Nigel Cawthorne - Killer Women - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786489166
    • Publication date:20 Sep 2018
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786489135
    • Publication date:20 Sep 2018

Killer Women

Chilling, Dark and Gripping True Crime Stories of Women Who Kill

By Nigel Cawthorne

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786489142
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Quercus
riverrun

City of Devils

Paul French
Authors:
Paul French
Quercus

Sleeping Beauties

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
riverrun

Out of Thin Air

Anthony Adeane
Authors:
Anthony Adeane
riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Jo Fletcher Books

The Doctor Thomas Bond Omnibus

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
Quercus

The Vanishing Box

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Other Woman

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
riverrun

The Apprentice of Split Crow Lane

Jane Housham
Authors:
Jane Housham
Quercus

Serial Killers

Brian Innes
Authors:
Brian Innes

The Terrifying Story of the Most Monstrous Serial Killers through History.Serial Killers are the most notorious and disturbing of all criminals, representing the very darkest side of humanity. Yet they endlessy fascinate and continue to capture the public's attention with their strange charisma and deadly deeds. From Jack the Ripper to Ted Bundy and the Moors Murderers Ian Brady and Myra Hindley, these killers transfix us with their ability to commit utterly savage acts of cruelty and depravity. Only with modern police detection methods and psychological profiling, have these figures that have existed throughout human history finally been identified in the deadliest category: serial killers. These methods, the killers' characters and their crimes are described here in fascinating and terrifyingly gripping detail. The whole history of serial killers is brought to life in 50 chapters, including:Herman Webster Mudget, Devil in the White CityJohn Christie, 10 Rillington Place murdersZodiac KillerIan Brady and Myra Hindley, The Moors MurderersTed BundyFred and Rosemary WestJeffrey DahmerAileen WuornosHarold Shipman, Dr Death

MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Antoine is twelve years old. His parents are divorced and he lives with his mother in Beauval, a small, backwater town surrounded by forests, where everyone knows everyone's business, and nothing much ever happens. But in the last days of 1999, a series of events unfolds, culminating in the shocking vanishing without trace of a young child. The adults of the town are at a loss to explain the disappearance, but for Antoine, it all begins with the violent death of his neighbour's dog. From that one brutal act, his fate and the fate of his neighbour's six year old son are bound forever.In the years following Rémi's disappearance, Antoine wrestles with the role his actions played. As a seemingly inescapable net begins to tighten, breaking free from the suffocating environs of Beauval becomes a gnawing obsession. But how far does he have to run, and how long will it take before his past catches up with him again?Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

Quercus

Sweet After Death

Valentina Giambanco
Authors:
Valentina Giambanco

'As twisty and tasty a crime thriller as anyone could wish for' The Daily Mail'Tense and thrilling, a wonderful twist and great back story' Barbara NadelIn the dead of winter Homicide Detective Alice Madison is sent to the remote town of Ludlow, Washington, to investigate an unspeakable crime. Together with her partner Detective Sergeant Kevin Brown and crime scene investigator Amy Sorensen, Madison must first understand the killer's motives...but the dark mountains that surround Ludlow know how to keep their secrets and that the human heart is wilder than any beast's.As the killer strikes again Madison and her team are under siege. And as they become targets Madison realises that in the freezing woods around the pretty town a cunning evil has been waiting for her.'This is crime fiction for connoisseurs. With precision and poetry, Giambanco unfolds a delicious tale . . . First Class stuff' William Shaw

Quercus

Killing Goldfinger

Wensley Clarkson
Authors:
Wensley Clarkson
Quercus

Death Trap

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

A nailbiting thriller for fans of Jessie Keane and Kimberley Chambers. 'Thrilling and compelling' Kimberley ChambersA SADISTIC KILLER IS ON THE LOOSE IN GLASGOW. Thomas Boag escaped from his first court appearance facing charges on a brutal murder. He's suspected in the disappearances of two other people. Now he's out for revenge.Rosie Gilmour, crime reporter, helped put Boag behind bars. It was her investigation that provided enough evidence to arrest him. Now she's watching her back.Rosie tries to distract herself with a new story: refugees trafficked into Glasgow and used as modern-day slaves - or worse. But this investigation soon leads her into dangerous territory as it takes her up against some of Glasgow's nastiest characters, and all the while, somewhere out there, Boag is laying his trap...

