Stephen Cox - Our Child of the Stars - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787478886
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786489975
    • Publication date:24 Jan 2019

Our Child of the Stars

By Stephen Cox

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Our Child of the Stars is a remarkable story of warmth, tenacity and generosity of spirit, set against the backdrop of a fast-changing, terrifying decade.

A lost child, the family who try to protect him and the secret that refuses to stay hidden . . .

Molly and Gene Myers were happy, until tragedy blighted their hopes of children. During the years of darkness and despair, they each put their marriage in jeopardy, but now they are starting to rebuild their fragile bond.

This is the year of Woodstock and the moon landings; war is raging in Vietnam and the superpowers are threatening each other with annihilation.

Then the Meteor crashes into Amber Grove, devastating the small New England town - and changing their lives for ever. Molly, a nurse, caught up in the thick of the disaster, is given care of a desperately ill patient rescued from the wreckage: a sick boy with a remarkable appearance, an orphan who needs a mother.

And soon the whole world will be looking for him.

Cory's arrival has changed everything. And the Myers will do anything to keep him safe.

A remarkable story of warmth, tenacity and generosity of spirit, set against the backdrop of a fast-changing, terrifying decade.

Biographical Notes

Stephen Cox was born in the USA and now lives in London with his partner of twenty years. A father to two children, he has worked for various not-for-profits, most notably for twelve years with Great Ormond Street Hospital.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786489944
  • Publication date: 01 Nov 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
Quercus

The Saffron Trail

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

An exotic tale of lost family secrets from the #1 Kindle Bestseller'The perfect holiday companion' - Heat'The ultimate feel-good read' - Candis'Sun-soaked escapism' - Best**********After the death of her beloved mother, Nell travels from rural Cornwall to the colour and chaos of Marrakech. Her marriage may be on the rocks, but exploring the heady delights of Moroccan cuisine could help her fulfil her dream of opening her own restaurant. It's there she meets Amy - a young photographer trying to unravel the story behind her family's involvement in the Vietnam War. The two women develop a close friendship and discover a surprising connection between their own pasts. This connection will take Nell and Amy on a journey to find their own 'saffron trail' - from the labyrinthine medina and bustle of Moroccan bazaars all the way back home to Cornwall and to the heart of their families' origins.********SEE WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT ROSANNA LEY:'An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end' - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter 'Loved it from start to finish. A brilliant holiday read' - Amazon reviewer 'Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Leah Fleming' - Candis 'On so many levels a fantastic read' - Amazon reviewer'A fascinating story with engaging themes' - Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife 'Warm, enthralling, one of my favourite authors' - Amazon reviewer

MacLehose Press

The Last Days of El Comandante

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka

Venezuela 2012: The President's illness casts a shadow over the lives of his citizens - he divides opinion, but life without him is almost unimaginable. Miguel Sanabria is a retired oncologist, ambivalent towards the President but caught between a virulently anti-Chávez wife and a equally vehement pro-Chávez brother. He is asked by his nephew to hide a mobile phone carrying secret footage that could shed new light on the President's condition.His neighbour Fredy has found a fresh angle for a new book about Chávez, but to take advantage he must agree to a "green-card" marriage and leave his girlfriend and their son for two months, even as their landlady plots to repossess their home.In another apartment live nine-year-old María and her neurotic, near-agoraphobic mother. Taken out of school to be educated at home, María turns to internet chat rooms for company, while her mother's fears about the city's endemic violence are proved tragically prescient.The fates and fortunes of these neighbours will prove inextricably entwined as the hour of the President's death draws ever closer.REVIEWS FOR THE SICKNESS"A great book" Michael Morpurgo"Powerful themes and powerful writing" Susan HillTranslated from the Spanish by Rosalind Harvey

Quercus

All Summer With You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
MacLehose Press

The Faculty of Dreams

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg
Quercus

The Lost Son

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith

The Angelotti family reels when the lost son, given up for adoption in the war, traces his birth family and returns to the fold, with devastating consequences. As poverty-stricken newlyweds, Laura and Giovanni Angelotti were forced to put their first child - a boy - up for adoption. They have had other children since, and their first little Italian cafe has become a restaurant empire, but Laura is still haunted by thoughts of the baby she lost.Tom is a successful businessman enjoying the fast-paced City lifestyle - until his best friend and business partner is killed in the 9/11 attacks and his world turns upside down. Searching for meaning in his life, he decides to track down his birth family: the Angelottis.But Laura has been keeping an explosive secret about Tom's parentage that means his reappearance in her life is bittersweet. She may have found her son, but will it be at the cost of everything it has taken her fifty years to build?

Quercus

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary
Authors:
Beth O'Leary
Jo Fletcher Books

Morhelion

Dominic Dulley
Authors:
Dominic Dulley
MacLehose Press

Soldiers of Salamis

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas

The International Bestseller of the Spanish Civil War - Winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction PrizeIn the final moments of the Spanish Civil War, fifty prominent Nationalist prisoners are executed by firing squad. Among them is the writer and fascist Rafael Sanchez Mazas. As the guns fire, he escapes into the forest, and can hear a search party and their dogs hunting him down. The branches move and he finds himself looking into the eyes of a militiaman, and faces death for the second time that day. But the unknown soldier simply turns and walks away. Sanchez Mazas becomes a national hero and the soldier disappears into history. As Cercas sifts the evidence to establish what happened, he realises that the true hero may not be Sanchez Mazas at all, but the soldier who chose not to shoot him. Who was he? Why did he spare him? And might he still be alive?

MacLehose Press

Lord of All the Dead

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

Balco Atlantico

Jérôme Ferrari
Authors:
Jérôme Ferrari
MacLehose Press

White Ocean

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
MacLehose Press

A Book of Falsehoods

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross

The third part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer 1578. A ship from Rostock arrives in Tallinn loaded with printed copies of Balthasar Russow's Chronicle - the culmination of our hero's life's work. But though it is an instant success, as it was in Rostock and numerous German cities, not everyone is happy to see it published. A group of local gentry denounce it to the town council as "a book of heinous falsehoods", and lobby for Balthasar to relieved as pastor of Holy Ghost Church.But all is not lost. Balthasar may call on a powerful ally - if he is willing to pay the price. In this final volume, fierce storms, along with famine, war and plague, continue to be loosed upon Livonia. Balthasar's personal life, too, is fraught with turbulence and loss, much of it stemming from his own jealousy and suspicion.

Quercus

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Quercus

The Night Tiger

Yangsze Choo
Authors:
Yangsze Choo
Quercus

Winter Without You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good

What do you do when you lose everything?After the tragic death of her boyfriend, Hannah Clitheroe is hiding away from the world. But when she discovers she's inherited a house in Cornwall, she knows it's time to face reality. Her estranged grandmother lived in Kernow House for years, but Hannah soon realises someone else thinks it's rightfully theirs: Raphael Tregar, a difficult man who quickly gets under her skin.But as winter sets in, there's one more thing that keeps her up at night, and the rising fear that she may not find her true home in Cornwall after all...

Jo Fletcher Books

Strife's Bane

Evie Manieri
Authors:
Evie Manieri
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew

A woman on the edge of the sea finds a girl on the edge of life. Brittle but not yet broken, Ia Pendilly ekes out a fierce life in a caravan on the coast of Cornwall. In years of living with Bran - her embattled, battering cousin and common law husband - she's never yet had her own baby. So when she discovers the waif washed up on the shore, Ia takes the risk and rescues her. And the girl, in turn, will rescue something in Ia - bringing back a memory she's lost, giving her the strength to escape, and leading her on a journey downriver.It will take her into the fringes of a society she's shunned, collapsed around its own isolation. It will take her through a valley ravaged by floods, into a world not too far from reckoning. It will take her in search of her sister, and the dark remembrance of their parting. It will take her, break her, remake her, in the shapes of freedom.Natasha Carthew is a startling new voice from beyond the limits of common urban experience. She tells a tale of marginalisation and motherhood in prose that crashes like waves on rocks; rough, breathless and beautiful.