Matthew Sperling - Astroturf - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787471122
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787471153
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787471146
    • Publication date:16 May 2019

Astroturf

By Matthew Sperling

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

A brilliantly funny novel about masculinity, identity, sockpuppets and steroids, for fans of The Talented Mr Ripley, David Szalay and Peep Show

A brilliantly funny novel about masculinity, identity, sockpuppets and steroids, for fans of The Talented Mr Ripley, David Szalay and Peep Show

At thirty, Ned is in a rut. His girlfriend has dumped him, his job is boring and he lives in a dismal bedsit. While others around him climb the property ladder and get ahead, he seems destined to remain one of life's plodders.

Encouraged by a friend to try using steriods to bulk up his frame, Ned is thrilled to discover a new vitality within himself. Physical changes are only the beginning: his mental state is clearer, he feels more confident and, most thrillingly of all, friends and lovers alike seem compelled by this new improved Ned.

Using his knowledge of the murky yet surprising online world of steroids, Ned begins to build a business and discovers that his talents can take him further than he ever thought possible. But when is new life is threatened, he finds himself doing things he never would have dared to do before.

And it all seems to be going fine . . .

ASTROTURF explores identity, class, belonging and masculinity both online and IRL, with a light touch and a keen sense of humour. Ripley-esque in its depiction of a morally dubious but compelling main character, it is likely to appeal to readers of David Szalay's All That Man Is and those who enjoy Jonathan Franzen's flawed but entertaining male protagonists. It also has a touch of the pathos and ironic British sensibility that made Peep Show such a brilliant and era-defining TV show.

Biographical Notes

Matthew Sperling is a lecturer in English Literature at UCL. His fiction and poetry has been published in, among others, New Statesman, 3:AM, The Junket and Best British Short Stories 2015 edited by Nicholas Royle.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781787472839
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 160
  • Imprint: riverrun