Thea Lim - An Ocean of Minutes - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786487940
    • Publication date:28 Jun 2018
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786487919
    • Publication date:28 Jun 2018

An Ocean of Minutes

By Thea Lim

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

What would you give to recover the past? In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Station Eleven, a bittersweet and unforgettable love story of a couple who are at once weeks and many years apart.
Biographical Notes

Thea Lim's writing has been published by the Southampton Review, the Guardian, Salon, the Millions, Bitch Magazine, Utne Reader and others, and she has received multiple awards and fellowships for her work, including artists' grants from the Canada Council for the Arts and the Ontario Arts Council.

She holds an MFA from the University of Houston and she previously served as nonfiction editor at Gulf Coast.

She grew up in Singapore and lives in Toronto with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786487957
  • Publication date: 28 Jun 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
MacLehose Press

All the Lives We Never Lived

Anuradha Roy
Authors:
Anuradha Roy
riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke

Kenji Tanabe finds maps easier to read than people. At the elite Tokyo gallery where he works, he sells antique maps by selling the stories that he sees within their traces: their contribution to progress, their dramatic illustrations, their exquisite compasses. But no compass or cartography can guide him through the events that will follow the sudden and unexpected offer of a job in America.There, Theodora Appel runs a company that is more like a family. Brilliantly successful, beguilingly secretive, she gradually initiates Kenji into her rarefied world. Only someone like him - quiet, intensely committed and discreet - could be allowed to see beneath the surface to what his employer is hiding. Theodora has never recovered from the death of her lover, and her obsession to reclaim the past threatens them all.Moving across countries and cultures, The Consolation of Maps charts an attempt to understand the tide of history, the geography of people and the boundless territory of loss.

Jo Fletcher Books

Shattermoon

Dominic Dulley
Authors:
Dominic Dulley

A shattered moon. A secret plan. Last girl standing. Perfect for fans of Andy Weir, Alastair Reynolds and Charles Stross.Orry's father is the best conman in the quadrant, running elaborate heists with Orry and her brother Ethan to target the ruling families of the Ascendancy. This time should be no different: straight in and out with a fortune in spice paragon in hand . . .. . . until Orry goes off-script and everything falls apart. Less than an hour later the Count of Delf's only grandson is dead and she's on the run, accused of a murder she didn't commit.Turns out, the pendant Orry stole was crafted by the mysterious civilisation who once lived on the Shattermoon - and a lot of powerful people want it. It doesn't take ruthless space pirate Morven Dyas long to track her down, and he's not the only one on her tail. When she's unexpectedly rescued by loner Jurgen Mender and his spaceship, Dainty Jane, Orry knows there's only one thing to do.It requires all of her powers of persuasion to get Mender to agree to her plan, especially when even she can see the madness of pitting an inexperienced young grifter, a space-dog long past his best and an obsolete spaceship against the Imperial Fleet, the worst of the space pirates - and the alien Kadiran, who are getting bored with their uneasy truce with humankind . . . But what other choice does she have?

Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

About the Size of the Universe

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Quercus

The Lost Village

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

'Neil Spring is Agatha Christie meets James Herbert' STEPHEN VOLK A haunting and spooky thriller, with an unforgettable twist! The remote village of Imber - remote, lost and abandoned. The outside world hasn't been let in since soldiers forced the inhabitants out, much to their contempt.But now, a dark secret threatens all who venture near. Everyone is in danger, and only Harry Price can help. Reluctantly reunited with his former assistant Sarah Grey, he must unlock the mystery of Imber, and unsurface the secrets someone thought were long buried. But will Sarah's involvement be the undoing of them both?

MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting
Quercus

Just Haven't Met You Yet

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods
Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
Jo Fletcher Books

Rotherweird

Andrew Caldecott, Sasha Laika
Contributors:
Andrew Caldecott, Sasha Laika
riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland
Quercus

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri

'Bloody hilarious' Isabelle Broom. A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of Don't Stop Me Now and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart.Emily has a satisfying job, fab friends and, most importantly, a wonderful flat, exactly 411 miles away from the judgemental, interfering family she reluctantly sees once a year. In fact, the only minor stress in her life is her twenty-something neighbour Evan and his penchant for flirting, loud music and even louder sex . . . but he's nothing she can't handle. Emily also has a boyfriend called Robert and it's going really well. So well, in fact, that Emily is hoping to take him home to meet her family. Finally no more pitying looks from her younger, married siblings. But when the relationship suddenly falls apart, Emily is gutted. How on earth is she going to face her family now? Enlisting the help of party-boy Evan, Emily is determined for Robert to meet the parents come hell or high water, even if it isn't the real Robert . . .

Quercus

The Prodigal Daughter

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith

The second book in the Food of Love trilogy about an extended Anglo/Italian family in the ever-growing restaurant trade. Rebellious daughter, Angelica Angelotti, wants to strike out on her own away from the family. But some bad choices - including picking the wrong partner - lead to heart-wrenching consequences. Angelica has grown up in the family restaurant business started by her Italian father, Giovanni, and his English wife, Laura. Surrounded by gorgeous Italian food, now she wants to try something different. Defying her father's wishes, she moves to Paris to learn French cuisine. There, caught up in the excitement and emotion of the May '68 student riots, she falls in love with a charismatic but unreliable man. Back in London with him, Angelica's future career blossoms at the Savoy Hotel and further develops when she becomes a food writer. What happens to her marriage is another matter and her parents' concerns are proved painfully justified. Moving back to run the inn on her family's estate in Gloucestershire may feel like failure, but little does Angelica know that what awaits her there is the greatest challenge of her life - and a second chance at love.

MacLehose Press

Fish Have No Feet

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Quercus

While My Eyes Were Closed

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

THE #1 BESTSELLER: a nail-biting psychological drama for fans of Liane Moriarty and CL Taylor.One, two, three . . . Lisa Dale shuts her eyes and counts to one hundred during a game of hide-and-seek. When she opens them, her four-year-old daughter Ella is gone. Disappeared without a trace. The police, the media and Lisa's family all think they know who snatched Ella. But what if the person who took her isn't a stranger? What if they are convinced they are doing the right thing? And what if Lisa's little girl is in danger of disappearing forever?

Quercus

The People We Were Before

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe
riverrun

The Firemaker

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

The Blackhouse

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

READ THE SUNDAY TIMES AND RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, AND THE FIRST INSTALMENT IN PETER MAY'S SENSATIONAL, MILLION-SELLING LEWIS TRILOGY.A brutal killing takes place on the Isle of Lewis, Scotland: a land of harsh beauty and inhabitants of deep-rooted faith.A MURDERDetective Inspector Fin Macleod is sent from Edinburgh to investigate. For Lewis-born Macleod, the case represents a journey both home and into his past.A SECRETSomething lurks within the close-knit island community. Something sinister.A TRAPAs Fin investigates, old skeletons begin to surface, and soon he, the hunter, becomes the hunted.