Peter May - The Ghost Marriage - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Ghost Marriage

A China Novella

By Peter May
Read by Peter Forbes

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

'I saw your missing girl at a ghost wedding last week. She was the bride.'
A new ebook-only novella, and the seventh story in the China Thrillers featuring Li Yan and Margaret Campbell

LI YAN AND MARGARET CAMPBELL RETURN IN A NEW STORY, YEARS AFTER THE DRAMATIC CONCLUSION OF CHINESE WHISPERS.

'I saw your missing girl at a ghost wedding last week. She was the bride.'

It has been a whirlwind few years for Li Yan and Margaret Campbell. Nowadays, both are busy juggling their huge professional workloads - Li as the newly promoted chief of Beijing's serious crime squad, and Campbell as lecturer at the University of Public Security - with the day-to-day raising of their young son, Li Jon.

When a desperate mother appeals to Campbell's own maternal instincts, Li agrees to look into the disappearance of a 17-year-old Beijing girl, Jiang Meilin.

Yet Li's investigation soon turns from a favour into a full-scale murder enquiry. And when he receives an anonymous note he learns Jiang Meilin's death is tied to a dangerous underground trade, and a dark marital rite from China's past.

(P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786487834
  • Publication date: 31 Mar 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: riverrun
riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry

Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward
Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

Death stalked the Vale.In every corner, every whisper.They just didn't know it yet.Six neighbours, six secrets, six reasons to want Olive Collins dead.In the exclusive gated community of Withered Vale, people's lives appear as perfect as their beautifully manicured lawns. Money, success, privilege - the residents have it all. Life is good. There's just one problem. Olive Collins' dead body has been rotting inside number four for the last three months. Her neighbours say they're shocked at the discovery but nobody thought to check on her when she vanished from sight. The police start to ask questions and the seemingly flawless facade begins to crack. Because, when it comes to Olive's neighbours, it seems each of them has something to hide, something to lose and everything to gain from her death. The new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of The Confession, perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door.See what everyone is saying about Jo Spain, the hottest new name in psychological thrillers:'Enthralling' JP Delaney'Chilling' Sunday Times'Arresting' Sunday Express'Brilliant' BA Paris'Gripping' Best'Compulsive' Sunday Mirror'Addictive'Michelle Frances'Refreshing'Express

Quercus

To Kill the Truth

Sam Bourne
Authors:
Sam Bourne

Someone is trying to destroy the evidence of history's greatest crimes.Academics and Holocaust survivors dead in mysterious circumstances. Museums and libraries burning. Digital records and irreplaceable proofs, lost for ever.Former White House operative Maggie Costello has sworn off politics. But when the Governor of Virginia seeks her help to stop the lethal spiral of killings, she knows that this is bigger than any political game. As Black Lives Matter protestors clash with slavery deniers, America is on a knife-edge and time is running out. This deadly conspiracy could ignite a new Civil War - but who stands most to gain from the chaos?Taut, authoritative and explosive, To Kill the Truth takes us to the edge of anarchy, a world without truth in which history will be re-written by those who live to shape it.Praise for Sam Bourne:'Urgently topical'The Times'Propulsive'Guardian'A Day of the Jackal for these dizzying times' Ian Rankin

Quercus

Village of the Lost Girls

Agustín Martínez
Authors:
Agustín Martínez
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

PRE-ORDER THE MAN WITH NO FACE - A POWERFUL AND PRESCIENT THRILLER FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE.A REPORTER WITH NO FEARBrussels, 1979. Jaded Edinburgh journalist Neil Bannerman arrives in the capital of European politics intent on digging up dirt. Yet it is danger he discovers, when two British men are found murdered.A CHILD WITH NO FATHEROne victim is a journalist, the other a Cabinet Minister: the double-assassination witnessed by the former's autistic daughter. This girl recalls every detail about her father's killer - except for one.THE MAN WITH NO FACEWith Brussels rocked by the tragedy, Bannerman is compelled to follow his instincts. He is now fighting to expose a murderous conspiracy, protect a helpless child, and unmask a remorseless killer.

Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia

A hostile wilderness is watching you. Spine-chilling thriller from the author of THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN for fans of Jane Harper's FORCE OF NATURE and Chris Whitaker's TALL OAKSTen years after a boy and his father went missing in the wilderness of Minnesota's Boundary Waters, the boy - who is no longer a boy - walks back out of the forest. He is violent and uncommunicative. The authorities take him to Congdon Mental Institution in Duluth, on the edge of mighty Lake Superior.There, language therapist Maya Stark is given the task of making a connection with this boy/man who came back from the dead. But their celebrity patient tries to escape and refuses to answer any questions about his father or the last ten years of his life. In many ways he is old far beyond his years; in others, still a child.But Maya, who was abandoned by her own mother, has secrets, too. And as she's drawn closer to this enigmatic boy, she'll risk everything to reunite him with his father who has disappeared from the known world - but at what cost to herself?

riverrun

Salt Lane

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg

'I will never set foot on a cruise ship again!' - Åsa Larsson, bestselling author of The Second Deadly Sin and Until thy Wrath Be PastOn the Baltic Sea, no one can hear you scream. Tonight, twelve hundred expectant passengers have joined the booze-cruise between Sweden and Finland. The creaking old ship travels this same route, back and forth, every day of the year.But this trip is going to be different.In the middle of the night the ferry is suddenly cut off from the outside world. There is nowhere to escape. There is no way to contact the mainland. And no one knows who they can trust.Welcome aboard the Baltic Charisma.'Blood Cruise is terrifying and terrifying real, a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist' - Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard Light

Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO LIVES ON. Lisbeth Salander is an unstoppable force:Sentenced to two months in Flodberga women's prison for saving a young boy's life by any means necessary, Salander refuses to say anything in her own defence. She has more important things on her mind.Mikael Blomkvist makes the long trip to visit every week - and receives a lead to follow for his pains. For him, it looks to be an important expose for Millennium. For her, it could unlock the facts of her childhood.Even from a corrupt prison system run largely by the inmates, Salander will stand up for what she believes in, whatever the cost. And she will seek the truth that is somehow connected with her childhood memory, of a woman with a blazing birthmark on her neck - that looked as if it had been burned by a dragon's fire . . . The tension, power and unstoppable force of The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye are inspired by Stieg Larsson's Millennium trilogy, as Salander and Blomkvist continue the fight for justice that has thrilled millions of readers across the world.Translated from the Swedish by George Goulding

Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'My favourite current crime series' Val McDermidDr Ruth Galloway is flattered when she receives a letter from Italian archaeologist Dr Angelo Morelli, asking for her help. He's discovered a group of bones in a tiny hilltop village near Rome but doesn't know what to make of them. It's years since Ruth has had a holiday, and even a working holiday to Italy is very welcome!So Ruth travels to Castello degli Angeli, accompanied by her daughter Kate and friend Shona. In the town she finds a baffling Roman mystery and a dark secret involving the war years and the Resistance. To her amazement she also soon finds Harry Nelson, with Cathbad in tow. But there is no time to overcome their mutual shock - the ancient bones spark a modern murder, and Ruth must discover what secrets there are in Castello degli Angeli that someone would kill to protect

Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

SOMETIMES THE TRUTH IS NOT ALL IT SEEMS...SOMETIMES A CONFESSION IS THE BEGINNING... NOT THE END. NOW A NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER 'Brilliant' BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown'Chilling' Sunday Times'Enthralling'JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before'Compulsive' Sunday Mirror'Addictive'Michelle Frances, author of The Girlfriend **********Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear. It looks like Harry's many sins - corruption, greed, betrayal - have finally caught up with him. An hour later the intruder, JP Carney, hands himself in, confessing to the assault. The police have a victim, a suspect in custody and an eye-witness account, but Julie remains troubled. Has Carney's surrender really been driven by a guilty conscience or is this confession the first calculated move in a deadly game? THE MOST GRIPPING PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER OF 2018: PERFECT FOR FANS OF FRIEND REQUEST AND THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW.**********'Brutal' Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle'Gripping' Best'Jaw-dropping'Chris Whitaker, author of Tall Oaks'Vivid' Irish Times'Fabulous'Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake'A contender for the most arresting opening paragraph of the year' Sunday Express

riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Blowback

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May