Quercus

The Special Girls

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey
MacLehose Press

Retribution Road

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne

"We owe you our lives, Sergeant, but you are our worst nightmare . . ."Burma, 1852. Sergeant Arthur Bowman, a sergeant in the East India Company, is sent on a secret mission during the Second Anglo-Burmese War. But the expedition is foiled - his men are captured and tortured. Throughout their ordeal, a single word becomes Bowman's mantra, a word that will stiffen their powers of endurance in the face of unimaginable suffering: "Survive". But for all that, only a handful escape with their lives.Some years later in London, battling his ghosts through a haze of alcohol and opium, Bowman discovers a mutilated corpse in a sewer. The victim appears to have been subjected to the same torments as Bowman endured in the Burmese jungle. And the word "Survive" has been daubed in blood by the body's side. Persuaded that the culprit is one of the men who shared his captivity, Bowman resolves to hunt him down.From the Burmese jungle to the slums of London to the conquest of the Wild West, Antonin Varenne takes us on a thrilling journey full of sound and unabated fury, reviving the lapsed tradition of the great writers of boundless adventure. Sergeant Bowman belongs to that breed of heroes who inhabit the imaginations of Conrad, Kipling, Stevenson . . . Lost soldiers who have plunged into the heart of darkness and will cross the globe in search of vengeance and redemption.Translated from the French by Sam Taylor

Quercus

The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid

Craig Russell
Authors:
Craig Russell

'Storytelling at its very best!' Michael ConnellyWhen you have as few friends as private investigator Lennox does, you can't afford to lose any. When you do, someone has to pay. Fast-paced Glasgow noir for fans of Philip Kerr and Raymond Chandler.Quiet Tommy Quaid is one of Lennox's few friends in Glasgow. Lennox appreciates Tommy's open, straightforward personality - even if he is a master thief. When Tommy is flung to his death from a factory roof in front of Lennox's eyes, Lennox discovers just how wrong he was about Tommy's quiet life.It seems Tommy knew a secret, and it cost him his life. But for once, Quiet Tommy didn't go quietly. His secret concerned people above the law - people in some cases who are the law - and so now, from beyond the grave, he leaves a trail for Lennox to follow to ensure justice is done. For once, Lennox is on the side of the angels. But he is an avenging angel, and in brutal Glasgow, justice has to get bloody.

Quercus

The Blood Card

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

On the eve of the Queen's coronation, DI Stephens and Max Mephisto uncover an anarchist plot and a ticking bomb at the same time as solving the murder of a man close to them - from the author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway mysteries.'Mixes cosiness and sharpness in a way that recalls the best of Agatha Christie' Sunday Express (on Smoke and Mirrors)Elizabeth II's coronation is looming, but the murder of their wartime commander, Colonel Cartwright, spoils the happy mood for DI Edgar Stephens and magician Max Mephisto. A playbill featuring another deceased comrade is found in Colonel Cartwright's possession, and a playing card, the ace of hearts: the blood card. The wartime connection and the suggestion of magic are for Stephens and Mephisto to be summoned to the case.Edgar's ongoing investigation into the death of Brighton fortune-teller Madame Zabini is put on hold. Max is busy rehearsing for a spectacular Coronation Day variety show - and his television debut - so it's Edgar who is sent to New York, a land of plenty worlds away from still-rationed England. He's on the trail of a small-town mesmerist who may provide the key, but someone silences him first. It's Edgar's colleague, DS Emma Holmes, who finds the clue, buried in the files of the Zabini case, that leads them to an anarchist group intent on providing an explosive finale to Coronation Day.Now it's up to Edgar, Max and Emma to foil the plot, and find out who it is who's been dealing the cards . . .

Quercus

Smoke and Mirrors

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
MacLehose Press

A Woman Much Missed

Valerio Varesi
Authors:
Valerio Varesi
MacLehose Press

The First Man

Xavier-Marie Bonnot
Authors:
Xavier-Marie Bonnot

Commandant Michel de Palma, known by his colleagues as 'the Baron', has chosen early retirement and plans to travel the world. But he is dragged back into the force when a case that has haunted him for a decade erupts once more. Resurfacing from Le Guen's Cave, a prehistoric grotto thirty-eight metres below sea level outside Marseille, an experienced diver mysteriously gets into difficulties. Meanwhile, Thomas Autran, a serial killer with  a peculiar interest in the supernatural, suffering from a dangerous form of schizophrenia, is once again on the run. Ancient cave paintings, savage murders committed according to a precise ritual: a return to the first ages of humanity, the era of the great Palaeolithic hunters. And despite the gory trail left at each crime scene, de Palma must first understand the child, the secrets of a family, a story of exploitation - and revenge - before  he can track down the First Man.