Iain Gale - Conspiracy - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848664845
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784292225
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786480101
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
Books in this series

Conspiracy

By Iain Gale

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. British Intelligence maverick James Keane goes undercover in Napoleon's Paris for his most daring espionage mission yet. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.

'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. British Intelligence maverick James Keane goes undercover in Napoleon's Paris for his most daring espionage mission yet. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.

It's 1812, and one man is on the top of the world. Napoleon Bonaparte has enjoyed victories all over Europe and is rebuilding the glorious city of Paris. Meanwhile, his enemies struggle to keep alive the embers of rebellion that still burn at the city's heart. To aid this noble cause, a few British intelligence officers have been smuggled in, and James Keane is one of them.
Keane finds himself at once adrift in a world of gambling houses and derelict cemeteries - of ex-Jacobites, disaffected French royalists, Irishmen and Americans, all of them voicing dissension. If Keane is to succeed, a means must be discovered by which to persuade these miscreants to rise against Napoleon's rule, without alerting the endless spies and informers that surround them. Forging alliances between unlikely collaborators proves especially difficult for Keane, whose honourable nature objects so strongly to this double-dealing. But he must persevere, or else lose the golden opportunity to aid in the defeat of the tyrannical French Emperor once and for all.

Biographical Notes

Iain Gale, art critic, journalist and author, comes from a military family and has always been fascinated by military history. He is an active member of the Scottish Committee of the Society of Authors and the Friends of Waterloo Committee. He is the Editor of Scotland in Trust, the magazine for the National Trust of Scotland, and founded the Caledonian magazine. He lives in Edinburgh.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848664876
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Quercus
Richard Sharpe would be delighted to have James Keane on his side! Iain Gale's creation is a wonderfully imaginative addition to the fascinating tales of Britain's defiance of Bonaparte — Bernard Cornwell
A cracking adventure story and a rattling good yarn — Soldier on Keane's Company
This exciting military adventure is ideal for any fans of Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe books — Good Book Guide on Keane's Company