Peter May - The Ghost Marriage - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Ghost Marriage

A China Novella

By Peter May
Read by Peter Forbes

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

'I saw your missing girl at a ghost wedding last week. She was the bride.'
A new ebook-only novella, and the seventh story in the China Thrillers featuring Li Yan and Margaret Campbell

LI YAN AND MARGARET CAMPBELL RETURN IN A NEW STORY, YEARS AFTER THE DRAMATIC CONCLUSION OF CHINESE WHISPERS.

'I saw your missing girl at a ghost wedding last week. She was the bride.'

It has been a whirlwind few years for Li Yan and Margaret Campbell. Nowadays, both are busy juggling their huge professional workloads - Li as the newly promoted chief of Beijing's serious crime squad, and Campbell as lecturer at the University of Public Security - with the day-to-day raising of their young son, Li Jon.

When a desperate mother appeals to Campbell's own maternal instincts, Li agrees to look into the disappearance of a 17-year-old Beijing girl, Jiang Meilin.

Yet Li's investigation soon turns from a favour into a full-scale murder enquiry. And when he receives an anonymous note he learns Jiang Meilin's death is tied to a dangerous underground trade, and a dark marital rite from China's past.

(P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786487834
  • Publication date: 31 Mar 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: riverrun
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

An Autumn Hunting

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan

'Even better than Child 44. Akyl Borubaev is a terrific creation' Anthony Horowitz'Just keeps getting better . . . buy the whole series right away' Peter Robinson, No.1 bestselling author of Sleeping in the GroundNo sooner has Akyl Borubaev been reinstated as an Inspector in the Bishkek Murder Squad than he's suspended for alleged serious crimes against the state. After an attempted assassination of a prominent minister goes spectacularly wrong, Akyl is a fugitive from his former colleagues and involved with one of Kyrgyzstan's most dangerous criminals. On the run, caught up in a illegal scheme that can only end badly, it's time for Akyl to take a stand for everything he believes in.

Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

In this twisty psychological thriller from the New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of The Girl Before, an actress plays both sides of a murder investigationI'm just an actress. I wanted to stand on a stage and have people applaud. How on earth did I get into all this?Claire Wright likes to play other people. A struggling British actress, in New York without a green card, Claire needs work. She takes the only part she's offered: as a decoy for a firm of divorce lawyers, hired to entrap straying husbands, catching them on tape with their seductive propositions.The rules? Never hit on them directly. Make it clear you're available, but they have to proposition you, not the other way around. The firm is after evidence, not entrapment. The innocent should have nothing to hide.Then the game changes. When the police start investigating one of Claire's targets for murdering his wife - and potentially others too - they ask her to help lure their suspect into a confession. Claire can do this. She assumes a voice and an attitude, something from an old film noir. A master class in deception. But who's deceiving who?And that's when Claire realises she's playing the deadliest role of her life . . . **********See what everyone is saying about JP Delaney, the hottest new name in psychological thrillers:'DAZZLING' - Lee Child'ADDICTIVE' - Daily Express 'DEVASTATING' - Daily Mail 'INGENIOUS' - The New York Times'COMPULSIVE' - Glamour Magazine 'ELEGANT' - Peter James 'SEXY' - Mail on Sunday'ENTHRALLING' - Woman and Home'ORIGINAL' - The Times'RIVETING' - Lisa Gardner'CREEPY' - Heat 'SATISFYING' - Reader's Digest 'SUPERIOR' - The Bookseller'MORE THAN A MATCH FOR PAULA HAWKINS' - Sunday Times

riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry
riverrun

Blowback

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE FIFTH ENZO THRILLER, FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF COFFIN ROAD, ENTRY ISLAND AND THE LEWIS TRILOGY.PUY-DE-DÔME, FRANCE.A Silenced Man.Footprints in the snow lead to the murder scene of Marc Fraysse, France's most celebrated chef - brutally shot before he could make the revelation of his career. A Determined Man.Seven years on and the mystery still raw, Enzo Macleod, forensic investigator, forays into the heated world of haute cuisine to uncover bitter feuds and a burning secret. A Hunted Man.The Fraysse family history is as twisted as Enzo's own. And in his pursuit of truth, the depths of deceit threaten to consume Enzo - and that which he cherishes most.

Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
Quercus

Greeks Bearing Gifts

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

** FROM THE GLOBALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CAST IRON, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE **** AN EXPLOSIVE NEW THRILLER SET IN THE OUTER HEBRIDES**'Peter May is an author I'd follow to the ends of the earth' New York TimesHusband and wife Niamh and Ruairidh Macfarlane co-own Ranish Tweed: a Hebridean company that weaves its own special variety of Harris cloth, which has become a sought-after brand in the world of high fashion. But when Niamh learns of Ruairidh's affair with Russian designer Irina Vetrov, then witnesses the pair killed by a car bomb in Paris, her life is left in ruins. Along with her husband's remains, she returns home to the Isle of Lewis, bereft.The Paris police have ruled out terrorism, and ruled in murder - making Niamh the prime suspect, along with Irina's missing husband, Georgy. And so French Detective Sylvie Braque is sent to the island to look into Niamh's past, unaware of the dangers that await her.As Braque digs deeper into the couple's history, Niamh herself replays her life with Ruiairidh, searching her memory for those whose grievances might have led to murder. And with each layer revealed, and every unexpected twist uncovered, the two women find themselves drawn inexorably closer to a killer who will not turn back.

Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

YOU FIND OUT WHO DID IT ON THE VERY FIRST PAGE. ON THE LAST PAGE, YOU'LL FIND OUT WHY.'I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story . . . a really cracking read' BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown'Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision' JP Delaney, author of The Girl BeforeLate one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear. Just an hour later the attacker, JP Carney, has handed himself in to the police. He confesses to beating Harry to death, but JP claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn't know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, the detectives cannot help wondering, was this really a random act of violence or is it linked to one of Harry's many sins: corruption, greed, betrayal?This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who - of Harry, Julie and JP - is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?THE MOST GRIPPING PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER OF 2018: PERFECT FOR FANS OF HE SAID, SHE SAID AND THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

riverrun

The Secret of Vesalius

Jordi Llobregat
Authors:
Jordi Llobregat
Quercus

The Scarred Woman

Jussi Adler-Olsen
Authors:
Jussi Adler-Olsen

The international no. 1 bestseller returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After a breakdown, their colleague Rose is struggling to deal with the ghosts of her past - a past seemingly connected to one of the division's most sinister case-files. It is up to Carl, Assad and Gordon to unearth the dark and violent truth plaguing Rose before it is too late.Translated by William Frost

riverrun

Cast Iron

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

After I've Gone

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

***THE NO. 1 EBOOK BESTSELLING AUTHOR***Status Update - You have 18 months left to live . . . Jess Mount goes online one wet morning in January, and discovers that her Facebook timeline appears to has skipped forward 18 months to a day when shocked family and friends are sharing heart-breaking tributes to her following her death in an accident. Jess is left scared and confused: is she the target of a cruel prank or is this a terrifying glimpse of her true fate? Amongst the posts are photos of a gorgeous baby son she has not yet conceived. But when a post from her best friend suggests her death was deliberate, Jess realises that if she changes the future to save her own life, the baby boy she has fallen in love with may never exist.An emotionally gripping psychological suspense for fans of FRIEND REQUEST by Laura Marshall***What readers are saying about AFTER I'VE GONE: 'One of the best books I've ever read!' Amazon reviewer. 'Enjoyable, original and intriguing' B A Paris, bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors'The story was authentic, absorbing and unputdownable.' Louise Jensen, bestselling author of The Sister'Stunning, such a unique premise and really well executed.' Jenny Blackhurst, bestselling author of How I Lost You'I wanted to compare the author to Gillian Flynn or Alice Sebold . . . Linda Green is bloody brilliant!' Amanda Prowse, #1 bestselling author***The next suspense novel from Linda Green - THE LAST THING SHE TOLD ME - is available to preorder

Quercus

One Bad Turn

Sinéad Crowley
Authors:
Sinéad Crowley
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
riverrun

Freeze Frame

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Blacklight Blue

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

The Critic

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

The Blackhouse

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

READ THE SUNDAY TIMES AND RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, AND THE FIRST INSTALMENT IN PETER MAY'S SENSATIONAL, MILLION-SELLING LEWIS TRILOGY.A brutal killing takes place on the Isle of Lewis, Scotland: a land of harsh beauty and inhabitants of deep-rooted faith.A MURDERDetective Inspector Fin Macleod is sent from Edinburgh to investigate. For Lewis-born Macleod, the case represents a journey both home and into his past.A SECRETSomething lurks within the close-knit island community. Something sinister.A TRAPAs Fin investigates, old skeletons begin to surface, and soon he, the hunter, becomes the hunted.