andrew Davidson, author of the highly praised Fred's War, analyses Chaplin's unique status and weaves around his letters a fascinating portrait of a soldier's life and of the war on the Western Front.

Quercus

The Genius Test

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

What is the Higgs Boson? Where did life come from? And what are you looking at when you're looking at Modern Art?Put your knowledge to the test - and learn to think and talk like a genius. The Genius Test takes you on a journey through humanity's most brain-bending ideas, from the big bang and the origins of life to chaos theory, existentialism and special relativity, challenging you to understand and providing the tools to help you master the big ideas. Shortcuts to becoming a genius include: · Are you a Genius? quizzes - questions to test your knowledge· The 10 things a Genius would know· Talk like a Genius - intellectual conversation gambits· A Bluffer's summary The Genius Test challenges you to understand 50 subjects including: The Hard Problem of consciousness; the human genome; Evo-devo; the human brain; A.I.; Fermat's Last Theorem; the Riemann Hypothesis; Gödel's Theorem of Incompleteness; Post-modernism; Modern architecture; Keynesianism; Semiotics and Structuralism; Schrödinger's cat; DNA; Deconstructivism; the mind-body problem; Superstrings; Quantum Theory; The Big Bang; black holes...and many more.

Quercus

Five Get On the Property Ladder

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Go Bump in the Night

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent

] A howl drifted up from nearby woodland and everyone shifted closer together. 'How about a ghost story,' suggested George.From the author of Number One Christmas bestseller, Five on Brexit Island, join the Five in their next hilarious adventure in this bestselling series for grown-ups!It's a dark winter's night and the Five are scaring themselves witless recounting tales that would terrify the bravest of souls. From encounters with American werewolves and being lost in space, to ghostly graveyard apparitions, it is hardly surprising that there is a sleepless night ahead of the intrepid crew. Even grumpy old Uncle Quentin and kind Aunt Fanny cannot be relied upon to be entirely themselves . . .

Quercus

Five Get Gran Online

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Escape Brexit Island

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Get Gran Online

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

How To Understand E =mc²

Christophe Galfard
Authors:
Christophe Galfard
riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik

'A dazzling talent' Malcolm GladwellWhen Adam Gopnik and his soon-to-be-wife, Martha, left the comforts of home in Montreal for New York, the city then, much like today, was a pilgrimage site for the young, the arty, and the ambitious. But it was also becoming a city of greed, where both life's consolations and its necessities were increasingly going to the highest bidder. At the Strangers' Gate builds a portrait of this particular moment in New York through the story of this couple's journey--from their excited arrival as aspiring artists to their eventual growth into a New York family. Gopnik transports us to his tiny basement room on the Upper East Side, and later to SoHo, where he captures a unicorn: an affordable New York loft. He takes us through his professional meanderings, from graduate student-cum-library-clerk to the corridors of Conde Nast and the galleries of MoMA. Between tender and humorous reminiscences, including affectionate portraits of Richard Avedon, Robert Hughes, and Jeff Koons, among many others, Gopnik discusses the ethics of ambition, the economy of creative capital, and the peculiar anthropology of art and aspiration in New York, then and now.

Quercus

To Siri, With Love

Judith Newman
Authors:
Judith Newman
Quercus

Five Get Beach Body Ready

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Hubble

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow