Daša Drndic - Leica Format - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857053275
    • Publication date:04 Jun 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848665866
    • Publication date:04 Jun 2015

Leica Format

By Daša Drndic

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A mesmerising meditation on memory, madness and the lesser known horrors of Nazi Germany.

This is like a fairy tale, all this.

A woman meets a stranger who tells her her identity is a lie. 772 (or 789) children's brains rest silently in jars. A traveller comes to a quotidian city, unknowingly approaching her past.

From the author of Trieste (shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize) comes this bedazzling kaleidoscopic novel, stitching together fact and fiction, history and memory, words and images into a heart-breaking collage that manages to look askance at the blinding horror of history.

Ranging across themes of memory, loss, inheritance and storytelling, Drndic borrows from every tradition of writing to weave together a fragmented narrative of love and disease, in a novel that's very format raises penetrating and unanswerable questions about history, and the processes by which we describe and remember it.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848665873
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Drndic combines several registers, from crisp to saccharine, humorous to coldly official - well captured by Celia Hawkesworth's translation — Tadzio Koelb, Times Literary Supplement
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim

How long would you wait for the one you love? The heartbreaking literary romance for fans of The Time Traveller's Wife. In September 1981 Polly and Frank, a young couple from Buffalo, New York, arrive at the time travel terminal at Houston Intercontinental Airport in a quarantine taxi. One will travel, and one will stay.As a flu pandemic sweeps 1980s America, the only means for many to pay for expensive lifesaving treatment is for a loved one to travel into the future as a Journeyman, a migrant worker for importation company TimeRaiser. When Frank succumbs, his girlfriend Polly signs up for a twelve-year bond to save his life. Frank promises to meet Polly on her arrival in Galveston, Texas in 1993. However, when Polly is rerouted and arrives five years late into an unfamiliar landscape ravaged by the epidemic, Frank is nowhere to be found.Displaced and alone in a divided America, with no status and no money, Polly must find a way to locate Frank, to discover if he survived, and if their love has endured. The Ocean of Minutes is a timely exploration of migration and the devastating love story of two people who are at once mere weeks and many years apart.

riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke
Quercus

SAS Ghost Patrol

Damien Lewis
Authors:
Damien Lewis
Quercus

Greeks Bearing Gifts

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
MacLehose Press

An Oblique Place

Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Authors:
Caterina Pascual Söderbaum

A family chronicle with roots in the dark history of the twentieth century."Caterina Pascual Söderbaum has left a major European literary work of art as her legacy, a work of art that all of us who had the privilege of getting to know her have now been able to behold in its final form" STEVE SEM-SANDBERG, author of Emperor of LiesFrom idyllic Lake Attersee in Austria, where the employees at Nazi Germany's euthanasia clinics and extermination camps are sent for a well-deserved rest. To Hartheim Castle, where the staff of the regime's euthanasia programme forget the horrors taking place within the castle walls with the help of alcohol and sex. To the summer residence Villa Saint-Jean, where malnourished children from France's internment camps are sent to recover.In Uppsala, the novel's narrator scours her mother's albums for photographs from her childhood. They are from her christening, taken in the family's flat on Calle Balmes in Spanish Lérida; she is resting in her father's arms. In the next picture he toasts the camera, dressed in the uniform of Franco fascism and with his right arm extended. A whole family history in just a few photographs: a grandfather who joined Hitler's army; a father who dreamed of war and ended up in the Spanish Sahara; a mother who shares her surname with Kristina Söderbaum, a celebrated film star of the Third Reich. And the child in a white christening gown, who will become a mother herself and one day travel along the shores of Lake Attersee.An Oblique Place is an exceptional literary journey, a multifaceted, achingly beautiful narrative unlike any other, that in evocative, flowing prose examines whether guilt can be passed down through generations. In a fusion of memories and history, the late Caterina Pascual Söderbaum explores how Europe lost itself in a period of darkness.Translated from the Swedish by Frank Perry

MacLehose Press

After the Winter

Guadalupe Nettel
Authors:
Guadalupe Nettel

A shy young Mexican woman moves to Paris to study literature. Cecilia has few friends, and a morbid fascination with watching the funerals taking place in the cemetery outside her apartment. She suddenly strikes up a close platonic relationship with her neighbour, a sickly young man who shares her interest in death and believes we can communicate with the dead. After coming to entirely depend on him for company and routine, Cecilia is left devastated by his decision to go to Sicily for his health, and is left alone in an unfriendly city once more.Claudio, meanwhile, lives in New York with the submissive, quiet, but very wealthy Ruth. She makes few demands of him, whilst acquiescing to all his desires and indulging his obsessive, misogynistic nature. He meets Cecilia by chance whilst visiting a friend in Paris and these two very different stories collide with transformative consequences.Translated from the Spanish by Rosalind Harvey

Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
MacLehose Press

Raoul Wallenberg

Ingrid Carlberg
Authors:
Ingrid Carlberg
Quercus

Adventures in Modern Marriage

William Nicholson
Authors:
William Nicholson
riverrun

I Am Behind You

John Ajvide Lindqvist
Authors:
John Ajvide Lindqvist
MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting
MacLehose Press

Madame Bovary of the Suburbs

Sophie Divry
Authors:
Sophie Divry
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland

'Biting, funny and brilliantly subversive; like The Devil Wears Prada meets American Psycho' Louise O'Neill'Had me hooked with its biting satire of the fashion world's dark underbelly. And what a heroine!' Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett'Funny, fierce, feminist' Red RAGE Fashion Book is the world's most dynamic, ambitious magazine. Its editors ­- like Cat Ono - have the power to change minds and the market. They're savvy, sisterly and polished to perfection. Even the one found dead in her office. Everyone thinks Hillary starved to death - but Cat knows her friend's dieting wasn't a capital P problem. If beauty kills, it'd take more than that. Hot-headed and fiercely feminist, Cat's sure she can match the investigating skills of Detective Mark Hutton, solve the case, and achieve sartorial fulfillment.But going undercover, Cat's in over her head, and soon becomes snared in a very stylish web of drugs, sex, lies and moisturizer that will change her look - and outlook - forever.Cat's about to find out what it really means to be a fashion victim.

Quercus

A Harvest of Thorns

Corban Addison
Authors:
Corban Addison

A beloved American corporation with an explosive secret. A disgraced former journalist looking for redemption. A corporate executive with nothing left to lose.In Dhaka, Bangladesh, a garment factory burns to the ground, claiming the lives of hundreds of workers, mostly young women. Amid the rubble, a bystander captures a heart-stopping image-a teenage girl lying in the dirt, her body broken by a multi-story fall, and over her mouth a mask of fabric bearing the label of one of America's largest retailers, Presto Omnishops Corporation. When the photo goes viral, it fans the flames of a decades old controversy about sweatshops, labor rights, and the ethics of globalization.A year later, in Washington, D.C., Joshua Griswold, a disgraced former journalist for the Washington Post, receives an anonymous summons from a corporate whistleblower promising information about Presto. There, to Griswold's astonishment, he meets Cameron Alexander, Presto's long-time general counsel. Alexander, who has secrets of his own, offers Griswold confidential information about Presto's apparel supply chain.For Griswold, the challenge of exposing Presto's willful negligence is irresistible, as is the chance, however slight, at redemption. Deploying his old journalistic skills, he builds a historic case against Presto, setting the stage for a war in the courtroom and in the media that Griswold is determined to win-both to salvage his reputation and to provoke a revolution of conscience in Presto's boardroom that could change the course of the fashion industry across the globe.

MacLehose Press

Belladonna

Daša Drndic
Authors:
Daša Drndic

Andreas Ban is a writer and a psychologist, an intellectual proper, full of empathy, but his world has been falling apart for years. When he retires with a miserable pension and finds out that he is ill, he gains a new perspective on the debris of his life and the lives of his friends. In defying illness and old age, Andreas Ban is cynical and powerful, and in his investigations into his own past, he learns stories told by the disempowered, hunted down and helpless, stories that uncompromisingly lay bare a gamut of taboos.In Belladonna, Dasa Drndic pushes to the limit the issues about illness and the (im)possibility of living (and dying) in contemporary, utterly dehumanised world where old age and illness are the scarlet letters of shame thrown in the face of the advertised eternal youth and beauty. Belladonna brings together fiction and reality, and Andreas Ban stands for a true hero of our times; he is a castaway intellectual of a society which subdues every critical thought under the disguise of political correctness.

MacLehose Press

The Gravity of Love

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg
MacLehose Press

The Bickford Fuse

Andrey Kurkov
Authors:
Andrey Kurkov
Quercus

The Eternal City

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa